We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Head Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 509: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Head Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We arrived very late and were greeted by the manager , nothing seemed too much trouble to him , room was very comfortable and had lots of character , the bar was lovely as was the four real ales , breakfast was lovely, no complaints at all and we will definitely be back .. one thing missing.. pork scratchings at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmyGlaister
London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were driving past the Kings Head and, on the off chance, popped in for lunch. What a stroke of luck. I had one of the finest (and largest) steak and kidney puddings I've ever had. Proper suet, lots of both steak and kidney, moist and totally delicious. My wife had a burger which was more than acceptable. The chips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivoh
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this fantastic review! You have made some fine meal choices, the Steak and Kidney pudding is a work of art and we're glad to hear you agree. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff too, we appreciate your feedback. We hope you've had a great time in the area and we look forward...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited on Friday 17th March when we called in for a meal. The service was excellent and the quality of the food was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. It was a very inclusive hotel which accepted dog walkers and hikers. A number of very contented dogs keeping dry and providing entertainment for other guests. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Karen, You are very welcome. Thank you for this lovely review and your kind comments on our food, service and atmosphere. Muddy boots and dogs are always welcome at our Inn! We look forward to seeing you again in the future :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We paid £15 each for a lamb "shank" which was two very (hilariously) small cubes of lamb served with very dry potatoes and veg. Although the burgers our friends ordered seemed like good portions, I do not think there is any excuse for charging so much for so very little at that standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brock1981
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi brock1981, We don't have Lamb Shanks on our menu, we do however have Lamb Rump, which is much smaller (and more expensive) than Lamb Shank. I am assuming you confused the two, and I'm sorry if you didn't feel our menu makes it clear enough. I'm glad you thought the burgers were looking great - they taste just as...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel with great location for hiking, specially to hike Helvellyn peak, as we did. Decoration is fantastic, loved it. The room was the number 2 and was big enough for the two of us. The road was a bit noisy but sleeping with ear plugs we had no issues, but if we came back, would be to a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia A
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Alicia, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm so sorry to hear we've run out of some ingredients during your stay, I really hope it didn't affect your visit too much! Our Inn is perfect for walking the Helvellyn range and it's great to hear you made most of it! I'm surprised to read your comments about...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked last minute for a very reasonable price. What a great pub to stay at with our dog after a long days walking. We (and the dog) were made very welcome. Rooms are average but the price reflected this so no complaints. Decent pub grub and loads of room to eat/drink. Staff all very friendly. The valley that the pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Rob! Muddy boots and dogs are always welcome at our Inn :) It's great to read your comments and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch here and wish we hadn't! The chips were so greasy I just could not eat them. Friends had steak and kidney puddings and they could not cut through the base, may have been over-microwaved! Only redeeming feature was the beefburgers, they were very tasty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awayfromhome2017
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hi awayfromhome2017, We don't microwave our lovely Steak and Kidney puddings, that would be a crime! I'm glad to hear we have redeemed ourselves by the means of our delicious burgers, but we simply can't agree that our chips are greasy. They are proper hand-cut chips, cooked to order. I appreciate personal tastes differ and we can't cater for all,...

Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely cosy atmosphere. This old coaching inn has oodles of charm and character. Helpful and friendly staff. Food was wholesome and tasty. All in all a very pleasant and enjoyable three night stay. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, atmosphere and home cooked food at our Inn! We hope the rest of your stay in the area was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've been here several times before and reviewed previously but our most recent visit was definitely improved so only fair to highlight that. We come here with a group each year around March/ April time and have just done the same. On this occasion the staff were absolutely great; friendly, accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suestubbs1
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Sue, It means a lot to get a review from a regular guest, especially as I know that you've raised some issues regarding your stay in the past. Your comments are much appreciated and I am really happy to hear you enjoyed the revised menu. I hope the rest of your stay in the Lakes was...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice old hotel , the meals were nice the drinks were good and was just what was needed after a long walk . The bedrooms were old but very pleasant A lot better than some reviews on here make out it to be. I'd rather sleep there than a travel lodge . Had a brilliant nights sleep . Staff we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James W
Alicja Z, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us James, We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Inn, thank you for your kind comments on our team, food and atmosphere. We hope the rest of your time in the Lakes was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
167 reviews
7.7 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
423 reviews
14.3 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.4 km away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
271 reviews
7.4 km away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#34 of 177 in Keswick
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $119 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have no idea about this as a hotel, I just had lunch there”
 of 5 bubbles Ivoh, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Room six which was relatively quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles juliaK9027MA, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 11 it has a noisy fire door next to its doorway”
 of 5 bubbles quinny09, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask the lovely waitress for orange if you need marmalade...she brought marmite !”
 of 5 bubbles lizziejane119, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“as far as I could see all rooms were on the same floor so not an issue”
 of 5 bubbles 92philn, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5