Iffin Farmhouse

Iffin Farmhouse

Iffin Farmhouse Iffin Lane, Canterbury CT4 7BE England
Traveller (143)
ORchard pickers cottage
Room & Suite (37)
A big breakfast - kippers served Kentish style with a poached egg
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#4 of 24 B&Bs in Canterbury
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
A quiet, comfortable nights sleep in a four star venue with a five star service only 1 mile to the historic city of Canterbury. Iffin Farmhouse is a family run business offering luxury accommodation amidst free-range chickens, cats, donkeys and our dog, in the heart of the Kent countryside. We offer spacious self-catering apartments or rooms. Checkin and checkout is contactless although we can be contacted at any time. We look forward to sharing our quirky home and animals with you!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Picnic area
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
529Reviews3Q+A98Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 439
  • 74
  • 9
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Judith P wrote a review Oct 2020
Aylesbury, United Kingdom54 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a long weekend which was our summer holiday for this year. We needed to get away from the hustle and bustle of the last few months to just relax and reenergise.

We made a last minute booking for one of the self-catering units. To ensure Covid-19 safety all communication was by phone and text messages. Despite our last minute booking the owners were able to get us some provisions for breakfast, which were delicious.

The units were spacious, clean, warm and quiet.we had everything we needed to relax.

The location was brilliant. Despite being in the countryside we only had five minutes to drive to a supermarket and also for the Canterbury Park & Ride.

Whitstable is only half an hour away, so is Margate and Ashford Designer Village, Leeds Castle.

We would definitely recommend Iffin Farmhouse and will be back again as there is still lots to see in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Harman, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review. They certainly are unusual times and we do our utmost to still provide a personable service albeit not in person! So pleased that you felt recharged for you return. Iffin Farmhouse
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just stayed for one night and I can honestly say the accommodation, location and service was just wonderful. Everything was clean, spotless and well organised. Although it rained we loved looking out to the open field , the smell of lavender drifting into barn and the morning alarm of the farms cockerel. Would highly recommend a stay in the barn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Harman, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse
Responded 18 Aug 2020
.. and they wonder why the British are always talking about the weather! Thank you for taking time to write a review. Wilfred and his chicks are looking forward to your next visit 👍
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigator25401 wrote a review Sept 2005
London1 contribution6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Iffin Farmhouse for one night as a 'getaway' from our busy working and London lives. A truly beautiful home in superb grounds. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent cooked english breakfast using local produce. We stayed in the Blue Room which is very spacious room with a comfortable bed. Only 5-10 minutes from the centre of canterbury where we ate out at the Caffe Uno (Italian) Establishment and italian restaurant highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2005
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deldebell wrote a review May 2017
London, United Kingdom2 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I have probably had the worst stay ever this bank holiday at Iffin Farmhouse, a passive agressive owner (Sarah) thoroughly rude to us during our stay, we were booked into accomodation that was not what we paid for (£171). Sarah was v unhelpful and when we complained her best suggestion was that we packed up and left! With 2 young children. Sarah had a great false smile when greeted when we first arrived and throughout our stay was the worst host. Very well spoken but was at the back of the que when manners were dished out. I would strongly advise against staying here, all in my honest opinion of course.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chocolatechaos wrote a review Dec 2006
London586 contributions101 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Wasnt allowed in until 6pm then kicked out by 10am on Sunday morning....Not worth £85 quid to simply sleep here.... There is no need to kick people out at 10am, we hadnt even showered and straight after breakfast we were ushered out and they did not have a booking then. Rather rude......

