We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Head Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 498: English reviews
Berkeley, Ca
Reviewed 1 April 2016

The Kings Head has a small team of staff who do their jobs well in a very challenging outpost. On arrival, the allocated room was adequate in size, but there was slight smell of dog which thankfully dissipated during the day. (dog friendly hotels should try and restrict rooms they allocate: and as an asthmatic I would have complained if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdwardoCalipso
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review EdwardoCalipso, Good to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us (and watching people trying to drive on a closed road :) ). I just wanted to clarify the point you've made on us not 'being able to check the room' - I think what we meant was that we can't be 100% sure the...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The views from the hotel were lovely and the setting is amazing. Although when we first got there, we had to wait in a queue to check in (about 10minutes) then finally, the male member of staff came to check us in. Felt sorry for him as he seemed to be rushed off his feet. (Next to no other members...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophieleigh1996
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sophie, I'm glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! Apologies for the wait during the check in and the mix up with your rooms, it was a human error and I hope it didn't disrupt your stay with us too much.

Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

This is a stunning location and nice hotel. However, the staff (mainly the female waitress) were quite rude. The manager is clearly trying his best to train them, but her attitude was really very dismissive. I was brought a teapot with no tea in it and quietly asked the male waiter if I could have some tea...there was no issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Alison, I'm really surprised to read your review, we simply never get any negative feedback on our great team, quite the opposite! I will certainly speak with the person in question to clarify this. Nevertheless, I hope you have enjoyed your time in the area and I'm very sorry if this small incident disrupted your stay with us.

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Staying at the Lodge in the Vale, a sister establishment, we booked here for a meal. Unfortunately one of the meals was poor, a medium well steak that was charred on the outside and very pink in the middle. The other meals weren't outstanding considering their cost. Cumberland sausage and mash with baby sweetcorn at something like £13+? (and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bleakers
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to hear your meals weren't as tasty as they should be, that's very disappointing! I will share this review with our kitchen staff. While I appreciate our prices are not the lowest, we do strive to provide out guests with a great Cumbrian dining experience and nothing short of it!...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Stayed here in April very quaint and historic hotel, the rooms reflect its age, feels like you are a 17th Century traveller, well nearly, it snowed while we were there and the scenery was stunning, not too far from nearby Keswick and Grasmere in both direction, and the nearby lake a a pleasant walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ERIC B
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Eric, I'm very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us - King's Head is a place full of character and old world charm, so I'm not surprised you felt like you're travelling in time! I hope the rest of your stay in the Lakes was just as enjoyable.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and although the hotel has been affected by the road closure following the flooding last December we had a very good stay here. We were blessed with very good weather too. The staff were very good and friendly and this is a lovely Inn in a great location. Breakfast was very good too. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris and Cath P
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Chris and Cath, I'm really pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, the location really is stunning! Thank you for your kind comments on our team and food. I'm sorry to hear your room wasn't quite as expected - we try to ensure that no dog smell lingers and it's a little...

Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Been to The Kings Head a few times after my last review, I'm sad to say the last few time's we have stopped we have noticed a lack of customer service from the staff, at the time we thought they must be having a off day. We stayed again on Friday 18/03/16 and in our opinion it's got worse. Waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2016

The Kings Head Hotel was ideally located for our two night stay as we were there to climb Helvellyn. We were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff, our room was bright and clean with lovely views over the fields. Our room had a four poster bed and roll top bath, free wifi, kettle and t.v. so everything we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine m
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Elaine, Thank you very much for your review, I'm so glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us! King's Head is such a perfect place to start your walk up Helvellyn, and when you're back, there's nothing better than a hearty meal in front of a roaring fire - it sounds like you've made the most of it!...

Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Beautiful spot very near Thirlmere. Devastating blow to their business with the road being closed just past the hotel following the flooding at the end of last year so they really do need visitors. Quirky old coaching inn full of character. Floors uneven and walls not straight due to the age of the building. Roaring fire in the small lounge....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suestubbs1
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sue, Thank you for your review, I'm really glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. What a shame to hear about the food choices though! I can certainly relate to how you feel and I will speak to the Head Chef to see what other vegetarian courses we can include on our menu. Nevertheless, I hope you...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay. The staff were all very polite and helpful. The rooms were small and cosy and had everything you would need and the beds were very comfy. Only issue we had was signal which can't be helped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
Derek S, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review Rebecca! I'm really glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and your room. We hope to see you again soon!

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
7.7 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
420 reviews
0.4 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
166 reviews
7.6 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
265 reviews
7.3 km away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#66 of 177 in Keswick
101 reviews
7.4 km away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#34 of 177 in Keswick
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the foot of Helvellyn, near the shores of Lake Thirlmere The 16th Century Kings Head Hotel enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of The Lake District National Park. The Kings Head offers two unique dining experiences - with Fine dining in the award winning St Johns Restaurant or Traditional Bar Dining, a contemporary bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms are traditionally furnished with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $87 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Room six which was relatively quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles juliaK9027MA, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 11 it has a noisy fire door next to its doorway”
 of 5 bubbles quinny09, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask the lovely waitress for orange if you need marmalade...she brought marmite !”
 of 5 bubbles lizziejane119, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“as far as I could see all rooms were on the same floor so not an issue”
 of 5 bubbles 92philn, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just relax and enjoy.”
 of 5 bubbles Dianeandgordon, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5