We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Belmont Hotel

Expedia.comUS$68*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
Panoramas (32)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

851 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 832: English reviews
Start your review of The Belmont Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Belmont Hotel was very welcoming and a great option to stay if you are in Leicester. Firstly, the location was perfect if you are looking to be near the city center and/or the university. The staff was great and the room was very large. It had a great washroom with a nice shower. The TV was very large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I chose the Belmont for a weekend stay, mostly for it's proximity to the De Montfort Hall where I was appearing. I was recommended the hotel as being one the best in Leicester, and I wasn't disappointed. it is in fact a number of large houses opened up into each other, so some of the distances are long and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is possibly the worst hotel room I have stayed in in the last 10 years. It needs redecoration if I had come here 10 years ago I would have needed redecoration then! The tiles in the bathroom are cracked and lifting, the sink is also cracked and the wallpaper is horrendous and badly patched. Wall sockets are melted. Stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheffwed67
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is very friendly . Welcoming . Helpful . The room are lovely and worth the price . Its near the centre . Just to say thank you to the lady behind the bar stayed open . Would stay again . Free parking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your event with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Regards Eloic

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room we were in had no wi-fi throughout our stay. A complimentary breakfast was offered, but only after I requested it. The floors creak badly so anyone walking past your room cannot do so without you knowing about it. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The TV was mounted on a wall too far from the bed/couch which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies for the poor WiFi - one of the access point had gone down and has now been replaced, service is back to normal with out fibre optic internet available throughout the hotel. Also we are now on our last section of corridors refurbishment, the floorboards "creak"will be fixed withing the next 2 weeks. Regards Eloic

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ive stayed here 5 or 6 times a year for the last 4 years and have experienced ups and downs in room allocation and service. This time up for a black tie dinner on 19th May. Arrived early and the room wasn't ready however the (blonde) receptionist greeted me by name, welcomed me back, took my luggage and told me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mds445
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful old building well renovated. Great location and my room was spacious and quiet which was just what I needed after my day of meetings. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of food all good quality. Will be staying here again next time I'm in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was dark, the gloom not helped by the low-wattage bulbs. The massive bed was made up with two single beds - just like in Europe. Completely useless for one person. Might as well have had a single?! Overlooking De Montfort St, with the windows open due to the airless warmth, the sleep was broken and listless. People shouting,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am sorry to read that you found your room dark....Should you have asked to change room I am sure we could have accommodated your request. Unfortunately there is very little i can do about the street noise as we are in the city centre....

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has location !; only five minutes walk from the station and some twenty minutes to the Cathedral and city centre. The layout of the hotel is interesting and imaginative but my bedroom was somewhat of a disappointment. Very dark and, even in mid summer, the lights ( which gave only a modest glow) had to be on all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, your comments have been noted and will be considered at our next internal meeting. Classic rooms do not offer bottled water however our Superior, executive and suite do. Best wishes Eloic

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel, excellent service, friendly staff and a good breakfast. Also easy walking distance to the DeMontfort Hall meant we did not need to use the car or get a taxi. Good free parking facilities at the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Fabulous review! Thank you very much indeed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Eloic

404 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Executive Family Room (29)
Viewed
Executive Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Standard Double (27)
Viewed
Suite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.7 km away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
2.2 km away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
882 reviews
0.8 km away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
David Ferguson at The Belmont
David Ferguson at The Belmont
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: $110 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
The Belmont Hotel Leicester, England
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Belmont Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Belmont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower rooms are better as the elevators are a bit slow”
, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Suite - huge!”
ChrisB0, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor is always best.”
P8704KEalanr, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 220...lovely!”
lisianthusDoncaster, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Tucked away in a corner rather than on the main corridor”
Hotelreviewchick, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$70
TravelocityUS$68
PricelineUS$70
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates