We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Storrs Gate House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Storrs Gate House
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Storrs Gate House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 381: English reviews
uk
Reviewed 8 August 2016

A lovely place to stay where we felt we were very well looked after! The room was great and a beautiful breakfast was a brilliant start to the day! Fabulous hosts who did everything to make your stay very very comfortable! We hope to return when we can!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg45
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast so much, and were happy with your room, and also that you were so comfortable here with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future!

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Our room was lovely as was the hospitality, thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast too. Bathroom was the bonus, we've stayed in a lot of B&Bs of similar star rating and are usually disappointed by a poky bathroom not this time, it was great. Vince was super considerate arranging to put our motorbikes beyond his car for added security. Great location to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N G
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read your comments, especially good to know you were so happy with our Tudor king-size four poster and the en-suite shower room. We were happy to help with parking your motorbikes - that's no trouble at all! Our location is easily walkable into Bowness-on-Windermere, around 15 minutes...

Reviewed 25 July 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights. Couldn't have asked for anything more. The owners were lovely and full of recommendations of places for us to visit. Room was great, with a very comfortable bed, lots of choice for breakfast and the full English was one of the best ever! Really set you up for a great day out in the lakes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to place a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay so much and we look forward to your next visit - hope to see you back soon!

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My Wife and I stayed at Storrs Gate House on 6th July 2016 for our wedding anniversary. We booked with ( sorry ) 'through' the Dutch agent, Booking.com on 24 June, who are 100% useless. Spoke with the owner, subsequent to my booking, as Booking.com were showing better rooms for same price. Owner ( appeared to ) fully understand, said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

In our almost 17 years here running Storrs Gate House, having had thousands of guests through our doors, this is the first time a guest has subjected us to such undeserved negative feedback, although on departure you implied that a negative review might be placed on TripAdvisor, if the room charge was not reduced, so it is not altogether a...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights at Storrs Gate House having read Tripadvisor reviews which all looked amazing. We called the owner directly and as a result were given 5% discount off the room rate. We chose the Jacobean Suite as it had a separate lounge area in addition to the 4 poster bedroom. We were greeted well by Vince and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your extensive review of your recent stay with us. We often offer a discount for direct bookings of two or more nights – it helps reduce our commission payments to online travel agencies and our customers benefit too! It was nice to read that you enjoyed the facilities in the Jacobean suite – we do have less...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed one night at stores gate. We couldn't have asked for anything better. We were greeted and made feel welcome from the start. Vince was very helpful with the whereabouts of the area and places to visit. The room was perfect sizing. The four poster was very comfortable and we struggled to get out of it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbey K
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We are so pleased that you will recommend us and intend to return for another visit. It was great to read that you struggled to get out of bed because it was so comfortable!! Glad to hear you were happy with your breakfast and our...

Armitage Staffs
Reviewed 8 July 2016

A warm friendly welcome greeted us on our arrival. This was our second visit to this lovely B&B. One of the best breakfasts I have ever had was made with locally sourced produce, with homemade marmalade & Jam. Handmade furnishings give it a luxurious feel it is beautifully and stylishly decorated throughout. Good quality toiletries in the bathroom. Situated about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezzahArmitageStaffs
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Firstly we were delighted to welcome you back for another visit. Thank you so much for your kind comments - it really is good to know that you enjoyed breakfast so much and that you liked our furnishings and handmade tapestries. The White Company toiletries are among the best and it's nice to know they are appreciated. Thank you for...

UK
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The hotel is located approximately a mile away from the town centre but the walk is by no means unpleasant. We were warmly welcomed by the proprietors and shown to our room immediately. Our room was small but perfectly formed and extremely clean. The ensuite had an excellent power shower. Breakfasts were delicious and the ladies who looked after us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GAT_UK
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

We were so pleased to read your kind review and to learn that you were happy with your room, our hospitality, your shower (many guests mention these!!) and that you enjoyed breakfast. Thank you too for your comment about our staff - we will pass that on to them! We do hope to welcome you back soon and just to...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This is our 3rd stay here at Storrs Gate, highly recommend staying here, just a few minutes walk from the main town centre so away from the hustle and bustle. Just around the corner from the road leading down to the ferry and paths to walk along the lake. When you arrive Shirley and Vince offer a lovely warm welcome,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debby7140
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking time to write a review... just the fact that this was your third stay with us speaks volumes and we are so happy that you continue to return to us! It was great to read that you found your bed so comfy - it makes all the difference - and that you were so happy...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

What a beautiful B&B. Vince and Shirley are such friendly and welcoming hosts. Our room with the "Juliet" balcony was superb. Extremely clean, spacious and so comfortable. Best shower of our trip. We enjoyed an afternoon drink in the garden watching the birds. Such a peaceful, quiet area. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Walking distance to a pub with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glc2108
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments - it is really great to know that you found our Tudor king-size four poster en-suite room to be superb, and we especially liked the fact that the shower topped the bill as the best of your trip! Thank you for your recommendation - we are delighted you were so happy.

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.8 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
591 reviews
0.9 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
452 reviews
0.6 km away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#9 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
306 reviews
3.4 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
356 reviews
2.3 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $158 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Storrs Gate House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Storrs Gate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the attic room”
 of 5 bubbles Dobby111111, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 7 (Queen Anne's suite) was lovely and had a private outside space”
 of 5 bubbles price859, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is a beautiful 4 poster suite with a separate dressing room and bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulConfused, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There are plenty of other lovely places IN Bowness. If you stay here, get details in writing !!”
 of 5 bubbles alang184, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Looking over the back garden”
 of 5 bubbles Debby7140, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5