We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (205)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (16)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good36%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“youth hostel”(65 reviews)
“bunk beds”(25 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from YHA Ambleside
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
Offers from YHA Ambleside
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
240
167
36
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
240
167
36
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyouth hostelself catering kitchenbunk bedslakeside restaurantdrying roomoverlooking the lakecommunal areaslocation is amazingshower and toiletgreat facilitiesgames roomthird floorfamily roomsingle roomfish and chipscar parkshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 468 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

We stayed here with our young children. The location is incredible with beautiful views. The bar area is lovely and clutter free with superb views. Our room was incredibly small for four of us and the carpet heavily stained. We were on the top floor...More

Thank sasi7
Reviewed 2 days ago

Nice Hostel in a pretty old building - beautiful location with vieuws on the lake, with ducklings and swans - very clean sanitairy -cozy cafe (good pizza) -....- and of course very close to my idol Beatrix Potter .:-)

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank leoenmarlies
Reviewed 2 days ago

Excellent hostel with all facilities - clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. Clean and well supplied bathrooms. Options for dining - self catering area, communal dining room and restaurant and bar. Laundry with washing machines and driers plus a drying room.The hostel is right on the lakefront...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank cfma2000
Reviewed 5 days ago

Had a great value stay at the Ambleside YHA. Great location, great value food and drink available, relaxing family friendly atmosphere. Only minor complaint was the temperature of the room, we were lucky enough to get great weather and consequently the room was very warm...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank jenga1976
Response from Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA AmblesideResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for recommending us :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

In fairness to the hostel, sat outside with a cold drink watching the world go by under blue skies, it's hard not to be happy regardless of where you are staying. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and I felt like they were glad...More

Thank Howellsey
Response from Reception Manag... R, Guest Relations Manager at YHA AmblesideResponded 4 days ago

It has been a beautiful six weeks we've had, with not only blue skies but also unusually (for the Lake District) hot temperatures to boot! As you say it does make for amazing weather to sit out and enjoy the view it does however also...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Ambleside
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$38 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$38 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (205)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (16)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
timinitdawit
4 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Reception Manag... R | Property representative |
Hi there, We're a 6 minute drive or a 30 minute walk away from the Ambleside campus.
0
Votes
lestempsduvoyage
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Reception Manag... R | Property representative |
Hi We're well connected by bus between Kendal to Keswick and out to Coniston and the Langdale Valley, however there arent any transport connections to the western lakes. There's loads to do in and around Ambleside though... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I have never stayed at this y h a"
Read review
"Ask for a Lake-side room for a sunrise unlike anything you've seen before."
Read review
"obviously rooms looking out over the lake have an absolutely stunning view."
Read review
"Tell them what you need when you book, ie:- Want good view or Need peace and quiet and they really try hard..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing