We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,323: English reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for the weekend my husband and I was were given room 210 never in a million years is this a double room with double bed the bed was just a little bit bigger than a single won't be staying here again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pauline R
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We went away with National Holidays and stayed at the Grand. We were all shown into the damp smelling ball room and given an envelope with our room key card and our wristbands for the 2 for 1 drinks promotion. We arrived at about 1pm and were told “leave your cases here and we’ll leave them outside your room. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex G
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

So after a last minute booking for a night away with my partner, it took 5 minutes to park up as people was illegally parked, went to check in and the receptionist was rude towards us, I requested a non smoking room but they seemed to ignore that and placed us in a smoking room on the third floor, ignoring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GMJPAC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

New York
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

I loved the style of this building. It's grand lobby's, staircases and hallways really do transport you back to it's golden era. However the room I stayed in was not glamorous at all. It was tiny with a small window. It also had a giant wardrobe awkwardly placed in the entrance way which you had to squeeze past. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissLoreleiLee
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

Reviewed 21 February 2015

Stayed last night with my son for a long awaited break. We arrived to the car park which is like a sardine tin, so ended up parking in pay and display across road £13 and concerned for its safety. Got into the hotel past the congregation of smokers at the entrance and the receptionist was extremely un welcoming. I just...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gazcoates1
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We had a brilliant Valentine's extended stay at this hotel in Blackpool. All the staff were friendly and helpful, be it reception, bar or kitchen and waiting staff. the prices are reasonable in the bars and the entertainment is to be expected. The hotel itself is situated next to the North pier and is very hand for the shops and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael b
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. I was pleased to read that you...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Stayed here on Valentines weekend, weather great, Pleasure Beach great... Hotel not great at all! The photo on Booking.com was of a 'superior twin room' hence the reason I booked at this hotel; I have stayed in some awful places in Blackpool that were very cheap so thought we would try more expensive... and maybe better? No. Firstly, as hinted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R3439CFdanc
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

Reviewed 20 February 2015

Great place to stay Warm and comfortable.Pleasant staff .Handy for everything.Dont know how they do it for the price Will be booking again soon Thank you Metropole.Management of hotel 10/10 Parking no problem .Breakfast a feast excellent. Clean and spacious bedroom anr Jacuzzi bath Sea view too.Cant wait to book again This is a lovely clean hotel and well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiddly_oggy
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. I was pleased to read that you...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

toilets and bar smell, meal like a bad school dinner , had to stop eating when waiter/soup server walked past , b o .he stank. on the plus side breakfast ok , wont be stopping again . would give it 1 star

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dbseasider1
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for 1 night as a valentines treat. On first appearance the hotel looks run down but in the perfect location over looking the sea. We were greeted by the reception staff who we found were rude and unhelpful. The room it's self was a good size but the whole floor smelt of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Xxmadxx
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager.

1,025 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1012)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (227)
Viewed
Bathroom (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (530)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
2,866 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#31 of 72 in Blackpool
888 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3,515 reviews
0.9 km away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#47 of 72 in Blackpool
994 reviews
3.9 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $61 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Metropole Hotel staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not sure if there are any,”
 of 5 bubbles LeeDarwenLancs, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the suites”
 of 5 bubbles maureenbF1982HE, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the sea would be better as its noisy by main road”
 of 5 bubbles 134garys, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if not happy with room ask for a different 1 [ simple]”
 of 5 bubbles nugent3, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view is worth paying for - as the other views aren't going to be great here!”
 of 5 bubbles HelenBrownLancashire, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay