We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Having been members for years, we hardly used the hostels because In Those days they didn't accept children. What a great holiday for families now. Even though we had no kids with us this time we had a great stay. Central, offering good value rooms, evening food, and wine! Breakfast was disappointing, 5.99 but a few grapefruit segments and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walker3467
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

It’s great to hear that you feel YHA offers a great holiday for families with good value rooms and evening meals. I’m sorry to hear that you felt breakfast was disappointing, we always ask that you let us know of any problems at the time to give us a chance to offer a solution. Our breakfast costs £5.52 for adults...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Stayed here with my brother for one night after walking "The Cumbria way"..I had reservations on booking this town centre hostel but could not obtain a guest house for one night only at weekend. The situation is adjacent to Fitz Park, town centre area. The river Greta flows by it's side. The book in was easy enough, the six bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valuematters
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at YHA Keswick. As you mentioned we are a town hostel which means we accommodate both walkers and people who are here to spend time in the town of Keswick. The front door is locked from 11.30pm to 7am and accessible only by using a door code which we...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Cracking location,5 mins into the centre of Ksewick. Just what the YHA is about, Clean and tidy and as normal great value for money and friendly staff. Will stay again without a doubt. If you wanta posh hotel or B&B then go and book one but for a vlaue stop its a cracking place.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TomHill77
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of your stay at YHA Keswick. Hopefully it won’t be long until we see you again! YHA Keswick

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Nice central location, by the river. Staff were helpful and friendly. Place, bedding etc is clean. Showers were good (though too few). Unfortunately, hugely let down by the following: Was in a south-facing room, hit by the sun all afternoon (though only 15 degrees outside). The room was no bigger than ten feet by ten feet, but contained three pairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plumjam15
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. I’m glad to hear your liked our central location, helpful staff and good showers. I’m sorry to hear you found the room to be stuffy. The reason the windows have a limited opening is a health and safety one. All of our bed rooms are on the first floor...

sheffield
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a mountain biking weekend! Being a hostel, we expected bunk beds and shared facilities! But they were clean and tidy! The breakfast was brilliant for the price, perfect start to the day as we went to Grizedale afterwards! The only thing that let's it down is the car parking! trying to park...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank myke12
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear our breakfast kept you going while biking around Grizedale. Unfortunately as you’ve mentioned we don’t have any onsite parking. There is road side parking availible around Keswick however due to recent road works this has been a little squeezed. At reception we are always more...

Reviewed 26 September 2015

This hostel is awesome, the staff are great, the rooms are warm and cosy, the self-catering kitchen is spotless, and the restaurant is brilliant. The hostel is right next to the river and has a balcony that extends over it, what a relaxing place, it was like a home from home. There were six beds in the room I shared,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven M
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. We love it when guests say they found it to be a home away from home! Sorry you couldn't stay longer, there are some great deals to be had on beds over the winter months so we hope to see you back at YHA Keswick soon. YHA Keswick Team

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Stayed for one night in a 4 person room (there was 3 of us) & it has all the facilities we needed - shared shower & loo but they were clean & there was plenty of them. The whole place is clean with plenty of friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ladymcg
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. Hopefully we’ll see you here again in the not to distant future! YHA Keswick Team

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Stayed in Keswick yha for the bargain price of £15 per person on a weekday night in September. From the moment we arrived I couldn't fault it. Ample facilities both in the self catering kitchen and toilet/shower facilities. A very small reading room and a decent size common room with a balcony above the river which you can sit out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jacqueline S
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving such a fabulous review of your time at YHA Keswick. We’re glad you had a chance to experience the evening meals we serve, even if it was a bit tricky to keep your eyes open after climbing Skiddaw! We hope you’ll be back to stay again soon. YHA Keswick Team

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Cheap in comparison to other B&B or hotels near by, yet except the dormitory part you get a 5+ stars treatment. Great English Breakfast at 5 pounds, 3 course dinner only 9 pounds (and worth every penny!). The staff is helpful and lovely, ready to help and share his advices. Felt like home away from home for 2 nights in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mazniv
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. We’re very pleased to hear that you felt we were a home away from home. We hope you’ll be back to visit us again soon. YHA Keswick Team

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

First time I have every stayed in a YHA, so was a bit worried but I was really surprised. The reception was friendly, quick and they organised our bikes (C2C) to be locked up securely. We really wished we had booked the evening meal but a quick walk into town meant it was easy to pick up fish and chips,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrselphillips
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. It’s always nice to hear people’s experiences when they try YHA for the first time. We hope to see you at YHA Keswick again soon, maybe stay for an evening meal with us next time? YHA Keswick Team

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
496 reviews
0.3 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
165 reviews
23.2 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
326 reviews
9.4 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $33 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always had a good experience at YHA Keswick. Been on numerous occasions.”
 of 5 bubbles jasontonymorris, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for top floor over looking the River Greta”
 of 5 bubbles joy211, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a drink on the balcony overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles DGY-Eaglescliffe, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to a B&B instead!”
 of 5 bubbles valuematters, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to share, get a separate room, the extra price is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles R610TIstevenm, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay