We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sopwell House

Save
Traveller (634)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (64)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“spa break”(144 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(225 reviews)
“cocktail lounge”(52 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,484)
There are newer reviews for Sopwell House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,467 results
Traveller rating
1,295
619
264
151
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,295
619
264
151
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa breakafternoon teacocktail loungefull body massagespa areabreakfast and lunchlovely spaexecutive roomhead butlerterrace barbrasserie restaurantsteam roomspa staffbirthday treatsandwichesrelaxing weekendmy mum
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
411 - 415 of 2,467 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Beautiful hotel , highly trained and professional staff . We stayed for two nights and ate in the brasseriere on one night . The vegetarian pasta dish was exceptional . The staff recommended a local restaurant for our second night . Although children only allowed...More

Thank M6095EKmichaela
Response from Thomas G, General Manager at Sopwell HouseResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Guest It was with delighted that I read about your fabulous recent stay here at Sopwell House with your family. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, our staff and our food. For the benefit of our readers, children are welcome...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We gave a surprise 90th birthday party for fourteen adults and two young children in The Brasserie at Sopwell House on the 22nd April. It was a challenge to find a venue that would suit such diverse age range. We were really lucky with the...More

Thank Richard L
Response from Thomas G, General Manager at Sopwell HouseResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion here at Sopwell House. I was delighted to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy our Brasserie food and that your evening ran smoothly. I was particularly pleased to hear that...More

Reviewed 22 April 2017

I went to Sopwell House with two foreign business colleagues who I was keen to make a good impression on. I wasn't disappointed. The front of the hotel looked superb as we approached and that set the tone. The rooms were slightly on the small...More

Thank Matt H
Response from Thomas G, General Manager at Sopwell HouseResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Guest I am very grateful that you chose to entertain your business colleagues here at Sopwell House recently. I am delighted that we were able to make a good impression and that your stay was excellent overall, and in particular your dinner. For the...More

Reviewed 20 April 2017

I booked a table of 6 and phoned up shortly beforehand to advise that there would be 3 vegetarians in the party and 1 lady (not veggie) who was lactose intolerant. The charming lady who I spoke to promised me that she had made a...More

2  Thank Hendonic
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Wow what can I say, we waited 4 months after booking so we could put this awesome Christmas present to use for later celebrations Exceeded expectations is truly an understatement We arrived for breakfast at 7.30am, all the staff were welcoming and polite. The breakfast...More

Thank Danielle H
View more reviews
Best Value Properties in St Albans, United Kingdom
See all 10 hotels in St AlbansSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$157 - US$365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$157 - US$365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (634)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (64)
Pool & Beach (8)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
peterthubron
9 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Marc M | Reviewed this property |
You can get sky spots in your room if you have one in the mews, hope that helps.
0
Votes
TheDr1
15 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Thomas G | Property representative |
Thank you for your comments, I can confirm we are delighted to welcome children in our pool and our dedicated childrens pool between 8am an 10am daily.
0
Votes
Jamie N
19 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Thomas G | Property representative |
Dear Guest I can confirm that all rooms are provided with robes. With kind regards Vince
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If you can afford being ripped off try the willow suite."
Read review
"Mews Suites are definitely worth the extra outlay."
Read review
"Would recommend a room with a countryside view"
Read review
"Ask to check in early"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing