We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (22)


Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
72Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
38Attractionswithin 0.5 km
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 176
  • 208
  • 89
  • 49
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I saw the previous reviews re noise but came with an open mind. First impressions were the hotel/bar was lovely. Clean, comfortable and friendly staff at the reception desk. our room was great, bed very comfortable and the bathroom very large compared to what you get in most
Read more
As Gourmet Society Card holders we used the Kings Arms every evening for our meal on our recent stay in the area - they were offering us 50% off all food - we have previously stayed here for a three day break and it was the service we received then that drew us back - great menu
Read more
Wonderful rooms very clean,comfortable and warm. The breakfast was freshly cooked and all local products. Meals were excellent with a good variety. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recomend it highly.
Read more
This could have been a 5 Star rating but for the location of our room. The room was fine, clean and comfortable with plenty of storage space and a nice shower room. The room, on the first floor overlooked a passage way which houses the premises of a sports bar beneath our room
Read more
We stayed here on a Sunday night as I had a business meeting just outside Keswick in Monday. We drove over on Sunday and parked up at the extensive pay & display car par at the rear of the hotel. The first thing we noticed was a sign on the door confirming the ‘restaurant was
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementThe Kings Arms Hotel
Newly refurbished bedrooms
Photo provided by managementThe Kings Arms Hotel
Bedroom at the Kings Arms
We had bed and breakfast and the hotel does do food so I’m sure you could be accommodated. It is extremely dog friendly as are many of the bars, restaurants and cafes in Keswick. Highly recommended for dog lovers!
0 votes
Hi there, Check-in is at the reception. You will find it on your left as you walk through the entrance doors. Have a great visit. Kind regards, Dani
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Guy H Thank you for your message and I'm sorry to hear that you have not received any confirmation to date. In answer to your question we do not require a pre-order for Christmas Day lunch, if you would like to contact us direct on 017687 72083 and we can look into your missing confirmation letter. Thanks Leah
0 votes
Hi Lynne, We offer a discounted parking pass for the public car park directly behind the hotel. This can be obtained at reception when you check in. Unfortunately we don't have any private car parking. Thanks Dani
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Rob Thank you for contacting us through TripAdvisor with the above question. When staying with us on dinner, bed & breakfast you have a £20pp dinner allowance, which can be selected from our menu. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind Regards Leah
0 votes
"Ask for a front room away from noisey alley"
"Request a room that has temperature control and away from nightclub!"
"I'm not sure there is a good room"
"rooms at the back are quieter"
"No lift but graduated staircases, not too steep."
US$101 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictKeswick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing