We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. George Hotel

Save
Share
St. George Hotel 7-8 New Road Avenue 7-8 New Road Avenue, Chatham ME4 6BB England
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (2)

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Chatham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the Chatham/Rochester boarder the St. George Hotel is the ideal base at the heart of the Medway towns.We have 45 bedrooms all en suite, digital tv and radio, hospitality trays and telephones.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
First aid kit
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
461Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 159
  • 57
  • 19
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AllieJa wrote a review Sep 2021
6 contributions8 helpful votes
The hotel was okay. Spent one night in the single room, the room was clean. Breakfast was included which was really nice. The view from the parking lot was very beautiful. The overall stay wasn’t too bad.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Karl Weller, General Manager at St. George Hotel
Responded 13 Sep 2021
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Read more
PaulP1989 wrote a review Sep 2021
Wallasey, United Kingdom8 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked this hotel for 2 nights despite some of the earlier reviews in good faith. On Friday morning we had several members of the group travelling had symptoms and in due course positive lateral flow tests. I called the hotel at approximately midday to inform them we couldn't travel due to this and obvious government guidelines. We at this point booked PCR tests. I then got a notification that the hotel had taken payment for my booking from the bank. I have since spent 5 days in talks with the hotel to try and redeem the payment. I have been more than happy to provide the evidence of government approved covid documents and test results. Today despite the promise of a email off the manager I still never received contact with what was to happen. I called the hotel to see if there was a update. It appears they are refusing to give me a refund let alone a partial refund which I agrees I was happy to accept. They told me I didn't meet the 24hr cancellation policy for the 2nd night, despite the website saying different. This hotel refuses to refund people with covid and also tells me they are a covid safe hotel. My advice would be to avoid these con men at all costs
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
jacqui3744 wrote a review Aug 2021
Cheshunt, United Kingdom1674 contributions324 helpful votes
nice sized room , covid safe , tea making facilities very good wifi throughout, hot breakfast waitress served very convenient for Chatham and Rochester, parking busy but tricky walk to get to it, pleasant staff, great value
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Karl Weller, General Manager at St. George Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at the St George Hotel, We will pass your compliments to the staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the area.
Read more
Simon wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
I will add to the many other voices who probably felt decieved by the 4 star review and pictures for the St George's Hotel in Chatham. Trust me when I say it doesnt look a patch on the pictures. The welcome was not very welcoming at all and most of the time there are no staff available. The hotel feels grubby, dated and smells of damp. We had to clean surfaces before we used them. Our rooms were tiny and the walls thin so you hear everything including noisy extraction fans and water pipes which keep you awake all night. [that's if you get one which works] We were also kept awake by two very loud wedding parties which had music till after 12am in the morning and guests making noise for the rest of the night. I came with my family for a relaxing 4 days and we ended up sleep deprived and not feeling welcomed here. Wanted to leave after the first night. Beds didnt feel clean and pillows were hard. Theres also no proper ventilation as windows dont properly open. Where is the safety in the event of a fire. Showers not clean and curtains smell. The breakfast is ok but we had around 50 people one morning in a smallish room with no daylight with only 2 overworked staff trying to keep up. If the hotel takes a big wedding party on why was there no staff to cater for them all? Cups and cutlery slow to come and milk, orange juice and other items run out. The whole place needs a deep clean, refit and change of management. Price is way over what it's worth. You have been warned!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Karl Weller, General Manager at St. George Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We have had some new staff join our team recently and will address any training related issues regarding cleanliness and service with them to ensure we return to our usual high standards. Unfortunately Covid closures have caused delays in our planned room refurbishments but we hope to be able to get them back on course as soon as we are able. We would like to offer our apologies for the negative impact these issues had on your recent stay as we welcome all feedback to help us improve our service levels.
Read more
Colin G wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Booked for one night ( thankfully) my wife and l . Kettle in the room wasn't working , so a cup of tea , (first thing) didn't happen ! Went down to the " breafast dining room " gasping for a cuppa but No cups were available. other guests and l waited 8 minutes for cups .In the meantime the waitress took our order : scrambled egg on toast were told "sorry the Chef won't do scrambled egg ( so we settled for fried ) , attempted to get an orange drink from the dispenser , but no glasses were available . We got served with breakfast some 45 minutes later . NEVER AGAIN !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for choices
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Karl Weller, General Manager at St. George Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We have had some new staff join our team recently and will address any training related issues regarding service with them to ensure we return to our usual high standards. We are sorry to hear that the kettle in your room was not working, if you had spoken to one of our reception team we could have tried to resolve this for you. We would like to offer our apologies for the negative impact these issues had on your recent stay as we welcome all feedback to help us improve our service levels.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st george hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentChatham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about St. George Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to St. George Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hysteria Escape Rooms (0.2 km), Escape Plan LIVE (0.3 km), and The Dead Pigeon (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St. George Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at St. George Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at St. George Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St. George Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Selale Restaurant, Kangaroo Court Coffee House, and Memories Are Made Of This.
Is St. George Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Chatham.
Does St. George Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to St. George Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Six Poor Travellers House (1.1 km), Rochester Cathedral (1.2 km), and Restoration House (1.0 km).
Does St. George Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is St. George Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.