We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waterhead Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,624 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waterhead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,610: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Waterhead last year, when it came to choosing a place to spend our honeymoon after renewing our vows the Waterhead was our first choice. As on our previous stay we booked a luxury lake view room with fantastic views and all the expected amenities and complimentaries .... again it did not disappoint. We dined each night...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lambrettadoctor
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lambrettadoctor, Many thanks for your wonderful review of your honeymoon stay with us after renewing your vows. I am so pleased that we helped make this a special occasion for you, and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Lindsay Price Deputy General Manager

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed a great 2 night break here with dinner as part of a deal English Lakes were offering. The room was lovely with the fresh coffee and grasmere gingerbread a nice touch. We had a maintenance issue with our room but this was dealt with swiftly. The food at the bar and grill we found to be great value...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pete802014
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete802014, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recetn stay with us. I was glad to read you enjoyed our extensive gin collection and our food offerings at both breakfast and dinner. I was also pleased to read that the maintenance issue you experienced was dealt with quickly. I do hope we can welcome...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We decided on this lovely hotel for our short break 'away from it all' based on the reviews we had seen on here and the fact that we have also had some lovely times at other hotels from the same group, including our honeymoon. We weren't let down from ringing to see if we could have an early check in,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Joanne G
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanne G, Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay with us at Waterhead, I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff. We do hope to welcome you back soon, hopefully in some warmer weather so you can enjoy the...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a nice break here but was disappointed on the night we dined in.The steak was not as superb as previous visits, and the lady on the next table complained about her duck being dry so perhaps it was an "off" night..Also if you have a half a sweet with a coffee be warned they are tiny anyway so one...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jan S
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan S, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I was, however, disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your steak as much as you have on previous visits, and that you found our 'half dessert with hot drink' option too small, as we have found this a very popular choice for our...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here, and was just as good as the first. We stayed in a lake view classic room, and loved the large and extremely comfortable bed and the excellent bathroom. Really appreciate a teapot and the famous Grasmere gingerbread! Staff will bring a mug of fresh milk for tea on request. Nothing is too much trouble,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Herdiebest
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ronnie14 Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read you enjoyed our super king size beds and our room facilities. We are very proud of our staff and I will certainy pass on your kind comments. We do hope to welcome you back for a third stay in the near future....

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our wedding anniversary was spent in this great small hotel. The view from our room was out on to picturesque Waterhead Bay on Windermere. Our room was high ceilinged and spacious and we slept well in a generously proportioned bed. The lounge and bar area were well designed and the food excellent. Our breakfast was taken in the restaurant overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nic W
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nic W, Many thanks for your review of your wedding anniversary stay with us. It is so rewarding to read that you were happy with all aspects of your stay, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Lindsay Price Deputy General Manager

leeds
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is well apponted and fitted out and the room we had was large and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable with quality bed linen The staff are very motivated and friendly. The restaurant is excellent with good service and for the quality of food is good value. The outlook over the lake is lovely. The car park...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank colLeeds
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear colLeeds, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your bedroom, and also our food offering in the Bar & Grill. We hope to see you again in the near future. Lindsay Price Deputy General Manager

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We celebrated my father in-law's 80th Birthday at the hotel with 6 of us for dinner. The meals are superb and certainly world class. Congratulations to the chef on producing such a delicious menu which is well seasoned and smartly presented. The service was also very good. We dined on Trio of Pork, Scallops, Duck which melted in your mouth...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kat P
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katpom, Many thanks for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We were so glad that you and your family enjoyed your experience with us to celebrate your father-in-laws 80th birthday, and that you especially enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant. Lindsay Price Deputy General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good size room with a comfortable bed and a good bathroom with plenty of hot water. Nice bar area with outside terrace overlooking the lake. We had a nice meal with friends in the restaurant. Terrific breakfast with lots of choice and friendly service throughout the hotel.The hotel was good value as it also included a meal in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 1954Elizabeth
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1954Elizabeth, Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us, I was especially pleased how much you enjoyed our breakfast and also the service you received from our staff. Lindsay Price Deputy General Manager

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a birthday weekend with family. Lovely setting extremely comfortable rooms ( birthday card and ballon on bed) and great weather. Ambleside pier opposite for boat trips, Would certainly return and recommend,

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EssexMooley
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EssexMooley, Thank you for taking the time to review your birthday weekend with us. I was so pleased we helped to make this a special occasion, and we do hope we can welcome you all back in the near future. Lindsay Price Deputy General Manager

711 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (457)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Other (194)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Classic Double Lake View Room (35)
Viewed
House Double Room (42)
Viewed
Luxury Double Lake View Room (47)
Viewed
Luxury Double Lake View Room with Balcony (47)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,169 reviews
1.3 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
5.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,299 reviews
0.8 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
544 reviews
5.4 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bar & Grill at Waterhead
The Bar & Grill at Waterhead
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $276 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterhead Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Waterhead Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All beautiful”
sukeStockport, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely a lake view room”
Suestonic, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground Floor overlooking the lake”
448kashmiram, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room overlooking the Lake have the road in between the hotel and Lake. 54/55 overlook car park and lake.”
Teash18, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Classic Lake view room does what it says.”
222kays, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5