We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Windermere Manor Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Windermere Manor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 517: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was so busy when we booked it for late November, all they had left was a superior room in the cottage 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The room was lovely but unfortunately the shower in room 33 left something to be desired. It was impossible to get more than lukewarm water out of it even though the... More 

Helpful?
Thank helen w
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and I have noted the points you raised and they will be looked into. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only fair I have was that the hotel is very hard to find in the dark as it's not lit up very well. Food excellent plenty of choice, friendly helpful staff. The swimming was great, changing rooms tiny. We stayed in a cottage that was lovely. Overall has a really relaxing time. Would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank donnachip5
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and your points. Unfortunately we are limited in the amount of lighting for signage due to us being in the National Park, as you will remember there is no street lighting either, but it something we will keep in mind. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff and good location overlooking the lake. We enjoyed using the swimming pool. The room was very clean and the bed was large and very comfortable. There was tasty breakfast and good service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank akostorrizou
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and it will be my pleasure to share this with the team We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never been to a vision hotel before and I was pleasantly surprised. All the staff and management were all lovely and very helpful. The Guide Dogs were well catered for with dog beds and a spending pen, and even a grooming room. If you are sight impaired this hotel is well worth a visit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 357gillp
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. I will certainly share your kind comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent destinations, helpful staff and volunteers. Very guide dog friendly and superb for visually impaired guests. Excursions well planned and supported by the group. Meals well prepared with a buffet style but could be served by staff to the visually impaired guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kathb199
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Windermere Manor and I am pleased that you had a good holiday. We look forward to welcoming back on another Theme Break. More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a great four day break with the RNIB East Midlands Group. From start to finish the service was brilliant, everyone of the staff knows exactly how to help visitors with sight impairments in an unobtrusive way. Our room was a spacious very comfortable double with views over the grounds. I really enjoyed being able to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sandramW8299BI
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay with us. I am delighted that you had an good stay and it will be my pleasure to share your views and thoughts with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Manor. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel, the Stoffa polite and helpful. The food didn't turn out too well on the first night but improved dramatically as the week went on. My main gripe is that the Wi-Fi is not very good in the bedrooms in fact it is nonexistent. I really hope that they consult this particular issue out as a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank saj79UK
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that overall you had a nice stay. Ref wi-fi, it is available in all public areas and in some rooms, but unfortunately without heavy investment in the system, we cannot guarantee in the bedrooms, although it is something we will be looking into in the future. I am unsure as to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and i came to Windermere for a three day theme break. A little disappointed about the activities as we thought we would be doing a bit more walking then we actually did but other all the theme weeks are a good attraction. Food and drink where adverage although nothing too special.

Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were disappointed. As far as I can tell, the Theme Break you were on was not a walking break and was the Castles & Lakes break which is more about the history etc rather than walking. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied and I sincerely hope you will... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just spent the weekend in this hotel and we were very disappointed as soon as we arrived. The place is truly run down. Definitely not a 4* rating. We requested a spacious room as travelling with a toddler only to find ourselves in a small room with hardly any space for our baby to move. The room had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Crucita1
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for the time you have taken to review the hotel. Can I say from the outstart that we are not a 4 star hotel and do not market ourselves as such. We are a 3 star hotel and we also make it clear on all sites that we cater for dogs, and guide dogs especially, so I... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a lovely overnight stay here with my partner... Nice hotel.. nice clean spacious rooms.. good choice at breakfast .. wether u want a full English or a light bite.. guide dogs allowed .. friendly staff.. ample parking and only a 15 minute walk from the center ... decent price too.. I will definitely stop here again..

Helpful?
Thank Bud T
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back. More 

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.3 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
213 reviews
2.1 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,294 reviews
1.7 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#8 of 20 in Windermere
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windermere Manor Hotel

Address: Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $111 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Windermere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Manor Hotel Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windermere Manor Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Windermere Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms were lovely and clean. Everything you need is there, the hospitality tray is always well stocked and if you did run out you just have to ask. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels if needed”
 of 5 bubbles 357gillp, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can be a bit expensive”
 of 5 bubbles lucydB4718MN, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Annexe rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles TonyCav343, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms are only accessible via a lot of steps - no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Barlickwal, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“wouldn't advise paying for an upgraded not worth it. having said that goodness knows what the others are like”
 of 5 bubbles sandra1949, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay