We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbey Lodge

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abbey Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Abbey Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I found Abbey Lodge whilst searching for accommodation for a one night stay in May 2016. I had some questions that I wanted answering before booking so I called their number. I was directed to their answerphone so left a message along with my number. Over a week later I had still not received a call back, so tried their...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jpmac9000
England
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, on arrival the man greeted us and asked us what time we would be down for breakfast (it is only between 8-9) which I find very early for a Sunday, we said 8.50 and he told us not to e late, the rooms are basic, the shower down the corridor is awful it's electric...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlote B
Oldham
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Three people on an overnight stay to visit relatives. Two rooms one night. Simple booking process, helpful check in, not rushed. Help to find local eatery and Real Ale pub. Bedrooms large and comfortable with all the facilities you could want, tea coffee, shower gel etc. Full English breakfast after a great nights sleep rounded off our stay. Quiet but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MillibobOldham
Northolt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Asked to remove our shoes as we arrived! Got locked out and when we finally got hold of the owner he was very rude and aggressive so won't be going there again Also nowhere to park please avoid at all cost

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt D
AbbeyLodge, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were put out by being asked to remove your filthy muddy boots when you arrived, off a building site. We do try and keep the Guest House spotless! When you staggered back at 2am you were so blind drunk that you could not get your key in the lock and proceeded to hammer at the...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Quiet back street, on street parking only. Warm welcome form owner who took time to show us everything. Very comfortable bed. Odd en suite tucked into a corner, with rather dodgy sliding door. Plenty of nice towels, toiletries and biscuits. One bathroom needed some TLC .Excellent breakfast, cooked to order, we are veggies, but very accommodating. Handy for Southsea centre....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suemullins
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 1 September 2015

You love airplanes? Or should I write aeroplanes? Because it is predominantly historical ones which adorn practically every available spot on the walls in this guest house by the sea. Quirky indeed. If you can live with the strictly enforced and pretty limited timeframe of 1) check-in and 2) breakfast and if you feel comfortable in a typical narrow English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
Arundel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

After a very long and exhausting working day, I arrived at the Abbey Lodge shortly after 8 pm. I was very surprised to be told that all arrivals must be before 9pm with no exceptions. Breakfast is served between 8 and 9 with no exceptions. This B&B is on the door step of a channel port crossing to and from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andiymac777
Walthamstow London
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Booked into budget room with shared bathroom, clean tidy, welcoming. It was better than I expected to be honest, fair size,with decent tv, mints, tea bags etc. The breakfast was served in tiny breakfast room but well cooked and plentiful. The decor is completely warplane orientated, strange in a naval city but there you go. I imagine the larger rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevee17
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

I booked a room here at the extreme last minute and was delighted with what I got. Parking was not an issue, although there is no parking outside the lodge, there is ample parking around the park 50 yds away. A friendly chap showed me to a lovely clean, spacious room with lots of extras, like a fan, complimentary bottled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarrackObama2
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

I booked this fairly late on through Booking.Com due to a last minute business trip. I was charged £60 and feel this was money well spent. After an email earlier in the day requesting my time of arrival (a reasonable question) the gentleman who opened the door to me was very polite, showing me to my en suite which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen d

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.5 km away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
325 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.9 km away
Duke Of Buckingham
Duke Of Buckingham
#5 of 34 in Portsmouth
594 reviews
2.9 km away
Ferry House Lodge
Ferry House Lodge
#12 of 34 in Portsmouth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Address: 30 Waverley Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $79 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Lodge Portsmouth, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front room was brighter”
suemullins, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back. Dont arrive after 9pm”
Andiymac777, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Choose en suite”
launay2015, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Budget single has a sloping roof so may not be suitable for a tall person.”
REVAP1886, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We chose double bed room. It was perfect”
439tam_sb, 21 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5