We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Keswick
 Click to rate
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is unfortunately right beside the river and has clearly been refitted to a good standard following the floods in 2015. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the facilities were clean and tidy no less than I'd expect from YHA these days. I self catered on the night I arrived and the kitchen was well equipped and plenty...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrongsponge
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, wrongsponge! We're pleased that the staff took good care of you during your stay and that the hostel lived up to your high expectations. Also good to hear that you sampled both our self-catering and hostel-catered meal facilities...and even better to hear that you found both options to be...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived not sure what to expect after reading about the building work going on and apart from the noise sometimes had a pleasant 2 night stay although I overdid the walking and found the climb to the room on top floor a struggle. Found the staff pleasant and breakfast and lunch were good value for money and hopefully I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike I
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback Mike; all the staff empathise with you about the climb up to the top floor - it keeps us in good shape though and the views from the third floor out onto Skiddaw and Causey Pike are worth the effort! We're glad you found the breakfast to be of good value - we do believe...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location in the centre of Keswick. It has a brand new self catering kitchen. Friendly staff. The place was kept clean. There is still a lot of building work going on, which is a bit disruptive. There is some building noise during the day. But the builders/decorators etc. seemed friendly and the site manager was asking me what I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachorse
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback following your recent stay with us. We're doing all we can to minimise any disturbance caused by our on-going repairs and refurbishment following Storm Desmond and we do apologise if they negatively impacted on your time here. Still, they should be finished any week now and the hostel is...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It been a long time since I was last in a youth hostel. (Something over 30) Some things have not changed others have. No jobs to do is good. Beds are clean and comfortable bedding supplied all good. I had forgotten just how loud some people can snore. But still had a reasonable nights sleep. Breakfast was one the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Titchynob
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Alex and best of luck on your upcoming Bob Graham Round - we'll be rooting for you! :)

York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here a few times before and it's a good hostel in a good location. However, it was badly damaged in the December 2015 floods, was closed for much of last year and it still really isn't in a functional state. Only the top 2 floors are currently usable. The good news is that it has a Reception,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmc12York
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are saddened to hear that you were disappointed with the condition of the hostel. As you correctly state, we have been undergoing refurbishment following the recent devastating floods and this has turned out to be a huge project. During these works the hostel staff, contractors and YHA have been doing everything they can to...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff and great location in the heart of Keswick. Once the refurbishment is completed i'm sure this will be a great hostel as it looks like a lot of work is being done. In the meantime the reception space is obviously a bit crowded but this is not anyone's fault and i wouldn't let this deter anyone from staying...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate c
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hostel with a great backdrop of Skiddaw, right by the river too. Love how I can run straight out the door and be on top of Latrigg in 30 mins. It's very peacefully located yet only a couple of minutes walk from a lively town centre with lots of choice. The hostel staff are extremely personable and knowledgeable -...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay was ok, facilities are clean and it is in a good location. This hostel will be great when it is up and running, but it is currently a construction site. We were there for mountain biking and needed somewhere to store our bikes, however this facility is currently unavailable even though it is detailed on their website. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davoss155
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's nice to hear that you found our cleanliness and location to be of a good standard. We are indeed currently undergoing some refurbishment work following the devastating effects of Storm Desmond in 2015. These are scheduled to be complete in March and we're doing everything to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Really lovely staff and the rooms are nice and clean, I was happy to see the bathroom and toilets was very clean and well stocked. They are doing very well even though their whole bottom floor was flooded last year and they are now cleaning up and renovating, really good position can easily walk into the village and next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meggy285
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Such kind words! Thank you Meggy, we're pleased to hear our room was to your liking and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent town centre position. Keswick is notorious for it's lack of free-parking but the spot you've mentioned is a good one; it's a good idea to chat to our crafty local receptionists if you're...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Only a 1 night stop over for a photography workshop in the Lakes....never stayed in a YHA before and was pleasantly surprised! Although work is still being undertaken following the floods, the room was clean, warm and a gave a good nights sleep, the shower was powerful and a good morning wake up and I was impressed by the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiebb
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words Ruthie, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay here at YHA Keswick. Works are progressing nicely and should be finished any day now - the hostel is looking great! We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
5.0 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
7.4 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
167 reviews
5.6 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
549 reviews
12.4 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
187 reviews
22.6 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $32 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always had a good experience at YHA Keswick. Been on numerous occasions.”
 of 5 bubbles jasontonymorris, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for top floor over looking the River Greta”
 of 5 bubbles joy211, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a drink on the balcony overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles DGY-Eaglescliffe, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to a B&B instead!”
 of 5 bubbles valuematters, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to share, get a separate room, the extra price is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles R610TIstevenm, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5