We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waterhead Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waterhead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,590: English reviews
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a winter 2 days deal with breakfast and dinner on first night booked direct. From manager to housekeeper all very friendly and made time to have a chat, good size room with very large double bed spotless . Lots of different choices for breakfast served piping hot , evening meal couldn't falt only thing would have liked was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Top-oth-Gorses
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Top-oth-Gorses Thank you for a great review of your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Waterhead very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully situated with grounds down to the lake, with a view of the Old man of Coniston from the front - this is a stunning location at any time of year, staff very helpful and make your stay long or short most rewarding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve W Many thanks for a great review of your stay. we hope to welcoem you back to Waterhead very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside en route to our holiday cottage for lunch. I have to say we were not disappointed at all. Very nice hot food with a wide choice of drinks. Fantastic lakeside location and it was a perfect sunny day to have some fun near the beautiful Lake Windermere!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DocVishnu
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DocVishnu Many thanks for a very positive review of your recent visit . Great to read that you enjoyed your lunch and we hope to see you back at Waterehead very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are regular visitors to the Waterhead and have always found every member of staff to be extremely polite, friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is clean and modern with very comfortable beds. On this occasion the breakfast was very disappointing, the full english had been kept warm for some time and every item was dry....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigsis
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bigsis Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Waterhead and I was pleased to read that, overall, this most recent visit proved enjoyable. I will of course share your comments with the team and monitor any further feedback relating to breakfast - most unusual and please accept my apologies for your disappointment. Our bedroom...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived till the time we left everything was wonderful, the staff was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and cosy with a wonderful view of the lake and the food was excellent, I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn L Thank you for such a positive review. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only live 30 miles away and even though we are so close we tend to stay out of the lakes in summer, so we thought March would be a good time for a short stay at the Waterhead Hotel. We were definitely not disappointed! Service, accommodation, staff, views! All Perfect. Food was out of this world (good effort chef)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eric B Many thanks for a great review! I will of course share your kind comments with the team as a whole and Nick (Head Chef ) and Stephen (Restaurant Manager) in particular. We hope to welcome you back to Waterhead in the not too distant future. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was lovely for our two night stay at the Waterhead. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a lovely view of Lake Windermere. We enjoyed a lovely evening meal on our first night, my fillet steak was amazing! The breakfasts offered a great choice and the staff were very attentive to our needs. We left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toftiexxx
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Toftiexxx Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Wild Boar Inn - great to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this hotel because of the location and the fact it's dog friendly...friendly staff thoughtful dog friendly mat with dishes,treats,dog towels and bed,they set a dog friendly table for us at breakfast which was appreciated..we traveled with family with 2 young children who were also made welcome ..down sides typicall Lakeland weather always pack a rain coat ...breakfast had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinaperry99
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tinaperry99 Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay which, I was pleased to read, proved to be enjoyable. Apologies for the slight issue with the temperature of your breakfast - I will of course share your comments with the team regarding this unusual issue. We hope to welcome you back to Waterhead very...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous al a carte restaurant. This sent my taste buds racing with high quality and beautiful combination of tastes. Not cheap but not really expensive when considering the quality. Highly recommended for a special occasion/ treat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B Thank you for a great review of your meal! We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Waterhead very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at this hotel. From arriving to departing the staff were very friendly and go that extra mile which you rarely find these days. An anniversary card in the room. Ice brought to your room daily. A 'turn-down' service for your room in the evening whilst you are having dinner. Replenishing teas/coffees in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gareth S Thank you for a fantastic review and many congratulations once again from all the team here at Waterhead. I will of course share your kind comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

705 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (451)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Other (190)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Classic Double Lake View Room (35)
Viewed
House Double Room (42)
Viewed
Luxury Double Lake View Room (47)
Viewed
Luxury Double Lake View Room with Balcony (47)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,152 reviews
5.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,286 reviews
5.3 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,342 reviews
0.7 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bar & Grill at Waterhead
Bar & Grill at Waterhead
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $250 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterhead Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Waterhead Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our mid priced room 11 was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 779kathyl, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a very relaxing holiday choose this hotel with a lake and mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles row152, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake views are great”
 of 5 bubbles tunhead, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a house room spotless no noise overlooked car park but could see lake”
 of 5 bubbles Top-oth-Gorses, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room that is not facing the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles scwBuryStEds, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5