We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Coniston Holly How

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Coniston Holly How
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Coniston Holly How
 Click to rate
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Great location, beautiful building, friendly staff. I was part of a large group that had most of the hostel. The food was good, breakfast and dinner. Staff we're great, friendly and helpful. I was in room two and I found it cosy. There was no storage in the room which if we we're sightseeing would have been ok but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Myself and my boyfriend booked a 4 bed dorm so paid for the whole room. It had two bunk beds with a sink in the room. We were happy with the room and the showers which where upstairs were nice clean and had a good shower inside. We paid for breakfast on both days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlie_pigeon
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, at the YHA we take all feedback very seriously. I'm so pleased you liked your room and the hostel facilities. It was my pleasure to be able to provide you with a refund for the breakfast you did not want. Its a shame you didn't tell us you were unhappy about the breakfast!...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this for 4 nights over new year with 25+ friends had a great time, staff where there in the background if required to help and assist, but left us to get on with it. Clean and tidy rooms great to chill out and let the children run wild without any concerns. (And sum adults!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

A group of us stayed here for one night before climbing Coniston Old Man the next day. We had booked evening meal and were very surprised at being given such a sustantial, high quality meal for the price - EXCELLENT value! Rooms were very comfortable (a bit on the hot side) and plenty of bathrooms and hot water. Excellent value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

Northwich
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stopped for 1 night with 2 adults and 3 young children. Food was great, especially breakfast. Within easy walking distance to Coniston village. Friendly staff and well equipped facilities. Would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank apr870
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

Wales
Reviewed 12 October 2016

From making the initial enquiry direct with Holly How the staff were very accommodating and flexible as numerous changes where required. On arrival after a longish wait to book in the staff again very accommodating, the meals were great value and we look forward to returning

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank IdontbeleiveitWales
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit.

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I recommend this YHA location. Myself and my friend wanted somewhere to stay in Coniston to attempt Fells ant "The Old Man" All the staff were so welcoming, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The lounge, dining room, were comfortable, showers and toilets spotlessly clean. No mean feet with guests coming in from a long day...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brunipl
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Great for a budget stay in the Lakes, good food and friendly staff. I was in a room of six which was clean and comfortable. A short walk from central Coniston. If your used to hostel life I recommend this one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimi A
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

Liverpool
Reviewed 2 September 2016

I haven't frequently stayed at YHA for over 30 years and chose to stay here for a quick trip to the Lakes. Weekday prices for YHA members is unbeatable at £10 (£7 for Members). Holly How is half a mile from Coniston center and is well positioned for a number of walks. You stay in a shared room of 8...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. In addition to great value Supper club meals we also do amazing breakfasts @ £5.75. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We camped here for three nights over August Bank Holiday weekend. The hostel is very well situated in quiet countryside, ten minutes walk from Coniston village centre which is amply supplied with good pubs and restaurants. The hostel is very comfortable with large lounge and dining areas and they provide evening meals and breakfasts if you want them. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen P
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated. We took your advise and have two brand new larder fridges in our self-catering kitchen now. Contacting us to discuss your pitch size would be much appreciated. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
10.3 km away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
1.3 km away
YHA Coniston Coppermines
YHA Coniston Coppermines
#2 of 9 in Coniston
70 reviews
7.9 km away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
340 reviews
10.7 km away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#3 of 10 in Windermere
174 reviews
16.8 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 150 year-old Lakeland slate country house, part of the YHA Youth Hostel network. The Coniston mountain range is on the doorstep and Coniston Water is just minutes away on foot. A the end of the day, relax with a local beer in our comfortable lounge before a hearty meal in the bar / restaurant. Donald Campbell's restored powerboat Bluebird is coming home to Coniston in 2012 and the valley is also being used for the filming of Swallows and Amazons children's book. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Coniston Holly How

Address: Far End, Coniston LA21 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Price Range: $57 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Coniston Holly How 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your YHA Coniston Holly How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Coniston Holly How staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Trya different hostel...”
  • Amusing notice in hostel lavatory
  • Huge wigwams dominate the grounds
 of 5 bubbles valuematters, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are ok.”
 of 5 bubbles dayasantk, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“only bunk beds”
 of 5 bubbles beckyt686, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get a private dorm-Value for money”
 of 5 bubbles 34melissaw, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Both dormitory and smaller rooms available”
 of 5 bubbles nar62, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5