We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holmsdale Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holmsdale Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holmsdale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here this weekend and had a lovely time. The owner was very helpful and friendly even moved his car so we could park directly outside. Location great short stroll into town but still in a nice quiet spot. Very nice breakfast and lovely comfy bed. Would definitely stay again . Julie+ Dom Sheffield

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirecliffe
Peajaybee, Owner at Holmsdale Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

wigan
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Enjoyed this hotel it was brilliant. The bedrooms were ensuite, clean towels and plenty of space.The beds were comfy with tv, kettle etc. Breakfast was very nice with orange juice, cereal, cooked breakfast tea and coffee, 5mins walk from train station same to the promenade. had a good day at the zoo and best of all the weather was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda m
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The owners and staff were very friendly, very polite and nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of food. More toast if needed and drinks.The beds were very comfortable and the bedding was fresh and clean. A good sized TV and a good choice of tea and coffee with little milks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Room spacious, comfortable. Staff lovely, Great location and absolutely fantastic value for money, you get coffee and tea making facilities which are filled every single day, the room is cleaned for you while you're out, this hotel was really good and I really enjoyed my stay. Thank you so much to the owners and staff for an amazing experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin A
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Stayed here for one night recently The room was fine and the bed and bedding was comfortable. There was a plentiful supply of tea and coffee in the room. The en suite was a decent size. After an excellent nights sleep breakfast was served in the downstairs dining room. The breakfast was great and the waitress was fantastic. Although a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil H
Peajaybee, Owner at Holmsdale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Holmsdale and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Wouldn't of even given this hotel one star if had option avoid at all cost I visited the hotel sat 3rd July and stayed overnight with my boyfriend had nothing but problems we wasn't welcomed at all when we arrived, miserable staff, had to wait at least 5 minutes to get served at the bar, the guy at the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chanx89x
Peajaybee, Owner at Holmsdale Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we will try and see what we can learn from this and positively improve for the future. Sorry if you had to wait at the bar. There are no permanent staff in the bar but there is a bell if you to ring for attention. I did make a...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The room was small however the bed and pillows supplied were comfy and clean. The bathroom was tiny and a little cramped. The breakfast was traditional and delicious, terrific service from the local lass as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Hotel is bit old fashioned interior wise, but is clean and tidy. Staff are hospitable and the breakfast is great. More tea, toast, or juice if needed. Very close to pier takes 10 mins to get to the pubs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iannorris1966
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Ive stayed here twice in the last fortnight. Owners philip and penny seem pleasant, genuine couple. Had room 18, clean decor, with a view looking to blackpool tower! Great value for little money. Tasty breakfast and no complaints at all. GW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahampwoods1
Blackpool
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I have often stayed at the Holmsdale Hotel over the last 9 years. There are other regular visitors as well. Rooms are clean and warm, with fresh towels in the clean en-suite. Breakfast is filling and tasty. There is usually someone else to chat to at breakfast time. Cosy armchairs in the television lounge. Perfect for snoozing. Wifi coverage is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItsThatManAgain

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
2,950 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
958 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
918 reviews
1.4 km away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
706 reviews
4.4 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sorry No Children!! THIS HOTEL IS A CHILD FREE ZONE. Twin, double & single rooms available, but no family rooms - so the hotel cannot cater for children. The hotel does cater for young adults of 12 and over. The award winning Holmsdale Hotel is a select, quiet, privately owned and run hotel offering guests quality accommodation in relaxing, informal surroundings with en suite rooms and lift to all floors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holmsdale Hotel

Address: 6-8 Pleasant Street | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $49 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holmsdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Holmsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holmsdale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick different bnb”
 of 5 bubbles twinklestar2015, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 at the back is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ItsThatManAgain, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms has view of the tower”
 of 5 bubbles margaretcarroll, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“this hotel has a lift and not many rooms but is in a quiet part of blackpool”
 of 5 bubbles bombshellwigan, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My Mum had a twin room and she said wherever they have stayed they are bigger than double rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseH28, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5