We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
 Click to rate
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms were a nice size. Friendly helpful staff. Carvery next door which is easy for a quick dinner. Good location to get boat. Allows dogs which is the reason why I picked this hotel. I would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarejsy G
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed on business and was one of the cheaper options for staying in the area. Parking was free and plentiful. Check-in was efficient. Room was large and bathroom nice. Bed was comfortable. The only issue for me was I could easily hear the couple's conversation next door and as others have said walls must be thin. Thankfully it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjh123
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the noise from our other guests. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been...

Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For the last couple of years we have stayed at a variety of Travelodge hotel ok s for mini breaks and this one did not disappoint. Located outside of the town centre it was quiet and comfortable and good value for money. Tip.if you are going into the red crown centre get a train from Hilsea Station to either Southsea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GARY B
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be of great value, quiet, and comfortable. We aim to offer great value stays with a high level of service to all who pass through our doors and we are thrilled to see that this has been achieved. We...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The room was basic. The shower was broken. The water pressure was low. The room was very noisy. The lights from the car park illuminated the room. The bed was like a piece of board. It's only saving grace was it was very clean.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensT6902AD
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your...

Le Mesnil Aubert, Normandy
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed here a couple of years ago "pre-refurbishment" and would not have returned except for the note on the website saying "refurbished". We arrived at about 9.30 pm on a Saturday night, checked in and went upstairs to our room (211). On the way we noticed that the corridor walls had been painted white and entered our room. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zutijar
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Chester
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed here for a 4 night break whilst visiting family. Room was basic with not much storage space for clothes etc. Stayed in a triple room but tea tray, towels were only provide for 2 pdeople. However this was soon rectified when we told reception. Walls were paper thin and you could hear everything going on in rooms either side....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the service you received, although we would like to apologise for the issues you experienced with the noise and shower in your room during your stay. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it...

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

The rooms were standard Travelodge, comfortable beds (with plenty of pillows) - so can't complain there. Nice and warm with usual tea/coffee facilities (with extras available from reception). Toby Carvery next door if you like a daily roast then you can't go wrong. Breakfast is a takeaway box (ideal for Summer but not the Winter). Showers are a let down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Troy F
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your...

Lydney
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Easy to find just off the motorway, with easy access straight into Southsea, or by train (10 mins walk) to Portsmouth. As always, clean and tidy room, bathroom was clean, good shower, but no where to store our washing stuff - could do with a shelf. Plenty of tea/coffee making facilities and more available if needed. Good large carpark even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwprices
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

As with most travelodges what you see is what you get, this one was quite comfortable , clean, and next door to a Toby carvery which was all we needed really , yes the walls are paper thin and you can hear people in room above using the bathroom and the television seemed loud . Other than that the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish A
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with us was affected by noise. However, we're pleased your overall time with us was comfortable, clean and you found our hotel location ideal for your needs. Thank you again and we do hope you choose...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Spent the weekend here and as you would expect the room was clean and comfortable, our room at the rear on the first floor was quiet and we had a good nights sleep, just what we wanted. If you are in Portsmouth and looking for a reasonable stay this is recommended. Where to eat? There is a Toby next door,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macadabadoo
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review on our Portsmouth Hilsea hotel. We are delighted to hear we were able to contribute to a good night's sleep. We’re also pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel as it is our aim to provide all our guests with positive stays such as yours. We do hope...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
10.5 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
3.8 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.1 km away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
395 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Address: Copnor Road | Hilsea, Portsmouth PO3 5HS, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $86 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea 1.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea Hotel Portsmouth
Innkeepers Hotel Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to avoid overlooking the car park if you must stay here”
zutijar, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Mentioned in my review.”
Macadabadoo, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms at back are quiet, not sure about front of building”
lorrainem560, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room nearer the back of the hotel as some rooms overlook a noise polluted car park.”
holidaylover20032016, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Need Wifi free at the adjoining pub!!”
JandA714, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5