We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake District Backpackers Lodge

Save
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good36%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible10%
19 Aug 2017
“Very good overall”
2 days ago
“Great accommodation ”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Kitchenette
Free Parking
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
13
22
13
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
13
22
13
11
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Cheap and welcoming accommodation with a great atmosphere homely and warm at reasonable pricing we’ll worth a visit. Clean room and comfortable beds reasonable furnishings not bad at all. I loved the stay

Thank mitchian
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Let's be charitable. Central Windermere for under 20 quid on a summer weekend is a huge bargain. So expectations of a salubrious pad would be wrong. That said I'd personally pay quite a lot to avoid this place. The lunatic in the next bed wasn't...More

Thank mike w w
Response from Paul F, Owner at Lake District Backpackers LodgeResponded 3 weeks ago

HI Mike I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have CCTV through out the public areas in the hostel to ensure customer safety and we are at the end of the phone 24/7. As for the cleanliness, you may...More

Reviewed 19 August 2017

I don't understand what all these bad reviews are about as I had no issues. I understand that this hostel doesn't have staff present, however I understood the check in process as I was sent a very detailed email before I arrived. Security could be...More

Thank mrnothersan
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The one positive thing I have from this hostel is that when I called to move my booking a day back because of train delays and being unable to get there they only charged me the fee for the booking 2 pounds. There is very...More

Thank 600Kat21
Response from Paul F, Owner at Lake District Backpackers LodgeResponded 3 weeks ago

Hfi I apologise for this mix up and you shoudn't have felt responsible for letting the other guy in or not, I was simply trying to help him out with a bed. The bed rate is the same for a 4 bed or a 6...More

Reviewed 5 April 2017

Where to start - the room was tiny, everything (kitchen, bathroom, hallways, rooms) was dirty...the bathroom upstairs had the same hair in the bottom of it for the two nights I was there, toilet paper kept running out. The reception was unmanned, never met the...More

Thank Boobubs
View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Windermere, United Kingdom
See all 20 hotels in WindermereSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Details
Price range
US$47 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$47 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hillyear
16 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ChilliAndGarlic | Reviewed this property |
Hi, there's no parking at the premises.(small yard for hostel owner, adjacent offices and neighbours access only. Yes-neighbour does come out hahah, but I've backed in for 5 minutes to load/unload without probs) However... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ensure to ask if the room and bed are clean and ready when booking"
Read review
"I stayed in room 5, meant to be for 3, but tiny for 2."
Read review
"Get a room that a person hasn't already checked into! Not next to the downstairs bathroom though as the..."
Read review
"Good value for your stay"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing