We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crompton House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crompton House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crompton House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for two nights in May. The house itself is in a really good location and in easy driving and walking distance to Bowness and Windermere. Our room was a decent size and the bed was comfy although you only get one pillow each. The wifi did not work in our room and we couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thegreenys
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ,I don't quite see why you marked us as a three ! You booked our budget room,we do have bigger and better rooms ,but the word budget obviously is there for a reason,if you had wanted extra pillows all you had to do was ask . The WiFi is free and is available to all...

Copmanhurst
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Friendly place to stay in the heart of the Lakes District. Start the day with a deliously home cooked breakfast then off exploring. Come home to a warm room with a lovely big bed for a great nights sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peg B
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this review

Thank you ,it was our pleasure in having you stay .

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner made a booking late Saturday after looking on late rooms .com for one night we found crompton b&b and it looked ok for £90.00 b&b also in the photos it showed a large swimming pool something to look forward to upon arrival we waited in reception for ten minutes wondering where the pool could be we...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank michael l
crompton, Manager at Crompton House, responded to this review

Firstly i will apologise that there is a picture of a pool on the late rooms site that you made your reservation through ,we have asked them to remove it on several occasions .however there is no mention of us having a pool for you to use or indeed any leisure facilities .We have previously had facilities for guests to...

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in the kingsize room. The bed is enormous and the room comfortable. The owners are very friendly and gave helpful advice throughout our stay. The guest house is well located midway between Windermere and Bowness. Excellent breakfast with a nice round in witty banter throughout.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gordon P
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this review

It is great to meet such a nice couple, great chat in the mornings. You make the job much easier with your friendly nature. Hope to see you again soon.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Stayed overnight as a special treat for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. Lovely, spotlessly clean and comfy room, lovely view from window when sitting in the chairs. Friendly and helpful owners, great breakfast. Thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Xtine J
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this review

Than you for your lovely review .

Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

What a super weekend and great weather. Very nice stay with pleasant people, they made you feel very at home. our room was worth every penny we paid. Nice position for the start of a walk or just a rummage in to town. Can't wait for next time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DAVID C
crompton, Owner at Crompton House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a positive feedback. You are the very type of guest we love having, arrive use the house as your home, great chat in the mornings at breakfast, settle your bill and go home happy. Hope to see you again soon.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at this very clean and tidy guest house. The full English breakfast was very appetising , well presented and set us up for the day ahead. The car parking was hit and miss as there are only 4 spaces in front of the property , but 4 or 5 just across the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Harry H
crompton, Manager at Crompton House, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts. Susan gets loads of praise for her breakfasts and we are so pleased you enjoyed it as well as your stay. Parking is sometimes a problem on site but thankfully there is plenty free parking in the area as i am sure you would agree.

Barrow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed with partner start of month really kind owners and really nice hospitality lovley rooms and decor would recommend to anyone staying in Windermere to not overlook this place worth every penny! Will be returning when next up lakes absolutely spot on.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JakeStretch
crompton, Manager at Crompton House, responded to this review

Thank you for you kinds words. We do try and please everyone that come to stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, you were a pleasure to natter to at breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Crompton House for 2 days over New Year eve and New Year day, rooms were clean and breakfast was lovely, after breakfast were chatting with owners and other guest for ages. Location is excellent as its placed between Windermere and Bowness.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adriana M
crompton, Manager at Crompton House, responded to this review

Thanks for you positive feedback. What can i say other than it was a pleasure to have such a lovely couple stay with us, we looked forwards to our chats in the morning after breakfast. Please book again soon. Take care

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2014

What a lovely welcome. My partner booked the four poster bed room. It was clean and so welcoming. There was only 3 parking places outside the home but space over the road. Would make things easier if knew this first but was no problem. Breakfast was lovely. Lots to choose from and nothing was to much trouble only had to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mandy P

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 km away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#5 of 111 in Windermere
383 reviews
0.7 km away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#66 of 111 in Windermere
133 reviews
0.6 km away
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ellerthwaite Lodge
#46 of 111 in Windermere
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#64 of 111 in Windermere
100 reviews
0.5 km away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#28 of 111 in Windermere
146 reviews
0.8 km away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#38 of 111 in Windermere
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Crompton House

Address: Crompton House Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $109 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crompton House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Crompton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crompton House Hotel Windermere
Crompton House Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crompton House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Crompton House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice and quiet. Basic room but clean and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles smithhay85, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only saw our own room”
 of 5 bubbles bspragg, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a Groupon”
 of 5 bubbles NoakesRyan, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a room on the front, but there was no disturbance from traffic or passers-by. Very tranquil.”
 of 5 bubbles austinatroberts, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Our room was No 2,but we have stayed in No4,both excellent”
 of 5 bubbles moles_35, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5