We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandon Guest House

12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sandon Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
The Wirral, UK
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We have recently returned from a two night stay at Sandon Guest House. There was nothing to fault about this lovely little guesthouse. Close to Keswick town, although no parking you can park on single yellow lines from 4pm - 10am. We had no difficulty in finding a space close by. Margaret & Steve work hard to keep standards up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilsonjenny
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you are welcome anytime.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We had a really enjoyable weekend at Keswick. Lovely B+B in the town of Keswick but set on a quiet street so away from any noise. Clean and comfortable rooms with little luxuries such as bath robes and Egyptian cotton towels. Really comfortable bed, nicely decorated room, really warm and cosy. Tray available in the room for mucky boots. Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 330angie
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, hope to see you the next time in Keswick.

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights over the May Bank holiday weekend. Steve was a very welcoming person who was a very friendly chap. The accommodation was very nice and our room was decorated lovely. The bed was massive and very comfortable and the room temperature was warm, hairdryer, tray for mucky walking boots and dressing gowns were provided along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed yourselves, hope to see you next time.

Peak District - Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We spent three nights here at the end of Easter week. We quickly realised we had made a great choice. Sandon Guest House combines a warm welcome with high quality accommodation. Our room on the top floor was perfect for us. Great care had been taken to keep the decor fresh whilst retaining the features of this lovely house. I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddie5900
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you are very welcome anytime.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. Steve and Margaret were very welcoming and professional hosts who were very helpful and efficient. The accommodation was of a very high standard - very tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable and warm, and the hosts seem to have thought of everything that you might need in your room - hairdryer, tray...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanbanan3
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we do try to make everyone welcome and go home happy. See you next time.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Really high standard of finish throughout this B&B. Our double room was very comfortable and had space for soft luggage and walking boots storage, free Wi-Fi and en-suite shower room that had the most luxurious towels. Breakfasts were excellent with a fantastic range of fresh fruit along with great cooked breakfasts. Our hosts, Steve and Margaret included some very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Hope to see you the next time you are in Keswick.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Hope you read this Steve and Margaret! I tried to leave a review on Booking.com but can only write on in response to their e-mail invitation which I have not yet received. My room was very pleasant and very clean with a nice little en-suite shower room. Very helpful and pleasant hosts and in a great spot for the short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V9076LCchris
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you ,you are most welcome. See you next time.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Better than average Keswick B&B. Welcoming and knowledgeable hosts who do all they can to make one comfortable. Great breakfast with lots of choice including fresh fruit - fresh raspberries and even persimmon! I stayed in a single - bathroom a little cramped but exactly what I expect from a building that has been remodelled to cater for the modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharpedgehatter
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review,we do try to please.see you next time

Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Smart and very clean. Friendly helpful and efficient owners. In a quiet street very close to town centre. My single room had a private bathroom across the landing. A nice touch was that a washable bathrobe was provided. Good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Leslie B,we are really pleased you enjoyed yourself at Sandon,hope to see you the next time you visit Keswick.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Very nice, clean B&B in Keswick. However, we had a room in the roof which was very small and the bathroom was tiny with a shower cubicle, however functional. The breakfast was good with many choices. Hosts very welcoming. The price was more than other B&B's in the area and for this reason I probably wouldn't return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helga766
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review,we are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay with us,we do not have any rooms in the roof and the ensuite is larger than most, the tariff is the going rate for the area.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 km away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#98 of 175 in Keswick
66 reviews
0.1 km away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#93 of 175 in Keswick
67 reviews
0.0 km away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bluestones Guest House
Bluestones Guest House
#102 of 175 in Keswick
48 reviews
0.1 km away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#101 of 175 in Keswick
84 reviews
0.1 km away
Lindisfarne House
Lindisfarne House
#150 of 175 in Keswick
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sandon is a 4 star silver and breakfast award Victorian Lakeland Stone Guesthouse with 5 en suite rooms,The rooms are flexible so they can be double,superking,Twin,and single,or we can do single occupancy for a larger room.We are about 10 minutes from Lake Derwentwater and minutes from the popular walks,we also have storage for ten bicycles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandon Guest House

Address: 13 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $165 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandon Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandon Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had back room top floor very quiet.”
Susand0nny, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is a massive King Size Bed”
Becky-0052, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Quiet on top floor.”
watwoman, 23 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Top floor was great”
Euclid54, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Room 2 was great for us.”
sdob86, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates