We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Lyth Valley Country House

Save
Share
A5074 between Gilpin Bridge/Levens, Kendal LA8 8DB England
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
CheapTickets
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (292)
Dining (38)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#1 of 13 hotels in Kendal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Snuggled beautifully between the majestic limestone outcrops of Scout Scar and Whitbarrow Scar, lying in the rolling, pastoral, damson tree-strewn landscape of the Lyth valley, is our luxuriously refurbished 9 bedroom hotel and restaurant. If you’re looking for a place to eat or drink that’s got that something special, or a place to stay that delivers something extraordinary, then the Lyth Valley is it!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
278Reviews8Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 231
  • 28
  • 7
  • 3
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sian C wrote a review Oct 2021
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed for 3 nights as a short honeymoon break because our original trip was cancelled. Communication from Keith before arrival was much appreciated, with detailed instructions on how to find our room incase we arrived after they'd left (which we did!) No problem finding our room and we were thrilled with the space. The Robin room was like a suite so there was plenty of room for the two of us and it was a perfect base for trips to Kendal, Bowness, Windermere, Ambleside and Hawkshead. We also enjoyed evening meals at nearby pubs each night, all within a 10 minute drive. Breakfast each morning was brilliant and set us up for the day - fruits, yogurts, cereals and also full English options. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
mariabarnes wrote a review Sep 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom984 contributions151 helpful votes
Very pretty location. We had The Fox room which was spotless and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was beautiful with free standing bath. Great breakfast. Added bonus of an honesty bar for use. Very friendly people. Thanks to Phil and the team.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Does not do evening meals. Good pub a few miles away
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lindsay M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Would certainly NOT recommend this place. We had a hen do booked here for 14 people. It was booked months in advance. All activities booked an paid for. To be told 3 weeks before that they have double booked the place on their booking system. Not very apologetic at all and only solution was to send some air b&bs alternatives. Now we are having to rearrange a full hen do as there is no where available at this late a date. Terrible customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyth Valley Info, Owner at Lyth Valley Country House
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Here at the Lyth Valley we would like to apologise for what has happened regarding your booking ,this is entirely down to our booking agent for over booking the property . so sorry for any inconvenience they have caused you . we are in the process of taking on all our bookings direct as our agent has now upset to many people . sorry again Lyth Valley
Read more
Lucy Wilson wrote a review Aug 2021
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom54 contributions29 helpful votes
We were contacted by Sykes holidays 4 days before our stay to let us know it was cancelled. We had checked a couple of weeks earlier if everything was okay, to which it was. So it was a surprise they cancelled. We were given no information as to why it was cancelled. We managed to go somewhere else (not in the Lake District). Very disappointed as it was our honeymoon and we had it booked since late last year. Only good thing was we got our money back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyth Valley Info, Owner at Lyth Valley Country House
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Here at the Lyth Valley we would like to apologise for what has happened regarding your booking ,this is entirely down to our booking agent for over booking the property . so sorry for any inconvenience they have caused you . we are in the process of taking on all our bookings direct as our agent has now upset to many people . sorry again Lyth Valley
Read more
Tracy Kelly wrote a review Aug 2021
United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked 3 weeks ago. Travelled from Scotland. Requested a lovely room with a bath. Booked 3 nights for my birthday. The Lyth Valley Country House B&B answered said “yes and if they could do anything else for us?”When we got there it was on a very busy road. On the window it said Closed for Private Event.We looked around. A man came said sorry, that the people are staying for a week.Who are still in the b&b.He said he had to tell other people that they couldn’t stay also. He said we should contact Keith the manager or Sky that they have taken over from booking.com. We rang both numbers no one answered. Very poor way to treat customers. Would never recommend. In my opinion Not fit for the job, if you let people travel and can’t say before they leave. We wouldn’t never had travelled today if we had have known this.I hope we get a response to our review. I would love to hear what the reason was ?Why our booking was cancelled and why you couldn’t let us know??
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$131 - US$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictKendal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lyth Valley Country House
Which popular attractions are close to Lyth Valley Country House?
Nearby attractions include Michael Coates Clay Shooting (6.6 km), Lake District National Park Guided Walks (7.1 km), and Brant Fell Above the Bustle (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lyth Valley Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lyth Valley Country House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lyth Valley Country House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lyth Valley Country House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thai Kitchen, Pedro's Casa, and Cafe Olive Kendal.
Are there any historical sites close to Lyth Valley Country House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (7.1 km), Levens Hall (5.8 km), and Lakeland Museum (6.8 km).
Does Lyth Valley Country House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Lyth Valley Country House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.