We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clink78

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clink78
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clink78
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,125: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I was so disappointed with Clink 78. The common areas are okay (nowhere near as good as the Generator London) but the rooms are 100% inconvenient. The wifi doesn't work in your room, only the common areas. I was on a top bunk - no powerpoint to charge my phone. No lockers in the room, only the paid lockers down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Wurzburg, Germany
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The Clink 78 is a hostel located in the inner-city of London. It is near (10 min walk) King´s Cross Station and so many subway lines are easy acessable. The hostel crew is friendly and helpfull. The rooms are small, but O.K.. The pub in the basement is fun and a good place to meet other travellers. Furthermore you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthias L
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78, responded to this review

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback and are so glad that you had the time to enjoy the free breakfast, soak up the fun vibes in the bar and found the staff friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again! Jax

Rennes, France
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I stayed 2 nights in a room with 6 persons. I have been able to meet new people. It was a great experience for a first time in hostel ! The room was clean and the receptionists really helpful ! The location was perfect as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeaP35
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, found the staff friendly, the location convenient and that you made some new friends :) We hope welcome you back in the near future! Jax

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

It's a perfect suited place for young travellers, with a friendly and safe environment . The location couldn't be better, the underground is quite close and the bus station is right in front of the hostel. You can also walk by foot to Oxford Street, the British museum and the British library. Rooms are clean, the bathrooms as well, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cezara Ț
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi there!! Thank you sooo much for leaving your feedback with us! We are very happy to hear you had an awesome time with us and you overall enjoyed and loved our hostel. Wishing you the best on your travels and hope to see you again on your next London adventure :) Best regards, Ivan

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Overall, I had a pretty great time. All the amenities are reasonable, and the free morning breakfast is the bomb (especially when you're travelling on a tight budget). I found it pretty easy to make friends, either in my dorm or at the clashbar. Wifi is only in the common rooms, but hey - it makes you get out of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Johanna B
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi johanna! Thank you so much for sparing some of your time and dropping us such an awesome review! We are very happy to hear you had a great time with us here at Clink 78 and hope to see you again in your next overseas adventure :) Best regards ivan

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Stayed with a friend in a 6 person mix room. Room was clean, loved that the bathroom was ensuite, shower was great. In order to get to your room you had to go through multiple security doors and swipe your key which was great for safety. To get into your locker in your room you had to swipe your key....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustMorgan
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi There! Thank you so much for leaving your feedback with us! We are very happy to hear you throughly enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your kind words :) Really hope to see you again soon! Best regards Ivan

Burgdorf, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 July 2015

It was only a short stay, but everything was great. They have a really lovely service, nice varied and clen breakfast and a good bed. Only thing that has need of improvement is, that Wifi is only available in public rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florian B
Hostel_Clink261, General Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Great stuff Florian, Free WiFi throughout our fine establishment is on the way. The cables have been laid so stage 1 is complete. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon. Regards, Pearse

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The vibe of this place is great - so many young people looking to see the world and socialise. We stayed in a private, ensuite bedroom. Good things: location, clean room, great breakfast, great people, kitchen and bar. Everyone was really friendly. Bad points: room was tiny, no wifi inside, neighbours really noisy (really young kids on one side, bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TA102010
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi there!! Thank you for sparing some time and dropping us a review!! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at Clink 78 with a few downsides from your noisy roommates. Our security team works all night and tries to keep the noise to the minimum but its sometimes tough with such a big...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Not a bad place to stay. Pretty close to the city via walk. Bar is alright. Breakfast is average. Rooms were tiny but they had a bed. Ensuite rooms were tiny, but they had a shower. No Wifi, except in the foyer. Everything was kinda there, but nothing really substantiated my stay. Shruggs, 50/100. Really, really average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Matt!! Thank you for sparing some time and dropping us a review mate! We are sorry to hear you overall didn't have the best experience here at the hostel. It is true that some rooms are smaller than others due to the shape of the building but a room change can be arrange at any time as our reception...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Cons: We had to reactivate our card four times within two days. Apparently they just stop working (even though we kept them away from our phones as warned). If you are staying in a dorm (we stayed in a mixed 16) and don't have a bottom bunk you don't have any power points. Even when in the reception or 'chill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten9851
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Kirsten! Thank you for sparing some time and dropping us a review. We are sorry to hear that you overall didn't enjoy your stay with us here at Clink 78. It is true that the top bunks do not have outlets for you to plug your electronics. Upon request at reception, and depending on availability a switch to a...

659 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (390)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (232)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#55 of 816 in London
575 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#32 of 816 in London
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 816 in London
2,287 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 816 in London
438 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 816 in London
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighbourhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clink78

Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range: $28 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clink78 staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Clink78 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to tube station and buses.”
 of 5 bubbles 655chandras, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The small birdsnest dorms are the cosiest.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsayk394, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sgsgsg604, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go to the upper levels if you can not downstairs- may be less mouldy.”
 of 5 bubbles kelp23, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms far from the bar are quieter ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles AnneAnke, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5