We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
48-52 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RP England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$71
StayForLong
Vio.comUS$71
Agoda.comUS$71
eDreamsUS$71
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (512)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (302)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#14 of 87 hotels in Blackpool
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated on the prestigious Queens Promenade with breath taking views over the Irish sea, The Doric Hotel is fast becoming one of the more popular promenade hotels offering a wide range of facilities and affordable holidays. Renowned for our quality and service in comfortable surroundings making The Doric a fine hospitality experience for all the family.In the last 3 years The Doric has been highly commended by The Blackpool Tourism Awards which picks out the best of Blackpool’s hotel's and its many aspects.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid private parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Patio
Nightclub / DJ
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2614Reviews107Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,847
  • 496
  • 165
  • 61
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rob wrote a review 4 Dec
1 contribution
Friendly and helpful staff. A good weekend in the hotel. Louise, who served us breakfast and dinner, was friendly & efficient with great communication skills. Thank you for all your help, Louise! 👍🎄🎅
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
77gillybilly wrote a review 3 Dec
Manchester, United Kingdom20 contributions11 helpful votes
I took my 89 year old mother for a 2 night “turkey and tinsel “ break, not really knowing what to expect. The hotel staff, without exception were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and the rooms were nice and clean. The evening entertainers were all fabulous! The communal corridors were a bit run down and needed a refresh, but the hotel are planning a revamp. Given that they have endured the covid lockdowns the fact that they are up, running and providing great value for money is brilliant.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plenty of on street parking in the side street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BOBBY B wrote a review 1 Dec
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom1 contribution
Booked a room for January 2023 then was informed the doric would be shut for referb on the dates we hah booked yet 3 weeks later still taking bookings for the same dates not very professional only told through Facebook by accident
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisaleelee78 wrote a review Nov 2022
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom35 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
Hotel is in need of an upgrade, overpriced drinks overpriced nightly fee we expected better quality. £6.50 for a vodka & coke, £7.50 for a glass of wine!! 3 waiting staff to cover a full restaurant, to seat people down, take orders and serve was ridiculous!!! We waited for over 45minutes to have our order taken! This was outrageous as I have a 7year old type one diabetic granddaughter who needed food. Rooms are in need of an upgrade as well as the corridor’s and bathrooms are still in the 70’s with peach bathroom suite. All in all pleasant staff, but hotel needs a huge amount of reshuffle, decoration and more staff at breakfast times and would benefit from having a buffet breakfast because of the size of the hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take your own booze
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jake Taylor, Owner at Doric Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review there Lisaleelee, where we are sorry that all was not your liking, we do have some big refurbisment plans in store for 2023, some of the final rooms are to be completed, as well as our ground floor level which has major changes coming to it. We shall also look into our running and training proceedure to ensure our service is up to the standards that so many 1000's of our guests enjoy every year that appears to have been lacking from the reading of your comments. We do hope that this visit does not deter you from visiting us once more and seeing the changes that shall be made. Kind regards Management Team Doric Hotel Waterside Hotels & Leisure Limited
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
margaret l wrote a review Nov 2022
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom26 contributions12 helpful votes
Always enjoy my November turkey and tinsel break. My Son accompanied me once again as he loves it there too. Friendly familiar faces who cannot do enough for you, Stuart,Matt and new barman Keiran, also restaurant staff Zoe, Dawn and Louise, (food was top class) not forgetting the the staff on reception too who soon sorted a little problem I had quickly. Entertainment was good with Liam although wasn't well,still managed to make us laugh. Can't wait to see the new alterations that are being done,(it really does need a bit of TLC).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jake Taylor, Owner at Doric Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Doric Hotel, we are pleased that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us, like you, we are looking forward to the planned refurbishment for early 2023, some exciting times ahead and we look forward to welcoming you both back to see all that has been altered. Kind regards Management Team Doric Hotel Waterside Hotels & Leisure Limited
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GILL C wrote a review Nov 2022
Blackpool, United Kingdom310 contributions212 helpful votes
We had another fund-raising lunch for 33 people at the Doric Hotel (we've had three a year there for over 35 years!). The room was lovely, decked out for Christmas, the staff were super, the food was excellent - all in all a huge success. Special thanks to Jason, Louise, Chef Bivan and Tammy. We'll be back in March 2023.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jake Taylor, Owner at Doric Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Once more, many thanks for the great comments, it was a pleasure to have welcomed you all back for your lunch party and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in 2023. Kind regards Management Team Doric Hotel Waterside Hotels & Leisure Limited
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D K F wrote a review Nov 2022
10 contributions5 helpful votes
Boiler not working and not moved after requests. Awful to be cold and no hot water when you are away from home. This hotel needs to pull it's socks up as this was not good enough for pensioners. I think they fobbed us off about the boiler and not to be able to have a shower for three days is unbelievable for a holiday break.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jake Taylor, Owner at Doric Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
