We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avondale Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Avondale Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at Avondale towards the end of December , it was my second visit thoroughly enjoyed. Pearl and Tony are fantastic hosts made us feel very welcome , food was top quality and tasty .My room was spotlessly clean and bed extremely comfy I slept like a log. Looking forward to visiting Keswick again and staying at Avondale

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Avondale guest house with some friends over the new year holiday weekend This was my first stay at Avondale and I was very impressed The room we stayed in was spotless as was the whole house The breakfast options were very comprehensive but I settled on the breakfast special which was just right for a busy...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddyqaz
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi 'Freedyqaz'. Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Cleanliness is a major point at Avondale Guest House, and this applies to all areas. We aim to make sure our guests are comfortable and content, and try to make their stay memorable for many reasons. Providing a good quality breakfast, sourced...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a second time early in December and certainly wasn't disappointed. Pearl and Tony were both lovely hosts, the food second to none and Avondale a gorgeous little setting for an enjoyable getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn92
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Rosie, thanks once again for this kind review. Creating an environment that brings our guests back is what we strive for, seems we are getting there with you. Hopefully next time you visit we will have some new aspects to Avondale Guest House and Keswick to show you. Kind regards Tony & Pearl

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to stay over the Christmas period with my partner. Everything from the cozy rooms to the friendly reception suits the Lake District perfectly. Thank you do much to Tony and Pearl for looking after us and making sure we had everything we need. See you in the summer!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayley_thomas1986
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Hayley, thank you once again for this lovely review. We try not to get complacement at Avondale Guest House, keeping the standards high is our main goal. If we can impress our guests enough to return then we feel we are doing something right. We hope we will see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Avondale for the second time this year. It's always a calm oasis in the heart of bustling Keswick. As always, the breakfasts were as tasty as could be, and set us up for the long walks between mountains and pubs! We will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paval-Jay
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Paval-Jay, thank you so much for this lovely review. There is something about Keswick that has something to offer everyone, whether you are exploring the fells or taking in what the local area has to offer you will find something to bring you back. Avondale Guest House has tried hard to provide everything we can for our guests, setting...

Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned home from a fantastic 3 night stay at the Avondale Bed & Breakfast. We were greeted by the owners Tony and Pearl who really are the perfect hosts, they make your stay feel like home from home. The rooms are spotlessly clean with those few extras such as fresh milk, bottles of water and chocolates. The breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chapma3
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi 'Chapma3', we were delighted to get this wonderful review today. It is always good news when a guest feels they need to return to Keswick, especially if Avondale Guest House is part of that visit. We love Keswick, the scenery, the pars and restaurants and most importantly the people. Since moving here we have met some wonderful people and...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A faultless stay at an extremely welcoming guesthouse. From the moment we walked in To the moment we left was absolutely perfect, will be staying there again in 2017 without hesitation. The only criticism is that we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the hospitality and the company of tony and pearl.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrenp133
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Darren, thanks so much for this kind review, we were delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. We had the same view about Keswick some years ago and decided to take the plunge and move here, running Avondale Guest House has been one of our best life decisions. We would love to see you again in Keswick and hopefully...

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My Wife and I had previously only visited The Lake District in the summer months. We had earmarked Keswick as a possible venue to spend New Year, as it is a buzzing town with great pubs , restaurants and amenities . We had stayed at Avondale Guest house earlier in the year and so it was the obvious choice for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vince o
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

HI Vince, so glad you came and saw us again. It is amazing how only a few days before NYE Keswick is a sleepy town, then the pace picks up and Keswick welcomes the New Year in with a bang, it can be a magical place to bring in the new year. We are blessed at Avondale Guest House and...

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and i have just returned from an oh too short break staying as guests of Tony and Pearl. My partner had previously stayed at the property so i knew we were on safe ground but i was bowled over by the attentiveness and personal touches afforded to all guests. The breakfast selections were ideal for anyone undertaking some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi David & Trish, that you so much for this amazing review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you say we do enjoy Keswick and all that the Lake District has to offer, there really is something for everyone. We have tried to create an environment at Avondale Guest House that allows our guests to enjoy the...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having decided to book a few days' pre-Christmas getaway in the Lake District, my partner and I opted for this B&B, mostly on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews. As it turned it, we couldn't have chosen better! Tony and Pearl are amazing hosts and went above and beyond to make our holiday special. They offered advice on things to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
AvondaleGH, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Ben, thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We like to convert our guests into friends and do what we can to try and accommodate their needs. Often it is our guests that allow us to provide such great service, we can provide the basics but it is our guests that are most...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#3 of 12 in Keswick
494 reviews
0.4 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#14 of 177 in Keswick
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
304 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
342 reviews
0.3 km away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 177 in Keswick
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Avondale Guest House is a traditional Victorian townhouse located less than 2 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. We have 4 Doubles, 1 Twin and 1 Single room. All rooms are fully refurbished with en-suite facilities. Visit England Breakfast Award 2012,2013 & 2014 and Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012,2013 & 2014. Full English, Scottish or Vegetarian cooked breakfast is included in quoted rates. Special diets catered for. Free Wi-Fi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $157 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avondale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy access to restaurants , shops and pubs”
 of 5 bubbles 440DavidW, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles 657glenicef, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Everything needed is provided don't change anything.”
 of 5 bubbles jomo06, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms good”
 of 5 bubbles Lindyloupond, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Paval-Jay, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay