We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wateredge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wateredge Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wateredge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 534: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here this weekend for 2 nights.The room had the best view with 3 windows overlooking Lake Windermere.The Staff were very friendly especially the Waitresses, who were all very well organised and looked after you during Evening Meals and Breakfasts.They were kept very busy as the Inn is very popular and is to a high standard,There is a little bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kennedy264
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights in January 2017. Although the weather was not the best or clearest for 2 of the days it did not hide what a fantastic location this is. Price to stay pretty good compared to hotels in area and considering location. Room a good size, clean and bed very comfy. Was just the 'basic' room on back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LJM7771
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Place is normally quite full for lunch, has a great view of the lake, fish and chips are just enough but extremely tasty! Great connection to the cruises that run in the lake. Good selection of ales also!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mario T
Carlisle
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We really enjoyed the views , relaxed atmosphere, and food and room at this hotel It combines everything we look for in a getaway and the staff could not have been friendlier .We enjoyed the food in the evening particularly and breakfast was quite good too .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 220sally
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Superb food for evening meal and breakfast. Fantastic spot right beside the lake. Good range of beers. Modern but still very cosy and welcoming bar and restaurant areas. Spotless and well equipped accommodation. Attentive, friendly and helpful staff - which includes the proprietor. Good value. I cannot fault the place, and definitely plan to return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason G
Durham, England
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I have stayed here several times but as the Inn was flooded in Storm Desmond at the end of 2015 it has been closed for months. I stayed here before Christmas now that it's re-opened, and what a great job they've done with it. The rooms are always comfortable and I was given my favourite single with a lake view...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Clodia94
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the refurbishment of the bar & dining area. So glad you applied for one of our Loyalty Cards as you will receive 10% off future stays and exclusive offers!

staffs
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Ambleside is one of my favourite places on earth and the location of this inn is outstanding We went for a drink with friends, the building and decor is fine, what spoilt it is the miserable service from the bar. I was asked if I wanted ice with my apple juice, I said no but the lady went to put...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jill f
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to accommodate customer preferences & apologise that on this occasion our bar staff were not very friendly. We will speak to them about this incident.

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in for some food and it was excellent. Quality was brilliant and really tasty. Lovely atmosphere and looked great inside. Stunning view of the lake, especially during sunset. Would love to go back and stay some time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jenn C
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food, atmosphere & views.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

It looked a nice place to eat, so we took a chance. The barman was unwelcoming, bordering on rude. The garlic mushrooms wouldn't have been out of place on a bush tucker trial!!! And the curry was slopped on top of watery rice....Yuk! What is annoying is that for just £5 more we could have had a delicious meal at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne H
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry you were disappointed with your meal and we have passed your comments on to our Head Chef.

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Me,my wife and our 3month old German shepherd booked boxing day night here for a treat after a hectic Christmas. From the second we arrived we were blown away by the incredible views and the warm welcome we received. The staff could not do enough for us and our dog. The room was big, clean,up to date and had the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank redhotwhite
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the Wateredge team looked after you so well.

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,586 reviews
0.0 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,140 reviews
0.5 km away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
514 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake House
Lake House
#14 of 106 in Ambleside
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Wateredge Inn

Address: Borrans Rd | Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $180 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wateredge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wateredge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wateredge Hotel Ambleside
Wateredge Inn Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wateredge Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Wateredge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 overlooking lake is superb”
 of 5 bubbles LesleyC820, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have quite narrow stairs up to them although not too steep.”
 of 5 bubbles davidtR8499YN, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book direct with the Inn to find the best rooms available.”
 of 5 bubbles tyersjean93, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“upper garden rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles janicefergus0n, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best view was Room 5”
 of 5 bubbles kennedy264, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5