We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 626: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Rum Doodle B&B and in short, this is one I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a B&B in the lake district. Upon arrival the owners were really lovely... They offered us hot drinks with a slice of cake and gave us advice on nice restaurants and places to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed The Summit attic suite at Rum Doodle. Room 6 "Shute" is a much larger bedroom, but many of our guests love the additional little living room in The Summit. Hope to see you back again soon!

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was mine and my husband's 2nd stay here as a birthday treat. We will definitely be returning soon.Emma and Gregor are wonderful owners nothing is to much trouble for them. When you arrive you receive a lovely welcome and are shown around your room. We stayed in room 6 again which is fab. Homemade cake and tea of coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 41Karen003
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much - it was a delight to have you back with us at Rum Doodle!

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We got a great deal for this B&B on livingsocial.co.uk and weren't disappointed! Prosecco, chocolates, rose petals on the bed and two tickets for the Lake Windermere cruise all included in the deal price. We stayed in Room 4, Prone, which was nice and cosy (if not a little smaller than what the photos suggest) but it still had room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona20118
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay - please come back and see us in the summer! Best wishes, from all at Rum Doodle.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lovely welcome. Owners were away but the lady (forgotten name) was brilliant. Very pleasant manner and really made our stay. Room small but very clean four poster bed (a bit too large for room) but we both had a fantastic nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious and very filling. We did the living social deal and cannot complain about value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PFM66A2A
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we're delighted you appreciated our great Winter deal here at Rum Doodle. We've now powered into summertime - so roll on lots of sunny days in the beautiful Lake District!

Essex
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March and we were both very pleased. Emma and Greg couldn't have been more helpful, including making space in their shed for our bikes. They offered very good advice on restaurants and places to visit in the local area. Our room was cosy and we loved the way it was decorated. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanners79
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much - we're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle.

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This b&b was very nice so can't complain but a little disappointed with a few small things. We paid full price so didn't get the good deals that people rave about in the previous reviews. On arrival no cream tea as some received. The room (summit) was very nice, tely didn't work on the first night but my hubby spent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan C
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Rum Doodle. We've been on holiday for a week, so it sounds like some things may have been missed during your stay. Our superior rooms (£119 p/n) do include dressing-gowns and homemade biscuits. Every guest is offered homemade cake with tea and coffee on arrival. Our Winter deals include a complimentary boat trip and...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to book this hotel as our honeymoon trip to Windermere and we were not disappointed! Unique touches to the room, excellent tea maker, the welcome afternoon tea and cake , the really delicious breakfast and the bed was amazing .....so comfortable! The location was great - halfway between Bowness and Windermere and all within walking distance and in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ray y
Gregor S, Manager at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

...thanks for that, glad you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us at Rum Doodle! Blimey, that must have been a loud nose!

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were going to stay at the Rum Doodle for two nights but found we had an extra night available, so we phoned at 11:00 am and spoke to the manager Beth. She went out of her way to fit us in for the extra night and we arrived at 12:30 pm to a very warm welcome and tea &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

... delighted everything went well for you while we were away on hols. We think Beth is an excellent host and we're delighted she made your stay at Rum Doodle such a good one!

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just left Rum Doodle and Emma and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Lovely room with all the extras as promised. What made the stay different was the attention to detail with the decor and breakfast was outstanding on both mornings. Well delivered and so much choice. Perfect location for our stay and we'll be back. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissFlugel1982
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

...we think Rum Doodle is rather beautiful too - thank you!

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Rum Doodle b&b. We have have the most fantastic time. We got a deal through living social but chose to upgrade our room. We were not disappointed. We stayed in room number 9 "the Summit", which as you can guess, was at the very top of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thesnowdrops
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

..and we'd be delighted to have you back at Rum Doodle! Thanks so much!

305 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,287 reviews
6.0 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
657 reviews
0.2 km away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
282 reviews
0.1 km away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#7 of 111 in Windermere
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $150 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a bigger/better bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles edinburgh103, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 9.....Deep roll edge bath.....centre taps.......Brilliant....!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 783nickp, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 1”
 of 5 bubbles MarkSlack, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Down stairs are easy access, quiet and comfortable and good for an early start (next to the breakfast room)”
 of 5 bubbles 49RussellC, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 - Shute good for romantic breaks, 4 poster bed and individual breakfasts served to room. Plenty of space and views into the town.”
 of 5 bubbles SOUTHWEST12, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5