We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shemara Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
17/07/2017 18/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Shemara Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of Shemara Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at Shemara. I stayed in a single room, bed was comfortable and bathroom very clean with a powerful hot shower. Breakfast was really nice and has lots of variety with veggie options. Location is really central and the owners gave advice as to which stops to get off at etc. The family are really welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nishma8
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This very central b&b only had 7 rooms and we understand gets booked up very quickly Rooms are on the small side but this did not matter as only sleeping/showering My only criticism was shower not really powerful The place was immaculately clean and the welcome very warm and friendly One of the owners is from Thailand and they serve...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Foodieholic77
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 4th time at the Shemara and won't be our last. We stayed in Room 4 which is very quiet at the back of the building, with spectacular views. As always Fon and Richard were the perfect hosts, the room was spotless, the food fantastic and the overall service was amazing. Great location in the centre of Keswick,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westfaith
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

we stayed at the Shemara for two nights during the Words by the Water festival, and thought it was very good. Although our particular room was small, it had everything you could wish for provided. The bed was very comfortable, and there were individual lights, important for bed time readers! Breakfasts were very good, freshly cooked and with excellent toast....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ancientcouple
Edinburgh
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

This is a special spot for myself and my family. We have been regular visitors to Shemara for the last few years and it is our usual place to stay when visiting Keswick. The location in the heart of Keswick is perfect and we are always greeted warmly when we arrive. One of the highlights for us is the food....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scot174
Reviewed 15 November 2016

My partner and I stayed at shemara for a couple of nights. It was Great welcoming from Richard and Sayfon. Lovely clean bedroom and many choices of breakfast. We had a chance to try Thai food here we both loved it. Absolutely come back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Dogs running around whilst eating breakfast, showers too hot, place was dirty, not worth the money they charge, and the Thai food was horrific. The worst Thai food ever. DO NOT STAY OR EAT HERE. Much better places all over, I would never stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kolton K
richatki, Owner at Shemara Guest House, responded to this review

Hmmm, not a place you have ever stayed at. Will keep this short and sweet, we do not accept dogs at the Guest House nor do we own a dog so how on earth could dogs be 'running around whilst having breakfast' ? The showers have mixer dials so the temperature is controlled by you ( but of coarse you...

Reviewed 28 October 2016

Stayed here two nights and were disappointed that this B&B had three proper parking places which were full even though we arrived quite early. Paying car park nearby. Room was busy with furniture. Breakfast good and staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here this evening. The Thai food was excellent - very fresh and tasty. Very hearty portions too. Warm and welcoming service. Will definitely go back when we are next in Keswick. Note they are not licensed though so you have to bring your own beer/wine or you can buy soft drinks there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgw911c4
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent hosts spotlessly clean rooms beautifully furnished with a lovely on - suite fantastic breakfast and exellent Thai food in the evening too.fantastic location only 150 yards to the town centre will definitely be coming back during late summer next year we had a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil C

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
17/07/2017 18/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 km away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
324 reviews
0.0 km away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#20 of 175 in Keswick
140 reviews
0.5 km away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#62 of 175 in Keswick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
347 reviews
0.1 km away
Lincoln Guest House
Lincoln Guest House
#123 of 175 in Keswick
67 reviews
0.3 km away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#99 of 175 in Keswick
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central location, quiet 4 star guest house. All rooms are ensuite with mountain views and are furnished to a high standard. Wide choice of breakfast menu. In the evenings the dining room is open for Sayfons authentic Thai cooking. Some private parking available.A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shemara Guest House

Address: 27 Bank Street, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $144 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shemara Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shemara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shemara Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 with the best view in Keswick”
C2165VPpaulk, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 4, very spacious overlooking the mountain range to the rear of the hotel.”
ianwW1457MK, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Any they are all lovely,”
janej343, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ring Shemara direct to discuss your needs, the room above the dining room has a stunning view of the central and northwestern fells.”
Lizzymcbusy, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view”
403keithj, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates