We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham

Save
Share
Maidstone Road, Chatham ME5 9SF England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (179)
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 25/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Updated 25/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 5 hotels in Chatham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel. This modern, well equipped hotel contains fully air-conditioned bedrooms all with high speed internet access. With our mix of Double, Twin & Family Rooms (Kids Stay & Eat Free) and fuly equipped Spirit Health & Fitness Centre with Pool, the hotel is the ideal location for both business & leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is ideally located for key attractions including Leeds Castle, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Cathedral, Dickens World & Brands Hatch Race Circuit. Access to the Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham hotel is easy via both the M2 & M20, or by train to Rochester station, making the hotel a central base for touring Kent or a convenient stop-off en-route to Folkestone and Dover.For Conference & Events, the hotel has fantastic facilities for all types of Meetings, Functions & Ceremonies within the Academy Conference Centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 10 more
968Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 317
  • 261
  • 102
  • 77
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
OweJaxMum2 wrote a review Yesterday
London, United Kingdom52 contributions46 helpful votes
We booked a family room through Booking.com payment was taken a week before with confirmation sent. Unfortunately when we arrived. The hotel was fully booked. Booking.com had not contacted the hotel. Thankfully, the hotel was being managed by the very wonderful Lindley on this day. Lindley went above and beyond to personally accommodate us and fulfill the reservation by placing us in an executive room-which really pleased our 10 year old! Our stay was eventually very pleasant indeed-mostly thanks to Lindley and the wonderful restaurant staff. The swimming pool was a little tired/dated, but this seemed to go over my son’s head, as he felt like he was on a mini holiday. Book ahead and bring your own towel. The restaurant seem to have a limited menu at the moment, but the food was tasty & well presented. The breakfast was delicious. It seemed like there was no end to the variety on offer! Well worth booking ahead (£10 if booked, £14 on the day) The room was very clean, and we would return again if in the area of Rochester/Chatham, but through the hotel directly. Not with Booking.com.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book directly through IHG
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
KfromKent wrote a review Jul 2021
Kent, United Kingdom21 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for 4 days while having a bathroom fitted at home, to avoid the dust and mess, little did i realise the hotel would be worse! Thick dust on the window, and not just a few days worth, maybe over a years worth., reported to reception at 1500 and it wasn't cleaned until 2030. The cleaner said she was sorry about that, it must of been missed, she chose to ignore my comment of " what for the past year?" There was a fine layer of dust on all surfaces, carpet was stained, and the decor in need of a fresh coat of paint. Trays of food are left in the corridor all day and a pile of dirty laundry was also there all day. Bar drinks are pricey, but staff friendly enough. Main aircon not working but a stand alone unit in the room was good,if you could get the hose to stay out the window for venting! The shower in the room, i was on top floor, had very little pressure but was nice and hot. I used the pool on 2 occasions and the showers there were much better. My room was serviced twice during my 4 days, just clean towels, not bedding. They still had some Covid19 rules in place, staff wearing face coverings and screens in place, but during my stay I did not see any cleaning of the main areas, this is not to say it didn't happen, I just didnt see it. Would I stay here again, maybe as a last resort, but it definitely needs a revamp.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: This is sited on a main road and next to a leisure airport, there is noise, but it doesn't ruin...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Havana_Blast wrote a review Jul 2021
Bromborough, United Kingdom462 contributions146 helpful votes
I stayed here a number of times over the last 18 months whilst on business. Despite the Covid restrictions the hotel continued to offer a a good breakfast and evening meal service and whilst this was room service only the service and quality were very good. Staff have always been very polite and friendly, be sure to request a quiet room if this is a key requirement for your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Jonny wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend off work to relax and recover. I was greeted by Lindley at the reception also duty manager of the day. Fantastic attitude, checked me in with no issues, kinda helped I knew the routine anyway. I was served by Sam for dinner and breakfast. A lovely and professional manner towards her guests and went out of her way. Even made me a hot chocolate when machine was broken with a shot of amaretto. The chef even kindly made me some poached eggs both days. I was then checked out by Chiara this morning, who couldn't stop apologising for keeping me waiting a few minutes while dealing with a enquiry on the telephone. All in all a first class stay. My first stay there and definitely won't be the last. Thank you everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Mark N wrote a review Jun 2021
Peterlee, United Kingdom40 contributions12 helpful votes
5 day stay in an Executive = 5 days stinking in a grotty Bed; one of the hottest weeks of the year! No Aircon, No Cooler, stained carpets and no clean sheets throughout( even after complaining to reception). So yes Housekeeping get the 1 Star and Management keep it at 1Star as there reaction was NIL!! Executive Room it is not, but the Hotel is definitely not Executive either. Decor is dated and scuffed all over; plug sockets falling off the wall in the Bar area (masking tape around them to keep it together). The Service staff in the bar and kitchen are a saving grace, with them all being happy and smiley all of the time!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you’re staying one day, no problem, its bearable! If you’re staying longer then take your own...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Responded 27 Jun 2021
Hello U9818CAmarkn, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to write us a review. We intend to make each stay top notch. However, I'm sorry to read that your stay fell below expectations due to the issues encountered with the air conditioning, the room cleanliness, amenities condition, and housekeeping service. The experience you described certainly isn’t what we want for any guest. I have made the hotel management aware of your comments as a reference in improving our services and amenities we offer to ensure an impeccable stay to all of our guest in the future. On a lighter note, I am glad that you found the service provided by our bar staff friendly. Know that a private message was sent to further reach out to you and to obtain more details. We hope that you will not allow this isolated event to prevent you from choosing us again. Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn rochester-chatham hotel chatham, holiday inn chatham, chatham holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentChatham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
149
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
Nearby attractions include Buckmore Park (0.7 km), The Poachers Pocket Bar (1.1 km), and Unit 1 Skatepark (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Poachers Pocket, Tiger Moth, and Rochester Airpot Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Six Poor Travellers House (4.4 km), Rochester Cathedral (4.4 km), and Restoration House (4.1 km).
Is Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.