We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for North Lakes Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 944: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015

this hotel was reccomended to me by a friend. Myself and my partner were looking for a relaxing quality hotel close to the Lake District this hotel seemed to fit the bill having a spa attached. the hotel was quite comfortable but the rooms were nothing special. whilst staying here i chose to have some treatments in the spa. it...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Georgina L
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you left disappointed, and do hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back and live up to your friend's recommendation. Kind regards

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Just had Christmas dinner at the hotel and was really impressed. Food was excellent and the staff/service was exceptional. Fully recommend it for next year and going to book it again ourselves. well worth the money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Super feedback, thank you. Christmas Day is a lovely day to be in the hotel, and I'm glad you felt the same. Kind regards

Cumbria
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We stayed here on a Saturday evening for a Xmas party. Living relatively locally we had driven by the hotel many times, the location near the M6 didn't really appeal, however it was a lovely surprise on entering. Real log fires and cosy sofas and bar. The rooms were not huge but everything was good quality, with a large comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cumbriamc
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

And we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Kind regards

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Travelling south on M6 called at the North Lakes Hotel (been several times) for lunch the week end before Christmas. We had a superb fresh sandwiches, staff friendly and efficient and a lovely Christmas atmosphere… however the price of a glass of wine was way over the top, medium £7.95 per glass, not to mention a simple latte cost £4.30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry that you felt our prices did not represent value for money. We regularly conduct market research and believe that we are competitively priced for similar 4* Hotels locally. I sincerely hope that this does not deter you from returning in the future. Kind regards

Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

Attended a staff night out here recently. 1920 theme! Food was good and the room clean. Where these guys excelled was service. The staff were fantastic with nothing to much trouble. There was a young lad Adam who couldn't have done enough for myself and the staff members. I would stay again, drink less so I could enjoy the spa!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bobby G
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your Christmas Party, they certainly seemed to go with a swing. Thank you also for the great comments about the team, much appreciated. Kind regards

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

Another great stay at the North Lakes Hotel & Spa. It was my second time there and this time I had more time to enjoy the facilities. Decided to book a standard room this time (333) rather than a suite on the ground floor. Although it was quite a lot smaller, it was nice enough and more than suitable for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bailey858
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Pego Spain
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

We booked 2 adjacent rooms. One superior (221) and a standard (223) they couldn't have been more different! The superior room was newly refurbished and of excellent quality. Great bed, bathroom and quality fittings. Lovely robes and slippers and good tea and coffee facilities with fresh milk in the fridge (cost £130) By extreme contrast, the standard room next door...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TonyFarmer
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You are correct in that some of our bedstock has been recently refurbished, the remainder of which is due for imminent attention. Hopefully you'll notice a marked difference once complete. Kind regards

Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Been to this hotel on 2 occasions. Took my partner here for a weekend away and it is in an ideal location from the lakes surrounded by local pubs for some proper grub and drinks! The food in the restaurant is lovely and the cocktails are excellent! The second time a friend coincidently had a wedding here and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the super feedback, much appreciated. Sorry you don't like the colour - it's a Marmite thing! Kind regards

Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Overall enjoyed our stay, but it is expensive I think for what you get. 2 nights Friday&Saturday. Room cost £285 superior double room. Nice room well furnished, really nice bathroom. The were 3 shelves in bathroom and there was a lot of dust on them ( looked like not dusted/cleaned for a while)you could see it clearly as the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilkssgt
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for taking the time to comment. We'd like to think that we represent great value for money in the 4* market in the lakes, and am sorry if you disagree. I very much hope to welcome you back before too very long. Kind regards

Fife Scotland
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Had a meeting room booked and lunch meeting . The big problem was trying to find a parking space. The entrance with the log fire very inviting. Staff were friendly. It just seemed too busy to get a efficient service. Things just took time to get things done. The meeting room we had looked tired , doors looked shabby ....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Gmoncur
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our meeting facilities. I would be very interested to learn a little more, and if you would care to give me a call at some point, perhaps I might restore a little faith. Kind regards

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
39.3 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
289 reviews
32.5 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
34.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,339 reviews
28.2 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
34.4 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Price Range: $202 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, Lake District, Cumbria
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Penrith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from North Lakes Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from North Lakes Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Amazing family rooms for up to 5 people”
 of 5 bubbles ianwR2850ZD, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“with it's location I can't imagine any room having a spectacular view, but don't be put off”
 of 5 bubbles joycebJ632UX, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The suite is brilliant value with complimentary minibar”
 of 5 bubbles cazla2015, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Arrive early and use facilities on the day of check in and utilise late checkout.”
 of 5 bubbles edenamy, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If a couple, choose a family room for more space (worth the extra cost)”
 of 5 bubbles 922alimary, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5