We are sorry to be reading this review, we are certainly not in the habit of fobbing of our guests and I shall certainly be looking into issues raised here with all departments to ensure all proceedures were followed? With a persistant problem I do hope you would have been offered an alternative room, our records shall hopefully shed some light as to whether you were? I do hope that all other aspects of your break, our restaurant and it's menus, our entertainments programme and our bars were to your liking whilst here at the hotel? Whilst I understand you may not wish to visit us here at the Doric again but please do not let it deter you from maybe visiting our sister hotel, the Park House Hotel. Kind regards Management Team Doric Hotel Waterside Hotels & Leisure Limited
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard R wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom142 contributions120 helpful votes
No hot water in our room the whole weekend, the rooms either side had hot water but for some reason we never, although the heating was working. The room was nice as usual and the staff were great, special thanks to Louise are waitress for the weekend, she couldn't do enough to help and always had a smile. All the food was great, the Doric is always spotlessly clean. We decided to arrive a day early and booked the extra day in advance, when we arrived they had no record of our booking. Be back next year.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jake Taylor, Owner at Doric Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Many thanks Richard for your review, where we are sorry that you experienced a hot water issue, not what we are wanting for sure. Your kind words and comments about the staff and serivce that you received are appreciated by all and we thank you for them and we all look forward to your return where we hope to turn that 4 back into a 5 once more. Kind regards Management Team Doric Hotel Waterside Hotels & Leisure Limited
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikkinoo109 wrote a review Nov 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom37 contributions31 helpful votes
Turned up Friday afternoon for a birthday weekend all was well until Saturday when we decided to go swimming downstairs. I went to get changed afterwards to find the changing rooms drenched so our clothing was wet. Decided to go up to my room to get showered only to find out it was stone cold. So, when I finally got warm I went and mentioned this to the receptionist, to be told the boiler on the fourth floor was broken and it will be fixed that evening. I went up to the room that same evening and the corridor felt rather cold and went into the room and felt the radiators they were cold. To be told again it was fixed and it was not as the water was cold and was the room. And wasn't fixed on Sunday when we were leaving. The receptionist did not seem bothered at all that we had approached them about this. The lift was also broken on the fourth floor it was like faulty towers. I don't think I will return as I feel as though we didn't fully enjoy our stay. They are a few points I would like to make as well. They were a horrible smell along the corridor leading to the toilets and smelt like old grease or fat. The beer was flat and paid £2 extra for it on top of the all-inclusive. Service was quite slack at Saturday tea time as all the staff had to rush off elsewhere to a party. And waited for nearly forty minutes for dessert. For what we paid for all-inclusive I expected better and have had better. The room we were in had wallpaper hanging off the walls carpet didn't fit the room was short. It's the little things that turn into big things. The hotel needs money spending on it and improvements in certain areas.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Needs big improvement all round
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jake Taylor, Owner at Doric Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
We are so sorry that all was not up to the high standards that we set for ourselves, we did unfortunalty experiance a boiler issue, which has now been rectified, I am sure you can appreciate that sometimes we are left in the hands of outside contracters, a time delay can occur especially when awaiting on parts, for this we do apologise. There was no other reported smell issues along any corridor that weekend and our All-Inclusive package has been welll recieved by the majority of our guests, I do hope that if there was any beer issues this would have been reported at the time? In the New Year we are about to embark on a major refurbishment of our ground floor level, all corridors are to be carpeted through out and our final few rooms that were awaiting a refubishment shall be completed. I am sorry that you may not wish to return once more, we certainly hope that you may try, if not at the Doric then maybe our sister hotel the Park House Hotel. Kind regards Management Team Doric Hotel Waterside Hotels & Leisure Limited
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bibStocktonOnTees wrote a review Nov 2022
stockton on tees1 contribution1 helpful vote
All round good experience for our reunion especially impressed by the staffs friendly professional service in particular Louise who looked after us at meal times with a friendly , always smiling manner . See you next year .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jake Taylor, Owner at Doric Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
It was a pleasure to have welcomed everyone back once more for your annual reunion with us here at the Doric, where we are pleased it was enjoyed by all. Your comments are appreciated, especially by Louise who says it was her pleasure to have helped make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to 2023's reunion with us once more. Kind regards Management Team Doric Hotel Waterside Hotels & Leisure Limited
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doric hotel blackpool
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireBlackpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DORIC HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 798 Photos (Blackpool, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Doric Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Doric Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Genting Casino Blackpool (0.10 km), Ma Kellys Showboat (0.05 km), and FormulaKart (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Doric Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Doric Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a pool view, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Doric Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Doric Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Doric Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciao Ciao, East4West Indian Restaurant and Takeaway, and New Treasure City.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Doric Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Doric Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Doric Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blackpool War Memorial (4.1 km).
Does Doric Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Doric Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.