We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
 Click to rate
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was basic. The shower was broken. The water pressure was low. The room was very noisy. The lights from the car park illuminated the room. The bed was like a piece of board. It's only saving grace was it was very clean.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensT6902AD
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your...

Le Mesnil Aubert, Normandy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here a couple of years ago "pre-refurbishment" and would not have returned except for the note on the website saying "refurbished". We arrived at about 9.30 pm on a Saturday night, checked in and went upstairs to our room (211). On the way we noticed that the corridor walls had been painted white and entered our room. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zutijar
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Chester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a 4 night break whilst visiting family. Room was basic with not much storage space for clothes etc. Stayed in a triple room but tea tray, towels were only provide for 2 pdeople. However this was soon rectified when we told reception. Walls were paper thin and you could hear everything going on in rooms either side....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the service you received, although we would like to apologise for the issues you experienced with the noise and shower in your room during your stay. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were standard Travelodge, comfortable beds (with plenty of pillows) - so can't complain there. Nice and warm with usual tea/coffee facilities (with extras available from reception). Toby Carvery next door if you like a daily roast then you can't go wrong. Breakfast is a takeaway box (ideal for Summer but not the Winter). Showers are a let down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Troy F
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your...

Lydney
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Easy to find just off the motorway, with easy access straight into Southsea, or by train (10 mins walk) to Portsmouth. As always, clean and tidy room, bathroom was clean, good shower, but no where to store our washing stuff - could do with a shelf. Plenty of tea/coffee making facilities and more available if needed. Good large carpark even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwprices
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

As with most travelodges what you see is what you get, this one was quite comfortable , clean, and next door to a Toby carvery which was all we needed really , yes the walls are paper thin and you can hear people in room above using the bathroom and the television seemed loud . Other than that the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish A
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with us was affected by noise. However, we're pleased your overall time with us was comfortable, clean and you found our hotel location ideal for your needs. Thank you again and we do hope you choose...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Spent the weekend here and as you would expect the room was clean and comfortable, our room at the rear on the first floor was quiet and we had a good nights sleep, just what we wanted. If you are in Portsmouth and looking for a reasonable stay this is recommended. Where to eat? There is a Toby next door,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macadabadoo
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review on our Portsmouth Hilsea hotel. We are delighted to hear we were able to contribute to a good night's sleep. We’re also pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our hotel as it is our aim to provide all our guests with positive stays such as yours. We do hope...

kingston upon thames
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Welcoming reception staff. Clean and tidy room Good location for the purpose of our visit. Toby inn next door for breakfast and other meals if required. Bus stop directly outside for trips into Portsmouth centre

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kay b
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room as much as you enjoyed the location of our hotel as this is what we like to see. We’ll be happy to provide your comments to the hotel as this is the best way...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The Hillsea TravelLodge was overall very clean, tidy and comfortable to sleep. The accommodation however is very basic compared to other locations we have stayed at and is quite a distance from shops, restaurants and clubs ect.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SB60B
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall time with us and experienced very clean, tidy, comfortable accommodation. Feedback such as yours is invaluable and we will ensure the hotel receives a copy of your comments. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Have stayed here several times and generally not too bad. Management have now changed all the shower heads to water saving heads. These are pathetic and have such small holes its just a damp mist. Their attempt to save a few pence is at the expense of even a half decent shower. Can I suggest the manager puts one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onestjohn
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we will pass your comments onto the hotel as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. If you wish to contact us directly to give us more feedback, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team. Thank...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.2 km away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.0 km away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#33 of 38 in Portsmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Address: Copnor Road | Hilsea, Portsmouth PO3 5HS, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $84 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea 1.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea Hotel Portsmouth
Innkeepers Hotel Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to avoid overlooking the car park if you must stay here”
 of 5 bubbles zutijar, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Mentioned in my review.”
 of 5 bubbles Macadabadoo, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms at back are quiet, not sure about front of building”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainem560, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room nearer the back of the hotel as some rooms overlook a noise polluted car park.”
 of 5 bubbles holidaylover20032016, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Need Wifi free at the adjoining pub!!”
 of 5 bubbles JandA714, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5