We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sopwell House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sopwell House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,818 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sopwell House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,805: English reviews
Herts
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We went for Sunday lunch in the restaurant last Sunday to celebrate my mother's 95th birthday. The service was excellent and the meal was lovely. We could not have asked for more and my mother was made to feel special. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon1109
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of Sopwell House following your Mother’s Birthday Celebration, and many thanks for choosing to spend this special occasion with us here at Sopwell House. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant and had such a memorable time and that we had the pleasure of sharing this milestone celebration with...

London
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This is a fabulous venue in terms of the setting and the building itself. The rooms (we stayed in a balcony suite) are also very nice. The real let downs though were as follows: • There were ongoing construction works at the hotel but there is no mention of this anywhere and the staff failed to mention this on arrival....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank langlord
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Langlord, Thank you so much for your review, indeed we have an amazing venue and offer great memories for our guests. I am so sorry you felt your stay was impacted by the on-going upgrading of Sopwell House and that you felt you were unable to use your Suite balcony due to the view of a construction container. We...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited this weekend, as we were attending a local function. I've stayed before and would say it's a good hotel, but not excellent. The positives are the venue itself. A lovely hotel in good grounds. The service was very good too. Our room was very small though. For an expensive room, you would expect more. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew G
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your recent review of Sopwell House following your overnight stay. Your detailed feedback is very much appreciated and firstly thank you for your comments regarding our country house hotel nestled in 12 acres of beautiful gardens. We strive for excellence each and every day and I was pleased to read your positive comments regarding the...

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I went with my family today to Sopwell for afternoon tea. We have also gone to Luton Hoo and the Ritz for afternoon tea but I have to say Sopwell was the very best. We were absolutely spoilt by Tony (head butler) and his professional team. The atmosphere was warm and comfortable . The food was excellent and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary_33Purtill
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing Sopwell House for your recent Afternoon Tea and for taking the time to provide such a rewarding 5 star review. I will ensure Tony in particular receives your lovely and rewarding feedback – he is certainly a character and I am glad he looked after you so well. Thank you again ad I hope...

London
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

I booked a night in Sopwell House for my boyfriend's birthday. Anastasiya was extremely helpful when I was making the reservation, and made sure a note was made on the system that it was my partners birthday. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready, but we were there before 3pm so that's to be expected. We had lunch (2 X...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your outstanding review of Sopwell House following your recent romantic break spent with us. We delight in creating special memories for our guests and so I am thrilled that the whole team looked after you so well on this very special birthday occasion. Thank you for also giving Anastasiya a special mention which is always...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We have just returned back from Sopwell house and the stay was amazing. This was our second visit and overall the food, staff and hotel in general was 5 star. Our first time round we had a noisy room which was no fault of the hotel and this time we stayed in one of the suites. This I would recommend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your excellent review of Sopwell House following your recent visit. Our passionate and dedicated team work hard to deliver a fantastic experience and it’s always nice to receive such rewarding feedback which I will pass on to them. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again in...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

I cannot fault one thing with Sopwell house! My mum and I went for an overnight stay. We had treatments (massage, facial, luxury pedicure) in the spa which were all fantastic, afternoon tea (too much food), dinner, breakfast (best I've had) and lunch all were delicious. The service was impeccable by everyone I had the pleasure of speaking to throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased the whole team looked after you so well and I am very grateful for your fantastic review of your stay here. We could not ask more than for you to return and so we look forward to hopefully warmly welcoming you back very soon. Thanks again for sharing your experience. Warm regards Derek Hiscoke General...

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Me and my boyfriend went for an overnight spa stay over Christmas. The spa was amazing, really clean and the staff were polite. I had the deep tissue massage which was the best I have ever had and my boyfriend had the mens facial that he couldn't complain about. When we arrived to check into our room however, the keycard...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Emma L
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Sopwell House. It is always our aim that a guest leaves the hotel happy which is why I would always urge guests to contact any member of the management team whilst here on site to give us the opportunity to put things right where we can. I am...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

On Monday the 15th February it was my wife's special birthday so thought I would treat her to a lovely tea out. We had been there previously and had always been very happy with our visit. This time, however, felt it was not up to previous years standard and was very disappointed for her. Firstly the bread on some of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan B
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Alan B Thank you so much for writing your review your very first review on Tripadvisor. I was disappointed to hear you had not received the usual exceptional service Sopwell House offers, as you alluded to in your review that you had been to Sopwell House before and been very happy. I am sadden that you never conveyed your...

Radlett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Having eaten at Sopwell House before, I had the opportunity to stay here as a solo traveller and it is a great place to stay as a solo female. Check in was excellent, they offered to carry my bag and I had an upgrade to a deluxe garden view room overlooking the lake. The bathroom was beautifully done with robes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank londonbunny
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of Sopwell House following your stay here. Your review was a delight to read and share with the team and so I am grateful you took the time and trouble to share your feedback. As a country house nestled in 12 acres of beautiful gardens, I am delighted you enjoyed our lovely...

466 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (400)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (221)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
9.9 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,562 reviews
2.5 km away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
518 reviews
22.2 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.2 km away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
10.7 km away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Restaurant at Sopwell House
The Restaurant at Sopwell House
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 12 acres of tranquil gardens Sopwell House is a 4 star hotel in Hertfordshire and the former Georgian country residence of Lord Mountbatten. Once you enter this 'home away from home' our attentive staff, family friendly service and luxurious spa facilities will provide the perfect setting to your stay or event. Our Country House hotel enables you to escape from it all and is within easy reach of London, St Pancras National & International Train Station and Luton Airport. With 128 stylish bedrooms and suites including 16 soon to be completed Mews Apartments to choose from, exceptional service, delicious food and our opulent spa you'll find it hard to leave. As well as boasting 19 flexible function suites, Sopwell House has recently been awarded winner of the 2015 Conde Nast Johansens Awards for Excellence in the category 'Best for Meetings' recognising their outstanding contribution to the corporate and social world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sopwell House

Address: Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Price Range: $275 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sopwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sopwell House Country Club Hotel St. Albans
Sopwell House Country Club And Spa
Sopwell Hotel Country
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sopwell House staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Wetherby, United Kingdom
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Sopwell House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great. Mews is a wonderful experience.”
 of 5 bubbles Coops24, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pay a little extra for the Mews rooms- beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles Tanali2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The mews are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles cathy680, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms are first class”
 of 5 bubbles theresathorne64, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Recommend room at the end of a corridor - quieter option”
 of 5 bubbles Donna162, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay