We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riverside Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

965 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 955: English reviews
Start your review of Riverside Hotel
 Click to rate
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

With a friend of mine we decided to stay for a couple of days in a lovely looking hotel by the river Kent. We have extended our stay as the experience was exactly what we needed. Lovely swimming pool, sauna and gym. The room was very spacious, beds comfortable and the service really professional and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enigma2904
preston
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

With a couple of days to go, our weekend away with friends at the Newby Bridge hotel was cancelled by the company and we were offered rooms at the Riverside in Kendal. I have nothing against Kendal, we spend quite a lot of time there but it wasn't my place or venue of choice and I went with more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snigglecleet
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived Friday afternoon. Quick checkin and general information Room is good. Kendall suite deprecate bedroom with ensuite bathroom and separate sitting room Furniture in good order. Lots of storage View of river from windows. Restaurant is clean and staff friendly Bar is cosy and relaxing Prices are average for a hotel Location is excellent for Kendall centre Enjoyable relaxing couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanRawl
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for spending a relaxing weekend with us. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your accommodation with us; it's a great room for views and relaxing! I'm pleased you enjoyed the bar and restaurant and appreciate your mention of our staff. Hope to welcome you back again. Thank you.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had an overnight stay at the riverside hotel. It was perfect. Off street parking, friendly welcoming staff and a lovely room. Only down points, the room was very hot! We had to put the fan on in the night, and the heating wasn't even on. Also the shower leaked a little bit but that's nothing of major concern. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexlou88
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review and stay. I'm delighted you had an enjoyable time and appreciate all of your nice comments. Thanks for the feedback about the room temp and shower as well. Next time you visit, do make sure to bring your swimming costume, and your dog too! Thanks again.

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first stay at the Riverside - really enjoyed it! Excellent location, just a few minutes walk to the town, with good free parking too. Staff on Reception really friendly and welcoming, as were staff in the bar, and at breakfast. We were in Kendal just for one day/evening - we ate in the Tannery Bar, and received a £10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluesboy52
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review and 5 star rating. We're delighted you had such a lovely birthday stay with us and that you enjoyed our location, food and hard working staff! We'll look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night. Lovely hotel. Very welcoming. Room comfortable with everything you'd need and a lovely river view. Very short walk into town and close to Kendal castle, well worth a visit. Evening meal was delicious. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointing farse. Had to ask for cups at the table, tea bags and water for the boiler...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice review and feedback about breakfast. It can get busy when everyone decides to come down at the same time and we are always looking for ways to improve. I am so pleased you had a nice stay though and hope to welcome you back again! Thank you.

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband booked overnight as a birthday treat we arrived very early but that was not a problem we where in our room by 12 noon staff very helpful and very friendly Room had river view very spacious,comfy bed very nice we did have a sandwich which was very good.Good breakfast plenty of choice good service highly recommend this hotel.Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueken62
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for spending your birthday with us. We're delighted you had such a nice stay and cannot thank you enough for your comments about our staff, location and accommodation. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope to welcome you back again.

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night while walking the Dales Way. Room was comfortable and a good location near the train station. Didn't eat as the place wasn't as dog friendly as we had hoped and couldn't take our dog with us into the eating areas. Only told us later we could have had breakfast elsewhere with our dog. A bit disappointing really.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie A
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting. I'm sorry we didn't make it clearer to you that you could have eaten breakfast (or lunch/dinner for that matter) with your dog, in our bar. We appreciate the review and hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future Thank you.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely few days at this hotel. Rooms very nice a good breakfast and a good choice free parking in car park beside the hotel and only about five minutes walk to the town very handy.it was my birthday while we was there when we returned to the room later that day a birthday cake had been put in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmac1961
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for spending your birthday with us and, of course, for posting this lovely review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. Thanks for the 5 star rating and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you.

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked 2 nights in February for a short visit to the lakes. On arrival we were given room 116. A lovely room obviously recently refurbished, although the view of the local exhaust centre wasn't brilliant. Oddly there was a faint knocking sound in the room, which we thought could be the sound of some mechanical equipment outside. Coming back from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweet-experience-uk
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read this review. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and that the faint noise drove you out of your original room, although we were told the noise was every 10 minutes not every 3 to 4 seconds. Having investigated, we cannot hear anything at all so not sure if it was a strange one off...

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Room (21)
Viewed
Suite (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
Twin Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
36.5 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
947 reviews
2.0 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.5 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
442 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: $150 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the new part of the building”
 of 5 bubbles ssbaby, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are opposite the river but the rooms also on the front side of the hotel are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles paulcJ4310PR, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for riverside room. 004 is right on the water”
 of 5 bubbles Gael01, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles 2349Mel, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms next to the bridge are very noisy due to people coming and going from the railway station and passing cars”
 of 5 bubbles TarlCaboto, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5