Feel a bit like an uninvited guest as it is really just a couple of spare rooms in their house.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2006
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelbirdSanDiego wrote a review Apr 2004
San Diego, California12 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a lovely family holiday weekend at the Iffin Farmhouse. This beautiful, simple, quiet place is just a short cab ride from the Canterbury train station---painless to get to from London. The surrounding area is all leafy narrow roads and meadows full of flowers, yet it's just a few minutes by car to the busy village of Canterbury.
The farmhouse itself has lots of open green space for the kids to wander through, complete with friendly ponies and a playful dog. Our hostess and her children were all delightful, friendly but totally unobtrusive. The traditional English breakfasts were very tasty, made with all locally produced foods. Even home-baked bread warm from the oven, yum! Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. Definitely the perfect place to stay if visiting Canterbury, especially with kids.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paula H wrote a review Mar 2014
Braintree, United Kingdom1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very disappointing experience at the Iffin Farmhouse. Having read the excellent reviews my wife booked for a relaxing weekend in the Orchard Pickers Cottage as a birthday surprise for me. On arrival we were showed to the room which had a large amount of cobwebs hanging from the beams. On closer inspection the utensils in the kitchen were dirty and unhygienic, One in particular a whisk with a wooden handle should have been thrown away, completely covered in dust. The mugs/glasses were dirty. Inside the cupboards was food debris, and under the bedside cupboards the floor was very dusty. Suffering from asthma this was a worry.
Our major concern however was the mice droppings we found in the cupboard next to the cooker. Clearly the room was not fit for occupation and didn't appear to have been cleaned properly for some time.
Expressing our concern we decided not to stay the night. Sarah could not offer any alternative accommodation or recommend anywhere locally, so we had to travel quite some distance to find suitable accommodation. This left my wife distressed as it ruined what should have been a relaxing break.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IffinFarmhouse, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse
Responded 25 Mar 2014
Our experience of your fleeting visit is very different. We have been in the Tourism business as a family run accommodation provider for over 20 years and it continues to gives great pleasure and enjoyment to share our luxury home to all guests without discrimination , including those with disabilities On booking we encourage communication of any food intollerances, anxieties or any special request guests may have prior to arrival in order to maximise their experience away from home.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah O'Gorman wrote a review Apr 2006
Marsa Alam, Egypt1,253 contribution263 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Iffin Farmhouse for 2 nights and had a really good time.
The location is lovely, not in the centre but in the heart of the countryside, with scenic views. It is only 5 minutes drive from the centre of canterbury though so it is great for seeing the sites.
The farmhouse has horses and cats and a dog and a lot of land to go with it.
The owner and family were very friendly and helpful. They left us to come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was lovely, she just asked what time we would like it. There was a choice of cereals and then a cooked selection.
Room was nice and comfortable with an en suite. There were also drinks in the room when we arrived as well as tea, coffee etc and a kettle.
It was everything that you would want for a short break and I would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerald Q wrote a review Nov 2011
Farnham, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
am not in a position to comment on the main house, we wanted to book a double room but none was available and we were offered a 'great cottage' well what is in fact is a hut at the top of a hill with a badly maintained path unlit some 200 yrs from the main residence, no photographs exist of this hut, but it is (compact to say the least) the bathroom is awful small, poor shower, and smelt of drains. not of an acceptable standard previous occupants rubbish everywhere. this is not four star or nowhere near it.. see photographs . I am sure the main accommodation is great, the food was superb, and the owners so kind and helpful, just a pity that this hut is portrayed for something that it is not.. this is of course what you expectations are, if you want a nice 4 star room do not accept this as an alternative, my partner was not amused...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Iffinhouse, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse
Responded 19 Nov 2011
