We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Paid 210 for a double room for 2 nights was given a room no more than 10 ft squared Inc bathroom ! Was nothing like pics on Internet very disappointed been in better £25 b+b talking of breakfast the size is fine if you about 6 years old !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for bringing matters to our attention. It is through guest comments and feedback we monitor so we can improve. We really do hope you are not deterred from staying with us or Blackpool Promotions in the future, hope to see you again soon, GUEST RELATIONS

Prestonpans
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel 17th Oct for 5 days was in a refurbished family room on the ground floor which was very tastefully decorated plenty wardrobe room for family of fours clothes the staff were very friendly and the meals were very good I did hear some complaints about size of breakfast but who has sausage bacon egg beans and hash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisyprestonpans
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your kind review, it really means a lot to us! It's lovely to hear you had a brilliant time on holiday with us, we do hope you will recommend us to your friends, hope to see you again soon! Thanks again GUEST RELATIONS

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We went with blackpool promotions, BAD POINTS. We were put in a run down bedroom, wardrobe door giving way but at least we had a wardrobe, most people we spoke to did not, shower had mould on it ,room very small for 2 people ,view from the window was a brick wall ,towels not changed in 4 days ,cleanleness was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesley m
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for bringing matters to our attention and taking time to write a review- we do take all guest comments and feedback on board so we can improve. The Royal Alexandra like many of our hotels is currently underway with refurbishments, many of the ground floor rooms are complete and receiving excellent reviews- we aim to roll...

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Just had a 5 day break at this hotel thru Blackpool Promotions We were in room 10, a room that faced the main road. Have to say this room was very noisy due to the amount of traffic on this main road, and the hotel is desperately needing upgraded. This room had a terrible creaky floor, but if you look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to pop us a review. We value all guest comments and feedback and take everything on board so we can aim to improve. The Royal Alexandra is currently underway with refurbishments, we have recently completed a lower ground section of the hotel and aim to roll this same standard out to the...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here Friday to Monday and cannot fault the rooms or the food or serving staff!!! I had been really worried reading the reviews but hotel is nothing like what folk are posting!! Yes food portions are small but they are adequate and the serving staff could not be more accommodating!! Our only gripe was that there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion. It's great to hear that for the most part you had a fabulous time with us! In regards to reception staff- It is through guest comments and feedback that we monitor so we can improve, your comments are very valuable to us...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

After reading the mixed reviews we booked our 3 night B&B stay with Booking.com for single rooms. Yes the rooms are quite small but the beds & bedding was fine as was the shower/toilet. Top half of windows open wide, sockets next to mirror for hair straighteners etc,and bedside shelf has light/shade & handy socket for phone charger. New carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hielsa
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your very kind review. Your comments and feedback are very valuable to us. It's lovely to hear you had such a great time at the hotel and that you found our hard working staff polite and helpful. Tarryn will be very pleased to hear of your kind words. We do hope you won't leave it...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with another 3 adults for two nights from Friday 7th Oct and left on Sunday morning. Rooms were basic but clean enough, plenty of wardrobe space, drawers etc. Usual tea and coffee making facilities, although because the coffee was cheap it tasted pretty horrible ! We were on the top floor in two of the 'refurbished rooms' although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperSonic1979
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to review us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday for the most part - Guest feedback is very important to us so we can improve. In regards to Breakfast time- Should something not be up to standard during meal times or you would like a little more- our staff will...

Barrhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Very central for everything. Room was clean and newly painted. Food was good and nothing was a problem if u wanted any more . Cheerful fun staff. Good bar prices. No complaints at all except bar / lounge got very warm at night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review- it's lovely to hear you had a great time on holiday with us. Guest comments are very important to us and it really is a pleasure reading positive reviews like yours. Hope to see you back at the Royal Alexandra in the future, all the very best GUEST RELATIONS

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Just got back from here... after a 2 night stay all I can say was that I was disgusted in what we saw the rooms were nothing like the pictures... they were worse!!! The breakfast in the morning was shocking and wouldn't even give it to a child. The price was an absolute rip off, you hardly saw any staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney G
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. It's upsetting to hear you didn't enjoy your time away with us. Please be assured that all guest comments are taken on board so we can continue to improve. Management are working very hard to ensure issues are being dealt with. Guest happiness is our up most priority. As mentioned in previous responses-...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Second year running (not my choice to come back) and I had hoped that my review last year was perhaps not going to reflect how I felt this year. This hotel is a SHAMBLES. Not accessible for anyone who struggles walking up narrow and crooked staircases. The bathrooms are pokey, cramped, smelly and dirty. The food is overpriced and simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion. We ask all guests to notify reception / ourselves immediately should you feel something is not up to standard- this way we can rectify issues to try and ensure a more enjoyable holiday. We assure all guests that comments are taken on...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
809 reviews
2.4 km away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
805 reviews
0.1 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 72 in Blackpool
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
313 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
966 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished town centre hotel right in the heart of the resort close to the Winter Gardens, The Grand and all the amusements your heart could desire,beautiful en-suite rooms for all, including our four poster, doubles, twins triples and large family rooms with cot beds, each room has refreshments and 26 or 32 LCD flat screen TVs.Our hotel serves a buffet breakfast were you can eat and drink as much as you like. Alexandra boasts a coffee shop where morning coffee and afternoon tea is served and we pride in home baking,Evening meals for fill most appetites with a choice of menu with fresh local produce daily. Evening entertainment in our cosy cabaret bar with fun and games for all, If you are peckish call room service for our 24 hour house menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Address: 74 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $71 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 month ago
1 month ago
6 months ago
Dunfermline
7 months ago
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not good for disabled as there are lots of steps and narrow passages.”
 of 5 bubbles janets245, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great stay at The Royal Alexandra”
 of 5 bubbles 355adeled, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 313!”
 of 5 bubbles simonwZ7945KE, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None to give”
 of 5 bubbles W8760IGlesleym, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lifts for each floor but only would accommodate 2 safely, 4 at a push”
 of 5 bubbles 360maureenb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5