We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Spa Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 581: English reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

I was unsure as to whether to give this a 3 or a 4 star rating but gave them the benefit of the doubt. Room was booked at a few days notice and we were told that it was only available due to a cancellation. Several prices quoted over the phone for bed and breakfast but got the right price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilScam
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry that you didn’t agree with our policy for taking a small deposits for rooms. This procedure has been put in place for various reasons and I am sorry that this implied a trust issue. I am unsure which room you stayed in, however we will be commencing another phase of bedroom...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Husband and I needed a bit of a break to recharge so booked a night away with our one year old. Fantastic dinner and lovely breakfast the next morning. Staff made us feel welcome and were great with our son. Well appointed room, we paid a little extra for a larger room. All in all great value and a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna J
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and were made to feel welcome.

Garden of England
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Starters good - main meal awful ... beef so bad took home to feed our animals. Staff dropped husbands risotto so we all ate our meals whilst my husband waited for ages for his ... which was bland and certainly not worth the wait and could not recommend the risotto to others .... yes they still charged us. Would I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EyeSpyaFly
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your husband’s risotto was dropped from a tray in the kitchen. Occasionally, accidents do happen and by way of apology you were given a complimentary round of drinks and the replacement was brought out approximately 6 minutes later. I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your main courses, and am sorry that you did...

Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as art of a group of colleagues. After arriving there quite late in the evening, we decided it would be best to eat here (we chose the bar menu as the other one was outside our budget). MostSE1 3RU of us ordered the burger - a huge meaty chunk, which was more than satisfying and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew F
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and our Breakfast Chef has been asked to leave the crusts on in future!

Surrey. Uk
Reviewed 15 November 2015

My family all stayed at the Spa Hotel for a weekend recently as my son was getting married in a nearby venue, The Hotel is very elegant with large beautifully decorated & furnished rooms. We had a lovely room overlooking the garden. It was spotlessly clean, with tea/coffee & biscuits in the room. Plenty of drawers, wardrobe space & dressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future, perhaps then you can make full use of our spa and leisure facilities.

Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

The Spa Hotel has really upped its game!! We went there yesterday for an " anniversary" lunch....it was brilliant, could not fault anything. Service, food, ambience, everything was just right!! THANKYOU for a very good experience, topped with a pot of coffee while relaxing in the reception area. We will come again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable anniversary lunch. We are working hard to raise standards across all areas and it’s always good to know when we’ve got it spot on.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I booked myself and my husband into this hotel for a weekend treat for his birthday - the aim being some TLC and pampering in the Spa - I thought given the name of the hotel this would be a good idea. It was hugely disappointing and in my view, considerably overpriced. Although the reception area is pleasant the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry to hear of your disappointment. The Spa is named as such after the Spa Town of Royal Tunbridge Wells, and has had this name since it first opened its doors as an Hotel in 1880. Given the name of the Hotel, some guests do come to us with the preconception...

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

We received a gift of an afternoon tea at the Spa Hotel in Tunbridge Wells at our wedding in May this year and had been looking for a suitable opportunity to enjoy the hotel's facilities and a lovely cream tea that they sell at £21.95 per head. So we booked for 3.30pm, arrived in good time and were welcomed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeithTonbridge
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable tea and your kind comments have been passed onto the team who looked after you on the day. We hope someone buys you another voucher again soon!

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Halloween Charity Ball - room generous donated by The Spa Hotel - lovely evening very well run and organised. It went like clockwork and The Spa did a fantastic job -staff were efficient and friendly. The newly decorated reception is attractive and inviting - we had a lovely room for a drinks reception and through to another equally lovely room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kentcritique
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, always good to know when we've got everything spot on.

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

I took my two daughters aged 16 yrs and 9yrs to afternoon tea here at the end of this half term holiday as a special treat. We were put on our own in the orangery area. It was as hot as a sauna but the waitress having been told this did nothing about it. All doors to the outside were...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Amanda B
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest...if I may clarify with the facts: -The Orangery air conditioning was put on for you and further adjusted by our staff. -The doors in the Orangery are not locked. -The smoked salmon was given to you as requested. -Our tea is freshly made with boiling water, this makes it rather hot.... -I am sorry your champagne was flat,...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Tunbridge Wells
1.4 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
781 reviews
1.0 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
252 reviews
32.3 km away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
100 reviews
1.0 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
197 reviews
4.9 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $132 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
KENT ENGLAND
over a year ago
Bromley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
3 days ago
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most of the rooms have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles markrC9363YA, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlook the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles louises129, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All lovely rooms however one room at the end of the third floor had a pitched ceiling that might be awkward for taller guests.”
 of 5 bubbles H3378YJmarke, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for garden facing”
 of 5 bubbles Whynotsky, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel have views over the extensive grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles JynxTorquilla, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5