We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Abbey Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Abbey Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights recently. The beds were so comfy but that is all. We had a 300 mile trip and we're going to be late for check in because of bad traffic on the m6...we rang to let them know and the person who answered said you cannot check in past 9 with us fair enough so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alexkay1507
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We paid £63 for an ensuite room no breakfast which is at the budget end for the area. The location is fairly central to Sourhseas Albert road with various pubs and restaurants. It was clean but the shower and bathroom small and not all rooms have ensuites. The check in is limited and not particularly customer orientated and parking is... More 

Helpful?
Thank dr7575
Eversley, Hants
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only stayed for one night at short notice and rated against the very competitive price. Booked through hotels.com and got a very competitive price; good communication from the owner and friendly welcome. No frills with shared showers and toilets, but a sink in the room to freshen up. Very clean small attic room with a comfy bed.

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Pros..clean sheets, nice cookies, comfortable bed. Cons:everything else. Loud neighbors, paper thin walls, spotty wifi, run down neighborhood, and a proprietor who was grumpy. Not a good experience. I should have paid more attention to the negative reviews...were spot-on my experience.

Helpful?
Thank jrblust

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here for two nights, £130 per night. Nice welcome when we arrived, the guy was very polite. Turns out his wife (I presume) was quite the opposite. On the first morning she woke us up as she had to check if the toilet was blocked, as others in the place had been. Sure enough it was. She the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rkid12
AbbeyLodge, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

I'm not surprised that you have neglected to mention what actually happened the night before, when you and your friend arrived back from the Victorious Festival - very much the worst for wear from drink and or drugs.Your friend passed out in a stupor in the front porch, blocking the entrance and I had to get up at 3 am... More 

Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

I booked this last minute for a business trip. it was clean and tidy and the staff were very welcoming. It is well situated and a short walk to local amenities, IE Pub, fast food etc. I did have to share a bathroom, but there was a sink in the room. WIFI coverage was good in my room.

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Myself and my work colleague checked into the abbey lodge on the 15th of this month (August) after reading all the reviews on this site were a little apprehensive on wether to stay here , anyway please take no notice of any of the bad reviews at all! It's absolutely perfect, amazing clean comfortable bed and breakfast, the host Mike... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bebb54321
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed one night in graduation week so the price was relatively high for what it was, I assume for this reason. The places we have stayed before were all booked out and this was one of the few left. Now I know why. When we arrived there was nowhere to park although to be fair this was sorted later... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheWrights72
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We had a very comfortable king size bedroom with lots of very nice extras, even a digital clock on the bedside table. Lots of choices for drinks and toiletries and a two very nice bathtowel swans on our bed on arrival. All good, would stay again. Margaret.

Helpful?
Thank margarethannant
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I regretted disregarding the negative online reviews and comments immediately upon meeting the extremely rude woman as we arrived. They have a late afternoon check-in. We wanted to leave our bags and tour Portsmouth during the day. Instead we were very sternly scolded for showing up early, and told if we wanted service we should stay at an Inn!! Once... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Russ F
AbbeyLodge, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

You arrived at 1030 in the morning when we were stripping and making beds and cleaning the rooms. There was no way we could let you leave your many large bags as there was no space. If rooms are ready we will, of course check guests in; but in this instance we had only just started. If you had planned... More 

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#14 of 38 in Portsmouth
665 reviews
0.5 km away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
890 reviews
0.5 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
542 reviews
0.4 km away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#8 of 38 in Portsmouth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Address: 30 Waverley Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $76 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Abbey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Lodge Portsmouth, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front room was brighter”
 of 5 bubbles suemullins, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back. Dont arrive after 9pm”
 of 5 bubbles Andiymac777, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Choose en suite”
 of 5 bubbles launay2015, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Budget single has a sloping roof so may not be suitable for a tall person.”
 of 5 bubbles REVAP1886, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We chose double bed room. It was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles 439tam_sb, 21 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay