We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterwheel Guesthouse

0.1 km from Ambleside centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
3 Bridge Street, Ambleside LA22 9DU, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Start your review of The Waterwheel Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautifully renovated cottage with the best bathrooms in Ambleside! Our room at the top of the house had everything you could need and more, and looked out on the fells and a babbling brook (stock ghyll). Great location near to lovely pubs and restaurants. Excellent hearty breakfasts to set you up for a day of walking and lots of delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautifully decorated, period house in the centre of Ambleside. A stylish, cozy and luxurious place to stay! warm and friendly with great food to top it off. Turn a walking weekend into a luxury break!!! :) thank you for a great weekend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TH1705
Huddersfield, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this beautiful guesthouse for two nights in October 2016 and we had a lovely time. Despite arriving late we had a warm welcome and were shown up to our room on the top floor. Attention to detail was amazing - the room was great, with lots of added extras like the port, kendal mint cake, organic hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronpig
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say... we were greeted with the most wonderful smell only to find the wonderful smell was freshly baked ginger biscuits which were a gift in our room , from then until leaving Paul and James were the perfect hosts... Gorgeous guesthouse. Room was lovely and clean, bed was comfy , the little extras were a lovely touch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michaela J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently spent two nights here and had a great time! Lovely old property, beautiful rooms, great breakfasts! Ideally situated to explore Ambleside and the Lake District, Paul and James couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Leeds
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We enjoyed our 2nd stay of the year at the Waterwheel in the run up to Christmas and it once again did not disappoint. Paul and James provided us with a warm welcome and quickly showed us to our room. The Christmas decorations were on full display and the place felt even more homely than our first visit. The guys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkHull1980
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Had a fabulous three night stay, everything we'd hoped for and more. Comfortable bed, central location but quiet, luxurious bathroom, and unobtrusive but attentive and friendly hosts. Perfect start to the new year, thank you James and Paul. We'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline4Ian
Paul S, Owner at The Waterwheel Guesthouse, responded to this review

Lovely to meet you both and thanks for the wonderful review! Good luck with the renovation work and hopefully we'll see you again soon. Paul & James

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

This little B&B is fantastic! Paul and James are a great couple and very welcoming. We met Paul on arrival and he showed us to our room, and we had a couple of mince pies fresh from the oven waiting for us! The room was lovely and we couldn't have asked for anything more. In the morning we were treated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
Paul S, Owner at The Waterwheel Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and for the lovely review. It was good to meet you both and we hope to see you again in the near future! Paul & James

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Just got back after a brilliant stay at The Waterwheel. James and Paul, the new proprietors have taken all of the good things about The Waterwheel, added their own bit of magic and made it fabulous! Paul does the kind of baking worth visiting for and James is a natural host. We felt very comfortable and relaxed from the moment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
Paul S, Owner at The Waterwheel Guesthouse, responded to this review

It was wonderful to meet you both, and we really appreciate your lovely comments. Hope you enjoy the New York trip! Thanks for the card and sweets, they were a lovely surprise! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Paul & James

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

This is a terrific bed and breakfast. The location is brilliant for Ambleside next to rattle gill cafe which is also a pleasure. Hosts make you feel very welcome indeed and even provided home made mince pies. The rooms are very warm and cosy and to a high standard. At this time of year each has festive touches which just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ace d
Paul S, Owner at The Waterwheel Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. It was great to meet you both! We hope to welcome you back soon. Paul & James

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
510 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#4 of 106 in Ambleside
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Riverside
Riverside
#1 of 106 in Ambleside
1,063 reviews
0.3 km away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#9 of 106 in Ambleside
492 reviews
0.3 km away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#3 of 106 in Ambleside
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Grade II Listed building sits on an ancient cobbled street overlooking Stockghyll stream. All the shops and restaurants of Ambleside are a short stroll. There are just 3 bedrooms, all doubles, each with a Victorian style iron bedstead. Each room has its own bathroom with a bath, under floor heating and heated towel rail. Victorian landscape prints, original slate floors and quality antique furniture all add to the historic and charming atmosphere. A parking permit for the nearby car park is provided.Please note, there is a 2 night minimum stay at weekends and 3 nights minimum on bank holidays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Guesthouse

Address: 3 Bridge Street, Ambleside LA22 9DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $173 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterwheel Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Waterwheel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Guesthouse Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterwheel Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterwheel Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you have mobility challenges, ask for a room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles littleone10, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles BillyBCoDurham, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stockghyll on the middle floor is the better of the two rooms we have stayed (Loughrigg was the other). Fewer stairs and a bigger bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles todgerino, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all perfect”
 of 5 bubbles daisybuttons, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5