We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Alexandra Hotel
 Click to rate
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent 5 nights four days at the Alexandra Hotel. Coach travel from Hamilton to Blackpool 4 hours including 30min stop at Tebay services for a smoke tea/break. Coach Whitestar Coach drivers were first class, comfortable and smooth and fresh we arrived at 2:30 at hotel staff at reception very efficient and roomed straight away, room was warm clean tea coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnykaka
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Royal Alexandra for the Grand National, Friday till Sunday, lovely hotel and staff, they couldn't do enough for you especially the restaurant staff, room although small was very clean and the bed was so comfy!! Meals were delicious and the breakfast was also lovely nice and hot noticed other posts complaining about the portions being small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shona R
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for feedback. We are delighted to learn you had a great time on holiday with us and it's brilliant our staff looked after you so well. We aim to deliver a great guest experience from check in to departure so it's fabulous you were very comfortable in your allocated room. Food at the Royal Alexandra receives...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my wife and myself have just spent 5 days at this hotel and can highly recommend it .....our room was clean the food was great ...the service was first class ....and the entertainment was amazing ...I must make a special mention to the amazing four ds ...and the singing sensation her self ...Sheila diamond.....who were just 2 of the fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank david h
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geast, wow what a great review! Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your holiday from the food, the service and entertainment at night! It's great you got to see the fantastic Four D's during your time with us, they will be performing regularly throughout the season - so hopefully you'll...

West Lothian
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with daughter fri-mon hotel is just same as last time we stayed mostly same staff. In newer bit of hotel & room nicer. Freshly painted & new carpet. Food was nice & good choices. 99p bar from 12-5 nightly entertainment & bingo good stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lpratt77
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review. We are so pleased you were comfortable in our newly refurbished section of the hotel. Being returning guests your comments are invaluable to us so thank you for the feedback on our food, as with last time - we're pleased our standard continues to deliver. The 99p Bar from 12pm until 5pm...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 3 nights here, with my sister and our daughters. 2x Triple rooms, were a good size, however rooms were very outdated with damp patches on ceiling and walls, stains/rips in carpets. 1 room had bathroom updated and room seemed more fresh than the other. Decor in rooms very old. Views left a lot to be desired and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you weren't fully satisfied with your allocated rooms. We do kindly ask guests to make management aware of any issues immediately so they can be resolved there and then to ensure your holiday is enjoyable. We may have offered other more suitable rooms either at the Royal Alexandra...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

My husband and I hadn't visited Blackpool for many years so we decided to book a weekend there last year. The receptionist was particularly friendly upon arrival and The Royal Alexandra is situated in a great location. The decor is a little tired and dated and our room was pretty basic but breakfast was delicious and really it was everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheliaj1963
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind feedback. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Alexandra. In regards to the decor -Thank you for your comments, The Royal Alexandra is in constant refurbishment - upgrades to many areas are yet to be completed however we have recently finished a lower ground floor area of rooms to a wonderful...

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Been at this hotel before. Dead central for everything. Can't fault good hotel staff, or the other guests. All Glasgow stuff. Only fault....iffy wifi. Not the end of the world. Not the Ritz. Neither is the price. Truly canny whack it. 👍👍👍😀😀🍾🌹

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your great feedback. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Alexandra and found our staff welcoming. Thank you for your comments regarding the WIFI, At present WIFI is offered in communal / Public areas however we aim to roll out - in room internet access in due course, this is on...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here Twixmas 2016 our room was a family double bed and bunk beds nice view of the tower. It was recently decorated fresh paint new carpet lovely bathroom suite only complaint about bathroom was not enough light when using shower. Paper thin walls I could hear my mum and son from corridor and door was closed. Dinning room again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kelz139
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for your very kind review. It's wonderful to learn of your great holiday at the Royal Alexandra. Mark and his team will be very pleased you found our newly decorated rooms lovely, in regards to the light in the shower-thank you for your comments, all guest feedback is taken on board so we can aim to...

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Stayed here over the Christmas period and had a fantastic time! I heard others complain about their rooms but couldn't fault ours at all. As others have said corridors etc are narrow but so are a lot of hotels that I have stayed in! The food was ok, not top end but you get what you pay for and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A J
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it really is wonderful to hear you had such a great festive holiday with us. We are pleased you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed our food. We took extra time planning our Christmas break this year and our chefs and kitchen staff worked extremely hard preparing the food so we will be sure...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Checked into here for what was supposed to be a nice trip to celebrate new year our room was on 3rd floor which was a trek to get to on coming out of lift which only 2 people had to use we entered the maze through 2 fire doors down steps through door to get to it corridors so narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are so sorry to learn the Royal Alexandra was not to your personal taste. We do kindly ask all of our guests to notify our reception team / management immediately should something not be up to standard during your holiday. That way it gives us the opportunity to rectify issues there and then to ensure a more...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
822 reviews
2.4 km away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
821 reviews
0.1 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#34 of 72 in Blackpool
318 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
981 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 72 in Blackpool
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished town centre hotel right in the heart of the resort close to the Winter Gardens, The Grand and all the amusements your heart could desire,beautiful en-suite rooms for all, including our four poster, doubles, twins triples and large family rooms with cot beds, each room has refreshments and 26 or 32 LCD flat screen TVs.Our hotel serves a buffet breakfast were you can eat and drink as much as you like. Alexandra boasts a coffee shop where morning coffee and afternoon tea is served and we pride in home baking,Evening meals for fill most appetites with a choice of menu with fresh local produce daily. Evening entertainment in our cosy cabaret bar with fun and games for all, If you are peckish call room service for our 24 hour house menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Address: 74 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $71 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Ayrshire
29 days ago
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 months ago
2 months ago
7 months ago
Dunfermline
8 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on t g e 2nd floor at back of hotel and very quiet”
ShonaR_12, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not good for disabled as there are lots of steps and narrow passages.”
janets245, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great stay at The Royal Alexandra”
355adeled, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 313!”
simonwZ7945KE, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None to give”
W8760IGlesleym, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5