We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,001 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 956: English reviews
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We complained about our room cited below but the receptionist was understanding and kind and gave us a reduction so she made it al better. The biggest problem for me was our room (106) which I realise might not be the case for other rooms. It was a suite as my 14 year old stepson was with us. The door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvana S
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that my reception team dealt with your issues in an understanding and kind way. Unfortunately due to the nature of the building we are unable to install air con within the bedroom area of the suite. Again due to the nature of the building the suite does not have a shower...

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Second time to visit. The first time having booked just by the price was good. but this time we took the executive room. It was Superb, great, all to our full satisfaction. Wish more of these hotels worldwide. Will definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAP P
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Im delighted to read you had a good stay with us this time round, and that everything was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annettejean57
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Funny place this..... £140 per night without breakfast is not cheap. When there is a wedding going on it seems that service for paying residents is second best. Parking is a nightmare. ...getting food is too much trouble almost....If you want a decent coffee after 10 pm good luck....on the subject of food not sure they know what medium steak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bmdmarkie
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Never pleasant reading to see we have let someone down. Good news is we have had our front lawn especially adapted for extra parking to ease the congested weekend periods. My apologies for the food and service element as you have described - not our usual practice I can assure you and with a new...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Aspiring too high. Chef was new and dinner was restricted to set menu. Bar was not manned full time. No nibbles available with drinks. Décor very Victorian and made a gloomy atmosphere. Staff very pleasant and receptionist exceptional in being helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our new head chef has indeed just started with us, which has meant we have been operating with a reduced menu whilst a new A la carte was being finalised, apologies for any inconvenience caused. We have a selection of Kentish crisps available, also during kitchen opening times we also have a selection of bar...

Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

I was recently at the Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel for a wedding and found the whole hotel experience wonderful. This is an extremely well run hotel with friendly helpful staff throughout and beautiful grounds. I'd wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to all and intend to stay again, next time exploring more of Canterbury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robharris5
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you found us to be a wonderful experience. Thank you for mentioning my team, your kind comments have been passed onto them. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We arrived on Friday for a nights stay, the reception staff are friendly and helpful. Our room 216 (a twin) was a very good size with plenty of storage and overlooked the car park. Unless you have the windows open it isn't noisy so that was good. The hotel itself is a 10 minute walk down one road into Canterbury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen b
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased to read you had a good stay with us, and that your room was to your liking. Apologies for the missing items at breakfast, I will be looking into what happened there as all food items should be replenished regularly. Thank you for mentioning my reception team and please you found them friendly and...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Stayed last weekend as we had friends who got married at the hotel. The check-in was friendly and extremely efficient. They advised us that unfortunately the air conditioning unit in our room was not working and would take a week to fix so they offered us a £25.00 per night discount which we accepted, they also put a fan in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauliehickeyfry
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Delighted to read you you had a good time attending your friends wedding and that you had a comfortable stay. Apologies for the lack of air conditioning, unfortunately we had a couple of units go down that weekend for which we were awaiting parts. Thank you for mentioning our food offering in particular or sausages...

norfolk
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I got back from a four night coach trip last night, and wished I could have stayed for another four! The single room I had, 127, was huge compared with other ones I have stayed in, and had everything you could want. I found the staff exceptional in their attitudes. Kind, friendly, always smiling, and so patient with people who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timothyNorfolk
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Delighted to read your had a good stay with us and that you liked the room you were staying in. Thank you for mentioning my team, i have passed you kind comments onto them. Also thank you for mentioning our food offerings and pleased everything was to your taste. We look forward to welcoming you...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Spent a comfortable night here. Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Canterbury centre but as I was with elderly parents, there was a convenient bus stop a short walk away, so we hopped on the bus and I didn't have the hassle or expense of city centre parking. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and was very peaceful....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne O
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read you had a good stay with us recently. Apologies for the wrong food menu in your room, this has been replaced. Also apologies for certain items not being available, I am however pleased to read that my team resolved this issue instantly. Thank you for mentioning my duty manager, she is...

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,704 reviews
0.9 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,065 reviews
1.0 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
254 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
4.0 km away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel

Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $109 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel Canterbury, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Woodstock, Virginia
14 days ago
Oranjestad, Aruba
North Wales

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel has lift to all floors room 317 very nice”
 of 5 bubbles del1Bedfrdshire, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“away from the car park”
 of 5 bubbles ammo74, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At Xmas there is plenty of atmosphere. There are also firms Xmas parties.”
 of 5 bubbles 481ronb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“older part of hotel very cosy we had room 104”
 of 5 bubbles susanOxted, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Twin room in old building was large with an large bathroom too - Room no 223”
 of 5 bubbles SuzySmithSurrey, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5