We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Falstaff in Canterbury

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Falstaff in Canterbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

987 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Falstaff in Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Showing 905: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

This hotel has a very nice looking bar and restaurant, and after indulging in a few very tasty martinis at the bar our party was guided to our table for dinner. The restaurant however was a very different story. The starters came (mainly salt and pepper squid) and were greasy and tough. The mains were even more disappointing. A few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Pauline L, Thank you for trying the bar and restaurant. I do apologise for the problems you encountered. I am pleased however to say that we have a new chef and restaurant manager and they are already having a very positive impact on improving the food and service levels. I am sure you will notice this on your next...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

The Falstaff is rated 3 star - and on entry to the public areas, that seems fair. The reception and F&B staff are good, efficient, pleasant and generally just as you would wish. I stayed two nights in a room in the main building. It can fairly be described as scruffy. The shower head couldn't be fixed, the basin was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yotboy
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Very spacious, modern, refurbished hotel with a range of seating areas and bright cocktail bar area. These areas double as the breakfast restaurant for hotel guests and the breakfasts options are wide ranging, good and really fresh. Staff are really friendly and helpful all round. The general areas are really clean and a pleasure to relax in. The bedroom we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This would probably really be a 3.5 if there was an option. The hotel was in a great location perfect for the centre and opposite the bus stop for the University of Kent, which I was visiting during my stay The check in was not until 3pm but they had a luggage room where I left my bag whilst I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simone609
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Ok for an overnight stay. Managed to get in car park which is also used by guests for the restaurant. Bar area very busy on Sat evening did not manage to find a space to have a drink. Lounge area with settees occupied by couples at every table which restricted the seating somewhat. Large bathroom which could do with some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindan D
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

we have just return from a weekend at the falstaff. We had a twin room. Location good.Room dirty bad housekeeping.Breakfast slow and luke warm food service can take 45 mins.Bar taken over by outside people no room for hotel visitetrs .Stay away

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenny c
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear jenny c, Thank you for your comments. As mentioned during your stay, the bar and restaurant have proved to be extremely popular, especially on the weekends and now far more busy than in previous years. I am sorry that the new feel and vibe are not however to your taste. It was a shame I couldn't show you the...

Croydon, Surrey
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Communal areas in this hotel are fab….just been renovated, beautifully. Great bar and lovely staff. Breakfast was very nice. Now the bad bit….the room was extremely dated but I believe they are going to start renovating them…however, I wouldn't bother renovating the rooms where number 33 is! they are above a weatherspoons and on a busy main road. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle W
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Michelle W, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that there was so much noise coming from Weatherspoons. Although being a city centre hotel there is a certain level of external noise, it is very unusual for it to be as you had experienced. We do have a variety of rooms in different...

Surrey
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Stayed here recently with my Mother for two nights. We had a lovely twin room, which was a good size and had excellent facilities. The hotel staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent. A bonus was the fact that there was parking and within walking distance of the Westgate, so very convenient to explore Canterbury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leighboys
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night, found it very comfortable and the staff were pleasant to deal with. The room was on the top floor and the windows were able to be opened to let some cool fresh air into the room. We did not avail ourselves of the restaurant although the menu was quite good. Breakfast was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
Reviewed 13 October 2015

First impressions were great; located close to the West Gate, visually appealing with well decorated entrance and bar area. Reception seemed in an odd place but we were made welcome and given a room in the old part overlooking the rear courtyard. Very good sized room with comfortable sitting area. All good so far. Breakfast catered for most tastes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
John A, Manager at The Falstaff in Canterbury, responded to this review

Dear Paul G, On recent inspections by governing bodies the feedback has always been very positive and encouraging. I am sorry to hear you did not find this to be the case and felt let down by the hotels response during your stay with us. As with my comments to Susan G we will certainly look at any areas that...

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,713 reviews
0.5 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
394 reviews
0.6 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
1.1 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
256 reviews
0.7 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $109 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falstaff In Canterbury Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Falstaff in Canterbury staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Falstaff in Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a light sleeper, stay away from the roadside rooms. Only a little noise between 11pm and 7 so weren't bothered by it.”
 of 5 bubbles Jimbuchanan53, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Free city centre parking!”
 of 5 bubbles 554grannya, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a suite , ordinary rooms are too small. Be sure you're in the back of the hotel for a better night's sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles sushanna, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles L1866AJjuliem, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept rooms 5 AND 6.”
 of 5 bubbles lisamarie26122016, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5