We are very upset that your expectations were not met and had you specifically requested on booking your partner wished to have a bath then we would have recommended elsewhere as all our rooms with baths were occupied. 97% of our guests staying in The Orchard Pickers Cottage love the combination of its remoteness, uniqueness and option for self catering or bed and breakfast. They appreciate its small eco built wood-frame adds to its cosiness. It is as it appears on our website, a small cottage consisting of a studio room, wet-room with shower and kitchenette with original fireplace, wood burning stove and beautiful mural all of which point to its local history. We currently have guests who have been before staying who have specifically requested the Orchard Pickers Cottage and are as usual delighted. We would like to point out when you requested checking in in the morning, as usual, we informed you that the room may not be fully serviced but you were welcome to collect the key. In our endeavour to be ready for your early arrival we inadvertantly over looked the bin under the kitchen sink, for which I apologise. From your email to us when you returned home, it appears your partner was expecting to stay in a 5 star hotel, which we do not presume to be.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelors wrote a review Sept 2017
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania30 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm big on cleanliness and sorry to say, did not find the room to be up to my standards. It was dusty, dust ingrained in the carpeting especially around the perimeter, cobwebs on the radiator, and there was a spider on the bedspread one night. Windows dirty. The radiator was not working properly - was turned on and then we could not turn it off, it was sweltering. On the other hand, the bathroom was very nice and updated/modern, and the bed was comfy. The breakfast, in the breakfast room, was also very good. Would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah H, Owner at Iffin Farmhouse
Responded 29 Sept 2017
Thank you. Our guests often remark on how comfortable the beds are and greatly appreciate their breakfasts...... Yes, I recall the issue with the radiator in your room. It was the first time it had been turned on since the winter and we were unaware of it not functioning. As we were unable to get our heating engineer in over the weekend we opted to leave the radiator on so that you could adjust the room temperature by opening windows. We were puzzled you hadnt done so which may have contributed to a sense of dustyness. ..We too are sticklers for cleanliness and vacuum all B&B rooms daily and carpets are professionally cleaned every 6 months. (They have just been done)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bart_kors asked a question Apr 2018
Gouda, The Netherlands5 contributions2 helpful votes
is it possible to stay in one room with 2 adults and 2 children age 10 from 12 to 13 may?
Answer from Sarah
6 contributions
Yes it is....please phone, perhaps tomorrow, so we can guide you to the most suitable room. looking forward to hearing from you. Sarah
Answer from Paul H
Dagenham, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
Do not know as we have not been yet
Karen Bayliss wrote a tip Mar 2019
London, England, United Kingdom148 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in main house - bathroom not great in 'summer house'"
Read full review
Olive W wrote a tip Aug 2018
Kent, United Kingdom10 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Pink Room, furnished with shower and bath, really comfy bed, quiet and on ground floor so easy to step on to the terrace and garden."
Read full review
IanLHarris wrote a tip Jun 2018
London, United Kingdom50 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in the corner bungalow with a larger terrace. But for self-catering, other bungalows are better equipped for that purpose."
Read full review
Cottageflower16 wrote a tip Mar 2018
Ashbourne, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Green Room was extremely peaceful with lovely views over the garden and grounds."
Read full review
Peter A wrote a tip Nov 2017
Oundle, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some rooms are in the farmhouse and some in a converted outbuildings. we`had the orchard` pickers cottage. rooms shown on website (s)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canterbury area.
PRICE RANGE
S$180 - S$234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentCanterbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IFFIN FARMHOUSE: UPDATED 2023 B&B Reviews, Price Comparison and 175 Photos (Canterbury, Kent) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Iffin Farmhouse
Which popular attractions are close to Iffin Farmhouse?
Nearby attractions include Escape In The Towers (3.5 km), Walrus & Oyster Emporium (3.3 km), and The Malthouse Theatre (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Iffin Farmhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Iffin Farmhouse?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Iffin Farmhouse?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Iffin Farmhouse?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iffin Farmhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr Falafel Canterbury, Notorious BRG Canterbury, and The Monument.
Are any cleaning services offered at Iffin Farmhouse?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Iffin Farmhouse?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Iffin Farmhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chilham Village (7.3 km), Eastbridge Hospital (3.4 km), and St. Augustine's Abbey (3.3 km).
Is Iffin Farmhouse accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Canterbury HotelsCanterbury Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CanterburyHotels near Iffin Farmhouse
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire