We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summer Hill Country House

Save
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (8)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent96%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“truffle”(55 reviews)
“tarn hows”(66 reviews)
“patsy mike”(21 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Summer Hill Country House
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT
Offers from Summer Hill Country House
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
565
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
565
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstruffletarn howspatsy mikehome made cakeshomemade biscuitson arrivallake districttea and cakeattention to detailcomfortable guest loungelittle toucheswonderful hostsbay windowmoment you arrivesurrounding countrysidequeens headwarm welcome
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

From the time we arrived to the morning we left, we where given the best attention, not wanting for anything. Both Patsy and Mike where very knowledgeable of the area and helped us have an even better time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank suefunnell46
Response from SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country HouseResponded 2 days ago

Glad to hear that you had a good visit and that we were able to help you get the best out of your time in the Lakes.

Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We didn't intentionally choose Summer Hill Country House as our Lakes destination but I'm so very glad that we ended up there! My husband and I were looking for somewhere for our anniversary weekend and landed upon the information for Summer Hill - we booked...More

Thank Aletta J
Response from SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country HouseResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your very generous comments. You would be more than welcome to return if you decide to come this way again.I never knew that a 6th Wedding Aniversary is 'Sugar'. Congratulations to you both and best wishes for the future!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful Guest House, fantastic location & lovely hosts; Patsy & Mike!!!! Wonderful to be greeted at this beautiful place by Gracie (dog)! Loved the homemade cakes with tea on arrival... Patsy and Mike were exceptional hosts; a pleasure to chat to and very helpful and...More

Thank Michael B
Response from SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad that you had a great time and that you were able to enjoy the countryside as well as going to your friend's wedding. Thank you for taking the trouble to post this review and for your endorsement...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a friends wedding! Patsy and Mike could not have been more accommodating and are fantastic hosts. The setting was beautiful. Patsy’s home made chocolates and cakes are to die for! Our room was spaciois and clean and had...More

Thank MJMANCHESTERMJ
Response from SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad that your weekend went to plan and that we were able to enhance your visit to the Lake District. We appreciate your complimentary comments and your taking time to review your visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Summer Hill Country House with my wife for four nights in May. On arrival we were greeted by Patsy who made us feel very welcome and plied us with tea and lovely homemade cakes! The room was cosy and the bed...More

Thank Ryan B
Response from SeenBeen, Owner at Summer Hill Country HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your generous compliments. We are happy that you had a lovely stay and that the excellent weather added to your positive experience of this beautiful part of the UK.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Ambleside
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$134 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$134 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Summer Hill Country House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Everything was lovely with the room and the home made choccies where scrummie"
Read review
"We stayed in a superior room (Room 4) but this Country House is in a quiet and peaceful location anyway."
Read review
"A power-shower & heated towel rail would be something to consider if upgrading that room."
Read review
"Lovely view, very comfortable bed, cosy and warm."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing