We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,048 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holbeck Ghyll Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,037: English reviews
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We are in the lakes on a family holiday with a visitor from America, we wanted to take her out for a typical Afternoon Tea, following research on the internet we choose to visit here. We were not disappointed the food was delicious, the service excellent and in beautiful surroundings. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon and I'm sure the cakes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle849
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review I am so pleased you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea. I hope that you were able to take it on our Terrace as the view from there is world class and I am sure your American friend would have loved it. Our Afternoon Tea is as popular as now guests get even more cakes, Jenny...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

We had an overnight stay, travelling with our dog from a touring holiday of Scotland and stayed in some amazing accommodation for the previous 10 nights. Our treat was the Holbeck Ghyll for our last night - being the most expensive - we expected it to be the best. The receptionist accompanied us to the "Ghyllside Cottage" to introduce us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynn T
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

I was so sorry to read that we had not reached your expectations with regards to the decor of Ghyllside Cottage. We are undergoing a gradual refurbishment and I will look at bringing forward the plans to update that cottage. Again, I am sorry that my team didn't look after you in the way that we are trained to do....

Hale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Holbeck Ghyll was quite good but not as good as we had hoped! We stayed overnight in the Langdale Room and found the accommodation spacious but slightly tired. The rooms are undoubtedly cosy but fail to meet the standards to which the place would appear to aspire. We love an English country style at our hotels but at Holbeck Ghyll,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George S
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay however, I was so disappointed that you found the food unexciting. Both myself and my kitchen team send our apologies but do hope that you will give us a second chance to show you that we can shine. Yours sincerely Andrew

Runcorn
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Myself and my new wife booked two nights in the Miss Potter suite to celebrate our Honeymoon after coming directly from the Lakeside Hotel -Newby Bridge where we got married and celebrated our wedding. This is our third visit to the magnificent Holbeck Ghyll hotel.. (Please see my previous reviews) As I said we booked the Miss Potter suite, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoystonBling
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Dear Roy and Debbie First of all congratulation on your marriage and I hope you are enjoying married life? Thank you for taking the time out to write this fantastic review I am so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and everything sounded perfect. I hope you will visit us again very soon if not then for your many,...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 12 June 2015

My wife and I visited for the first time and even though we came from far away, Hong Kong, we will definately be back. The whole experience was excellent from the moment we checked in and we were made to feel special, whatever our wishes were. Dinner in the evening was a culinary experience with attention to detail that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank koert t
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

WOW this is a great award!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this brilliant review. I am so very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the UK and especially Holbeck Ghyll. I have passed on your comments to all my team as I think it is important to show them that people appreciate their hard work....

Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Absolutely stunning hotel, Absolute superb dining service (and we love our food/wine!) Cannot recommend this country hotel highly enough. Pricey, but well worth the treat. We stayed in the miss potter suite for my boyfriends birthday. Beautiful room with hot tub on balcony. Excellent stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnne G
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

WOW what a fantastic review ‘ THANK YOU’ that is all I can say apart from come back to us soon.

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I booked Hollbeck Gill for our first anniversary and we loved our stay. This boutique hotel is located on a beautiful hill with stunning views. The staff were very welcoming and catered for our needs. Breakfast here was a good start to the day, again we had a warm welcome and helped ourselves to a wide variety breads, fruits etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSINGHB
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and us all. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience with us here at Holbeck Ghyll, and that our Vegetarian menus were also enjoyed by your wife. A lot of people choose off the vegetarian menus even if they are meat eaters as they choices are fantastic. Jenny on pastry is...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Always stay here on our way to Scotland. The hotel, formaly an aristocrats country house, retains its elegance and exclusivity while making guests feel very welcomed. The views are exceptional from above lake Windermere across the hotel gardens and onward to the fells. The chef's food is amazing with incomparable taste, intense flavour and beautiful presentation. Don't miss out on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Petal0903
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased your returned visit to us was as good as always. I have printed your review off and placed it on the staff notice board as I like to make sure their hard work does not go UN noticed. I am so glad you enjoyed our local Damson Gin, I have to...

Essen, Germany
Reviewed 4 June 2015

After all a rather disappointing experience. Some of the weak Points are surely due to the fact that it was a busy bank Holiday Weekend. Positive: - very friendly staff! - food was delicious - main building has a great atmosphere - views over the lake are spectacular - pre-dinner Drinks and Snacks have been delicious - the sweet Riesling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jürgen F
Halifax
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We recently had one overnight stay at Holbeck Ghyll and what a wonderful stay it was. From the moment we arrived we were straight into relaxation mode. The staff were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and we had an outside terrace which overlooked lake Windermere. Our evening meal was an absolute delight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenmags
Andrew M, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review

Well reading this fantastic review you have posted please come back soon. I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry it was only for 1 night, you must come for longer next time. If you have not done already then please sign up to our news letter (located on our website) as there will be some...

641 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (243)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Buttermere Suite (31)
Viewed
Eltermere Suite (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
Luxury Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
7.4 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,199 reviews
4.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
6.8 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,404 reviews
0.7 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $228 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holbeck Ghyll Country House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bardon Mill, null, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Woking, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holbeck Ghyll Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Peter rabbit lodge with a four poster bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Happydays22061963, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are lovely bedrooms, suites in the main property and also studio suites for couples in the grounds with amazing views. ”
 of 5 bubbles MelvynI474, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 'Langdale' room was excellent and had access to large terrace with wonderful views.”
 of 5 bubbles lindatonyriley, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles KenJ195, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had a luxury room in an elevated position with fantastic views !”
 of 5 bubbles davecA6583OL, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay