We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

TravelocityUS$144*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 599: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro
 Click to rate
Community of Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovley hotel, parking and the one system a little bizarre but didn't spoil a great weekend. Really enjoyed the cocktail bar, superb cocktails made with flare. The local gin was particularly excellent. Breakfast again very good but felt the pastry selection could do with sprucing up, but everything else was very good. Room was very good, bigger than expected and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreasgarciaesp
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The food was very good although they didnt serve many green vegetables Service however was poor. Our waitress was sullen and failed to recognise us when we moved inside to our dining table after taking our order when we were sat outside The wine waiter was very slow and disorganised When we received the bill, it included a £19 service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chambassoc
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you had a poor experience, the garden on Saturday was quite full and it may have been an oversight on behalf of the waiting staff, we will of course look into some further training with them to improve this. Service charge is at your discretion, and we always appreciate that some customers...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 5 nights in April 2017 with 5 breakfasts and a dinner. We received fantastic service, most notably from a sunny positive receptionist Charlotte and the general manager Roula. Hotel Du Vin is an excellent chain of hotels, we have tried a number. We had previously stayed at Wimbledon for 4 nights, the service there was not up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Mr & Mrs Hindle, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, and lovely to get to know you a bit more everyday. we all hope your house move has been successful. Our menus change on 3rd May and we hope to see you back soon to sample some of our new A la carte dishes. Charlotte is delighted...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Peter delivered our espresso martinis and said he would fire himself if they weren't the best we had ever tasted! Our drinks didn't disappoint - they were superb. Great atmosphere, great service, and lovely to see the bar is dog friendly too!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caroline A
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, thank you so much for your lovely comment, petar will be delighted to be mentioned online and I am very happy you enjoyed your espresso martinis, they are to die for. The bar is definitely dog friendly so is the garden in warmer weather. hope to see you again soon Roula

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Petar is an excellent barman, very friendly and helpful making me the best gin and tonic I've ever had. Everyone was very polite and kind. Our room was very clean and we were provided with REN products in the bathroom which smell wonderful. There is a lovely seating area at the rear which was very pretty and would be even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sfr742017
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, Petar is delighted he got mentioned online. we hope you will get the chance to return and use the garden area in the summer, we look forward to welcome you back Regards Roula

Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was six years since we last visited Winchester and ate here, remembering how we enjoyed it on that occasion, on our recent visit we returned and were not disappointed. The decor of the restaurant is quite characterful, the menu is contemporary but not "over the top" as in some Michelin star restaurants. I had the smoked Haddock chowder, followed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard I
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you very much for your lovely feedback which we will share with the staff, I am delighted to read you had a great experience and we hope to see you again soon, Best regards Roula

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were greeted by Charlotte on Reception who was very friendly and helpful. She kindly went to see if our room was ready, and as it was we checked in two hours early. She is a great asset to HdV. We had a cottage room which was large and quiet. We dined elsewhere so only had breakfast at the Hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gourmandsouth
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, charlotte is delighted she is mentioned online and she will be rewarded for her great service. we hope to welcome you again soon Regards Roula

Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for one night in March 2017. Upon arrival I was greeted by probably the best receptionist I've ever met. Friendly, chatty, helpful, I was already impressed within the first 60 seconds. (Note to manager - At her next appraisal, promote her, she's a great asset) I was shown up to my room (3rd floor) and was delighted by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Flatman22
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay, if you could remember the receptionist name she would get an incentive for being mentioned online by name, so that would be great to share with her. Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to have you back here soon. Regards Roula

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like the casual/rustic setting. In the spring / summer, the courtyard is good for drinks / coffee. Decent variety of rooms. Good bar scene and a fun (but unexceptional) bistro. Very friendly service....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monaco_trotter
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, I am sad to read you find the place unexceptional this is a 1715 listed grade 2 building with all its original features still present. I will share you comments about service with the team they will be delighted to read that. thank you again Regards Roula

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Last month my partner and I visited the lovely Hotel Du Vin in Winchester. I had been to the restaurant and bistro countless times and it was the first place to pop into my head when thinking about a special place to take my partner. Firstly the staff, such a credit to the place. A lovely young man served us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daisy B
GM-Roula, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Daisy, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, which i will be sharing with the team we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Roula

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.3 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,024 reviews
0.9 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
750 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 14 Southgate Street, Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $211 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Winchester
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Winchester, England
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New Haven, Connecticut
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didnt stay at the Hotel - we had lunch with friends”
chambassoc, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Taittinger is a great suite and very quiet”
503nigelh, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have walking issues, ask for a room not on the 3rd floor, bit of a walk on the stairs.”
Flatman22, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I liked the rooms overlooking the courtyard....”
monaco_trotter, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you don't mind stairs, go for a high room.”
  • Spacious bathroom
  • Nice room
Broadhurst, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$144* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$160
Priceline
TripAdvisorUS$144
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates