We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Westgate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Westgate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Start your review of The Westgate
 Click to rate
Twyford
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed for one night but the room looked like it had been recently decorated, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The only slight downsides are that the heating wasn't on in the afternoon/evening despite it being cold and the shower pressure was very low. Beer at the bar was very well kept and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Copey3
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pretty poor, staff seemed uninterested and going through motions.. not 'allowed' certain drinks, my cocktail spilled on table twice, but no apology.. This was a gem a year ago, shame.. pretentious bull, won't hurry back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in Winchester for the day and having had a busy day walking etc. just popped in here for a Saturday evening meal before catching the train home. At first this appears to be a bar which does food but when we entered we were told to take a table, so possibly more an eatery, but then later on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

me and my partner really like the pub and lively atmosphere of this place however our last meal was rather disappointing. ''Bubble and squeak '' starter consisted of old mash potatoes and not very runny poached egg. We both ordered lamb shanks and again mash wasn't fresh , lamb was lacking seasoning and there was very little gravy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annaxxx2017
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was really pleasantly surprised with the beautiful rooms with really lovely views. Ok they're small but so well designed and the attention to detail was amazing. We did however have an issue where the lights in the main room kept flickering and then short circuited so we were without lights for most of the night. We reported the issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elakel
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Morning, I'm sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the discount you were offered. I understand there is an issue with the main lighting in the bedroom but upon testing all lamps in the room were in full working order. Regardless i do extend my apologies for your disappointment. I haven't long been back from holiday and am...

Davenport, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a perfect stay at The Westgate, this was my second stay and the room was lovely again. The rooms are large and stylish, lovely comfortable beds and beautifully clean. The staff at The Westgate are helpful and friendly. I couldn't fault this place perfect for a stay in the centre of Winchester.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah V
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Morning Sarah, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback, it really is greatly appreciated. It gives the team some great motivation and allows us to improve and provide the best service possible. I'm very glad to hear you had a lovely stay and you are most welcome to come back and stay with...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Westgate. A characterful building, beautifully renovated and furnished. Brilliant position looking directly down the high street. The bar is a relaxed place to meet and drink, not rammed, with a nice selection of gin! The only downside (and why 4 not 5 rating) was the wait we had for food on the Saturday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa E
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lisa, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate it as it ensures the staff are being appreciated for all there hard work but allows us to improve the service that we provide! I'm sure the staff will be pleased to hear! We apologise for your wait on food on the...

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Have had a drink here before but this was the first time we had eaten here. The staff are friendly, the decor is nicely done and there is a good atmosphere. However my partner had the steak which was expensive and disappointing. My lamb shank was ok (though a little grizzly) but the mash had a day-old taste and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NorthernGirl2015
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Afternoon NothernGirl2015, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on your experience last week, I do remember you joining us and speaking with me at the time, i'd like to reiterate my apologies for your experience with us and ensure you that we are doing our best to get back to our original standards of...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

After a very long wait (bar was not particularly busy) food for our party of 8 arrived. Those of us who chose the roast were not impressed with luke warm veg that tasted as if it had been cooked the previous day. Not likely to go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank soonew
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Soonew, I'm terribly sorry about your experience with us on Sunday, we are working very hard to try and perfect our Sunday trade. Thank you for giving your feedback as it allows us to work harder at getting things right.. We are experiencing some changes within the kitchen team and i hope that your experience does not prevent...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Very friendly welcome. In fact found all staff to be friendly and accommodating. Nice comfortable room (room 8) with views over actual Westgate and down Winchester High Street. Bad experience on breakfast on first day due to problems in kitchen but completely satisfied on second morning. Good value for Winchester and excellent location. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rob h
General M, Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Afternoon guys, Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback, it really is appreciated as it helps us improve for the future. We really hope to see you guys again, you were a pleasure to have here. All the best & take care! Abby Jeffery Holding General Manager The Westgate Winchester

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,674 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
750 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
599 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the top of the historic Winchester High Street and a mere stone's throw from the legendary King Arthurs Round Table sits the redeveloped, prestigious and good-looking Westgate Pub with Rooms. Here at The Westgate we have gone further than just giving it a lick of paint... A short trot from the bustling city centre we strive to give every guest that walks through our doors the warm feeling of a home away from home. With a good old fashioned helpful bartender attitude, a funky, modern yet British pub kitchen and a light and airy vibe that continues throughout the pub and rooms. We hope you like what we have done as much as we do. We have created a versatile encompassment, ideal for all sorts of adventures that start, or finish, in Winchester. A place for work, rest, fun or families. Team Westgate really thought about the important things in life. A quiet drink, a good old fashioned knees up, romantic dinners, festive feasts, business trips and quiet getaways. This is a very exciting time in this corner of beautiful Winchester. The buzz surrounding the building during the work has been infectious throughout the city and now that we are open, we hope you feel we got it just right. Team Westgate look forward to seeing you and even more to welcoming you back time and time again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westgate

Address: 2 Romsey Road, Winchester SO23 8TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $146 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Westgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westgate Winchester, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westgate staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wigan
over a year ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Westgate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“"snug" rooms over very good value for money”
helenj651, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I believe that the rooms are of a similar quality, simply a different size.”
467terryl, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lots of steep stairs to rooms so not good if you have mobility problems”
lally53, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi very intermittent”
305barbara, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Comfort room on the 3rd floor was good and quiet.”
MRANDMRSM61, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5