We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

YHA London St Pauls

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA London St Pauls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Colchester
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The hostel was great , the staff were really helpful and friendly and the breakfast was just what we needed in the morning. Made for a great stay we will use it again. Next time we may stay for longer , it was really usefull being able to leave our bags in the luggage store all day while we went...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike_lorrydriver
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hey Mike, Thanks for the great review and my team were delighted with your comments, we look forward to seeing you for a longer stay next time, Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Oldenburg, Germany
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I stayed in this hostel for three nights in December 2016. The constant going in and out in a 8-bed-dorm sometimes made it hard to sleep but that was expected. The staff has always been friendly and helpful even while checking out in the middle of the night. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. The proximity to an underground station and...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnikaFi
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi AnnikaFi, Thanks for the great review, it can be annoying sometimes if people are coming and going during the night but we do have a few private rooms available for an additional cost. Ill ensure all of my team see your kind words, Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

So......we were in London staying the night and as we needed to be very close to St Paul's this was the closest place. Being YHA virgins we did read the reviews and knew what to expect The staff were very friendly and helpful The room basic but the beds and bedding clean and comfortable Breakfast good value and plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Horseymadmum
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the great review, Im pleased you found my staff helpful and the hostel clean, Ill ensure all my team are aware of your kind comments. We appreciate all feedback and I will speak to my maintenance manager to have a look to see what we can do about the doors. Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

stayed in a room here for 31st dec with family . so payed over the odds exceptionally . not even a toilet in the room a shower and toilet in a corridor. no warning of this!! and this room was supposed to be refurbished not from the ceiling i can assure you. i know it says no tea/coffee facilities in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 321sparkle
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review YHA London St Pauls. Im not quite sure what you mean by "Paying over the odds" The costs of a room at the nearest Premier Inn for NYE was £299. Im not too sure why you think our rooms are refurbished, no where do we claim to have refurbished the rooms, all...

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 31 December 2016

YHA St. Paul's is a great base for exploration of central London--80 meters from St. Paul's Cathedral and not much further to the St. Paul's tube stop, the Millennium Bridge, Globe Theater and the Thames. Westminster Abbey, the British National Museum, Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace--all are just a few tube stops away. We walked across the Millennium Bridge to see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank akersbell
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Akersbell, What a great detailed review about our hostel and our local area. I will pass on your comments to my team and would encourage all prospective guest to read your review before booking with us. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in the future, Have a Happy new Year and see you soon....

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for budget accommodation in central London. the atmospheric building is really close to St Paul's cathedral and the Millennium bridge. Inside it is clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Be aware that there are no self catering facilities so you cannot make your own drinks but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol C
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Carol, Yet again another great review for prospective guests coming to YHA London St Pauls. I will pass on your comments to my team who will be delighted with your comments. See you next time Steve Roberts Hostel Manaager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Just got back home from 2 lovely nights stay at St Pauls Hostel The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is so lovely and good value, . thanks to all the staff at st Pauls hostel for your help ..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angela b
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

HI Angela, Thank you for your great review, my team were delighted to read your comments. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Midlands UK
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed here 3 days over Christmas; including Christmas day. Staff helpful and friendly; thanks. Location; perfect. Rooms. We had a private twin. Enough room, clean and warm. Lots of electric sockets includine usb charger on each bed head. Sink but no toilet and shower, but no probs as there were lots. We had one of each opposite our room. Noise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Futuretraveller999
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for you kind review. Im pleased you had a good stay and of course we take on board all feedback whether positive or constructive, Ive spoken to my Kitchen Manager this morning who is going to have a look at the settings on the juice machine, sometimes if altered can change the strength of the...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This is a fantastic place to stay, with a group but also if you are on your own looking for clean, budget accommodation in central London. You don't have to be a youth either. There are some single en-suites for the more "discerning" traveller"! This is my third school trip to YHA St Paul's and my one complaint this time...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank james_titheridge
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for your review and your kind words. I see you thought we had changed contracts for our food. All of our food is cooked inhouse by our own team however we have recently introduced a trail menu for groups. As with any trial all feedback is welcome. Your comments have been taken on board and will...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I've always wanted to stay in a really central location in London despite being a Londoner and I can't fault it here in any way! I found out about the hostel via a book called 'The 500 Hidden Secrets of London' which listed YHA St Paul's as one of the most affordable places to stay in the city. My stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaye94
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

HI Kaye94, Great detailed review and thank you. Im pleased you found my team to be helpful. Im sure your review will help prospective visitors to YHA St Pauls. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Eleven Person Dorm (25)
Viewed
Modern Five Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (12)
Viewed
Modern Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Quad Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
YHA London Thameside
#157 of 817 in London
257 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#67 of 817 in London
362 reviews
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 817 in London
1,084 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 817 in London
627 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City of London

Neighbourhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighbourhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Price Range: $42 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Newcastle-under-lyme
over a year ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Mpls, Mn
11 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Again, it's London, to get any accomodation at this price is a blessing.”
 of 5 bubbles dafyddw2014, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“bring ear plugs and a second pillow. Alternatively bring a ligature to slowly strangle the life out of a snorer. ”
 of 5 bubbles grahaml275, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want peace and quiet go for a single room.”
 of 5 bubbles suemarilynlyle, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“dont book here unless you really dont have expectations”
 of 5 bubbles 321sparkle, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The newer rooms have bunks with individual outlets, USB ports, light.”
 of 5 bubbles akersbell, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5