We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

TravelodgeUS$53*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 160: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
 Click to rate
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Hilsea lodge is in an area where the main single main road onto the Portsea area does over a short area divide into 5 or 6 secondary routes. A good local street map with "one way" traffic arrows is much more satisfactory than using Satnav which just puts one "close"

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H6431AQrichardh
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelodge was as expected for our price range. Clean and comfortable, the bed was nice and there were basic facilities like tea and coffee/TV etc. There was a hairdryer on request also. Staff were friendly and helpful with the staff insisting on setting up the travel cot for us upon arrival. We were always greeted with a smile when entering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPacker85
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where do I start. No water pressure in shower. No spare room key. No hairdryers. Uncomfortable bed. Thin walls so could hear conversation next door. No soap in dispenser. Wifi not as advertised. Dirty carpet. No sleep! Bad back the next day.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Hilsea as a cheaper alternative to the main Portsmouth travelodge and were not disappointed. The majority of us traveled down by car so the distance between the two wasn't a problem and getting around Portsmouth was easy. The hotel was exactly what we were after. We were there for two nights and used it primarily for...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank that_jed_guy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night. The motel was clean, bed was comfortable and overall good value. A small tv in each bedroom. Ample parking, very close to the station and Toby Carvery next door was good for reasonable price fry up breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff J
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and tidy and the room very comfortable. Also, I was able to take my dog into the room overnight. The situation of the hotel was ideal for the port, just 10 minutes drive. No long drive .

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22richard44
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Rooms were a nice size. Friendly helpful staff. Carvery next door which is easy for a quick dinner. Good location to get boat. Allows dogs which is the reason why I picked this hotel. I would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarejsy G
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed on business and was one of the cheaper options for staying in the area. Parking was free and plentiful. Check-in was efficient. Room was large and bathroom nice. Bed was comfortable. The only issue for me was I could easily hear the couple's conversation next door and as others have said walls must be thin. Thankfully it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjh123
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the noise from our other guests. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been...

Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

For the last couple of years we have stayed at a variety of Travelodge hotel ok s for mini breaks and this one did not disappoint. Located outside of the town centre it was quiet and comfortable and good value for money. Tip.if you are going into the red crown centre get a train from Hilsea Station to either Southsea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GARY B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be of great value, quiet, and comfortable. We aim to offer great value stays with a high level of service to all who pass through our doors and we are thrilled to see that this has been achieved. We...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The room was basic. The shower was broken. The water pressure was low. The room was very noisy. The lights from the car park illuminated the room. The bed was like a piece of board. It's only saving grace was it was very clean.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensT6902AD
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
10.5 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
3.8 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
2.1 km away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Address: Copnor Road | Hilsea, Portsmouth PO3 5HS, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $87 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea 1.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea Hotel Portsmouth
Innkeepers Hotel Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to avoid overlooking the car park if you must stay here”
zutijar, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Mentioned in my review.”
Macadabadoo, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms at back are quiet, not sure about front of building”
lorrainem560, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room nearer the back of the hotel as some rooms overlook a noise polluted car park.”
holidaylover20032016, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Need Wifi free at the adjoining pub!!”
JandA714, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelodge
US$53* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates