We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarence House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarence House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarence House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 344: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

This is my third stay at Clarence House and once again it did not disappoint! Richard and Karen really are lovely, helpful hosts. They are relaxed and fun and you feel instantly at ease when you walk through the front door. Richard has superb knowledge of the fells and is always on hand to advise on the best walks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear Nicola Thank you so much for coming to stay with us again and for taking the trouble to post this review about your third visit to Clarence House. It's a real pleasure for us to have such active and friendly guests staying and we're just happy to do what we can to help you make the most of your...

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

This is my second stay at Clarence House and I was not disappointed. Karen and Richard are impeccable hosts with incredibly high standards and a personal touch that leaves you feeling both welcomed and valued. The bedrooms are well presented and the small touches, like the luxury biscuits, make this place just that bit more special. Richard is full of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NealeP40
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear Neale Thank you very much for this fantastic review - you've made us blush! It was a genuine pleasure to welcome you and your friends back to Clarence House for your annual Lake District walking trip and we were thrilled to see you all so obviously enjoying your few days here. We can't guarantee that the weather will be...

Leeds
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here again for the Keswick Mountain Festival; it was great to see Richard and Karen again, they are the perfect hosts. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious as always. Beware that if you order one of the substantial bowls porridge you may not need to eat again for days! Thank you again to Richard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear Richard It was lovely to welcome you both back to Clarence House yet again. The Mountain Festival is a great weekend here in Keswick and we were mightily impressed with your strong run in the 50K trail race. We hope you are now fully recovered from your exertions. Thank you for this wonderful review and we hope to see...

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We stayed for three nights in Clarence House in April 2016 and were delighted with the quality, service and location. Many other reviewers comment on Richard and Karen's wonderful welcome and I'd echo that. The rooms were spotless with excellent facilities and beds. I must mention the breaksfast too - I sampled the full range, including the Full English, porridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SEG1968
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear SEG1968 We are very grateful to you for this really positive review and pleased that all aspects of your stay at Clarence House were to your liking. We love the Lake District and Keswick especially and we take enormous pride in helping our guests enjoy their time here. It would be lovely to welcome you back. Many thanks and...

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on the 13th April for 2 nights as we fancied a little getaway for my birthday doing a bit of walking and going out for good food in the evenings. Karen and Richard were really lovely and welcoming and were fantastic hosts! The room (we had one at the front with the bay window) was really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StaceyMike1
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear Stacey & Mike Thank you so much for this all these kind words. We work hard to try and offer our guests the best quality in everything we do so it is hugely rewarding for us to receive fantastic feedback like this. It's also very enjoyable for us to have such happy and friendly guests such as yourselves and...

Reviewed 10 May 2016

We had a fantastic time. The guest house was fabulous. We had the bay window room which was lovely and bright and very clean with some lovely touches to the room. Very friendly hosts with lots of ideas what to do and places to recommend and made you feel very welcome. The breakfast was fantastic, we really enjoyed it. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear Sandra It's a real thrill for us to receive such great feedback like this and we would like to thank you very much for going to the trouble to post this wonderful review. Thank you also for being such friendly and considerate guests. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to Clarence House again. Best Wishes Karen &...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

My fiancée and I just spent 6 nights at Clarence House for a walking break to Keswick. Richard and Karen are absolutely fantastic hosts. We were really made to feel so welcome and at home throughout our trip. We really appreciated the time taken by Richard and Karen to ask us about our plans for the day and the offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManxDaveThmas
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear Dave & Zoe Very many thanks to you both for this fantastic and comprehensive review. It was a genuine pleasure having you as our guests and we're really pleased that your 6 night stay with us was such an enjoyable experience for you. You had quite a mixed bag of weather (as can often happen in The Lakes) but...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This B&B is in a great location to enjoy Keswick and the local area and it's run by a wonderful couple, Karen & Richard. Karen's breakfasts were a fantastic start to the day and are of a high quality. The fresh fruit salad was also a nice surprise. Richard was really helpful with advice on where to eat and drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbeast
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear Barbara & Ian Thank you for all these kind words, we really appreciate it. We try our best to set visitors up for the day with a quality breakfast with plenty of choices and we're more than happy to assist guests with recommendations and directions if they ask. We do hope you'll come and stay with us again and...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Absolutely could not fault this place. The hosts were wonderful and attentive not only during the stay but in the months leading up to it, and were easily contactable whenever I needed advice or had questions about places to eat etc. Richard also lent us a map when we climbed (or rather attempted to climb) skiddaw. The room was fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Many thanks for this fantastic review. It gives us enormous satisfaction when we read that guests have really enjoyed their stay with us here at Clarence House. We are always very happy to assist guests before or during their stay, with advice or information if they request it. We know from our own travels how valuable local knowledge can be!...

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We stayed for two nights at this lovely guesthouse. The property is in great location within a very short walk to the town and the lakeside, we parked (free of charge) directly outside the property - no issues with finding a space. The accommodation is lovely and clean, the bed was really comfortable, the breakfast options were varied and delicious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart h
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review

Dear Stuart Thank you for choosing Clarence House for your Lake District break and for posting this fantastic review - it's very kind of you. We would never claim to be perfect but we do try our very best to make all our guests feel welcome and offer a high standard of comfort and service. We love this area and...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.7 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
566 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
307 reviews
1.1 km away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#7 of 177 in Keswick
565 reviews
0.2 km away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#10 of 177 in Keswick
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Karen and Richard welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake.All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attarctive dining room, complete with victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarence House

Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $140 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarence House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room at back very quiet but all rooms quiet”
 of 5 bubbles brianlZ6397XD, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 has the king size bed. It does cost a little more but it's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles RayT685, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I understand that lower floors have better WiFi connection. My phone struggled a little on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles SEG1968, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“We booked direct on their own website. It's cheaper than Booking.com”
 of 5 bubbles 282pennyw, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“As with most places in Keswick parking can be a real challenge so get there early if you can!”
 of 5 bubbles 698andrewr, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5