We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
08/11/2017 09/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Orrest Cottage

    17 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    08/11/201709/11/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    US$86
    US$71
    SAVE US$15
    US$86
    US$71
    SAVE US$15
    US$86
    US$71
    SAVE US$15
    Traveller (96)
    Room & Suite (60)
    Dining (19)
    Overview
    • Excellent82%
    • Very good12%
    • Average3%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “b b” (92 reviews)
    “loft suite” (4 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    8 Nov9 Nov
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$71
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$71
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$71
      View Deal
    View all 6 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (238)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 233 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Me and my partner visited Orrest Cottage again for a long weekend at the end of September and had a lovely stay. You are made to feel so welcome! The breakfast is delicious! I had the bacon and maple syrup waffles both mornings, my fella...More

    Thank Holly R
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Stayed here for one night when attending a wedding and would definitely stay again. Comfy rooms, not huge but more than enough for a short stay. Bathroom and bedroom were very clean. The breakfast in the morning really was superb (although a little early!) and...More

    Thank emilylouise2
    Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

    This is a lovely old world BnB! We had two nights here and it was lovely. The owner, David, does not live on site which may be problematic for some people but we were fine with that. It was clean and from memory, a little...More

    Thank EllieandSherlock
    Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

    Normal service is resumed ! Great place to stay, Great location and the host, David, cannot do enough for you . If you come to Windermere, this is the place to stay , you will not be disappointed 👍👍👍👍👍

    Thank John C
    Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

    This B&B is situated close to town and public transport. Fantastic breakfast cooked by Dave the proprietor. We stayed on the top floor which overlooked a pretty busy road so if peace and quiet was hoped for... that was gone. The room is small with...More

    Thank Linda B
    Response from David H, Owner at Orrest CottageResponded 17 July 2017

    Hi Linda, we are really sorry you feel this way and your stay did not live up to your expectations, we're also sorry you have used multiple online platforms to express your views, we wish you had just spoken to us during your booking. Giving...More

    The Burn How Garden House Hotel
    583 reviews
    #3 of 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
     
    Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
    1,139 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
    588 reviews
    #14 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
    1,198 reviews
    #5 of 20 hotels in Windermere
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$82 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Orrest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Windermere
    • Also Known As
    • Orrest Cottage Windermere, Lake District
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (96)
    Room & Suite (60)
    Dining (19)
    Hotel & Grounds (55)
    Bathroom (5)
    Nearby
    Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
    1,139 reviews
    .32 km away
     
    The Burn How Garden House Hotel
    583 reviews
    2.39 km away
     
    The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
    588 reviews
    .82 km away
     
    Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
    1,198 reviews
    .20 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Crafty Baa
    398 reviews
    .16 km away
    Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe
    387 reviews
    .26 km away
    Sugar&Spice Cafe and Bistro
    193 reviews
    .24 km away
    El Porton
    416 reviews
    .08 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Orrest Head
    1,215 reviews
    .62 km away
    High Street
    150 reviews
    .10 km away
    Lakeland Pony Trek
    76 reviews
    1.25 km away
    Windermere Information
    10 reviews
    .13 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Kelly T
    10 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from John C | Reviewed this property |
    Hi, we've just stayed there again and I don't think it's dog friendly as we have never seen any while we've been there ,
    0
    Votes
    egremont
    26 March 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Alan G | Reviewed this property |
    Yes
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "We had room 3. Top floor all to ourselves."
    Read review
    "If you are tall, probably better in standard rooms as loft suite won't be for you!"
    Read review
    "Don't take the room on the top floor if you are tall!"
    Read review
    "No 3 suffers from slanting ceiling, so if tall a problem"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing