We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA London St Pauls

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA London St Pauls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 355: English reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

Me and a female friend stayed here & as a 'typical' tourist student, we went and partied in London. On our return, I found someone in my allocated bed in my room, so I had to climb over them and into the very top bunk. The next morning I woke, with a lovely hangover. When I go for a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Joshua, Firstly thanks for the review, Im pleased you chose us for a second visit. Im sorry you were not happy about the shower near your room. I have had a walk around and cant seem to find the problem so would be very grateful if you would drop me a quick note informing me of the room you...

berin
Reviewed 16 October 2015

I went there with my english class. From the outiside the house looks lovely but unfortunatelly less from the inside. The whole hostel exept from the cafeteria is fited with wall-to-wall-carpeting. That is quite unhygienic. The typical british breakfast is totally sufficient. Nice experience to eat baked beans and sausages for breakfast. But could have been more varied. Unfortunaltely our...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank berlining
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Berlining, Thanks for the review. Not quite sure what you mean about the carpeting, if we had wooden floors not only would it be a lot colder in our climate but very noisy!!! I am a little surprised you say our breakfast could be more varied!!! Fresh fruit Cheese Ham Granola Cereal porridge croissant bacon Tomato Sausage Eggs Hash...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Formerly the school for St Pauls choirboys set in a side street across the road from St Pauls Cathedral. Building has been completely refurbished and provides modern, clean, comfortable hostel accomodation. 24 hour access. Staff friendly and helpful. Dorms basic but clean and comfortable. Large cafeteria, but NO guest kitchen. Comfortable lounge areas with period decor. Plenty of toilets and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean A
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Dean, Great information for prospective visitors, we appreciate your kind comments, Our restaurant has recently been refurbished as have some of our rooms and showers, this is a work in progress so were pleased you can see we are making improvements to the hostel all of the time. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

I really loved this hostel. I couldn't believe how close it was to the cathedral literally across the road!! I couldn't believe it. The location of the hostel HAS to be the best of any London hostel I've stayed in. You can walk to a lot of the main attractions from the hostel. It's only a short walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cityexplorer30
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hey Cityexplorer, Thanks for the great detailed review. All your comments will be shared with our team. With reference to the beds, we are in the process of slowly upgrading the hostel. we have complete a few of our rooms, we are now underway with our showers and toilets and will in the future be upgrading the rest of the...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

It is what is says on the tin!! Its a typical youth hostel, average size dorms, great communal spaces, dining room and tv room. The hostel staff are really friendly and helpful and the main thing for me is the hostel is clean. Yes its in an old building but the history is great. Breakfast was adequate for £5 but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Steph, Thank you for your review, I remember talking to you at check out and you promised to review us, cheers for that. I will pass on your kind comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

The hostel is located in a superb central location - you can walk anywhere! There is a restaurant that serves all you can eat English breakfast and dinner for a very good price - the burgers were amazing! Beds were were cozy and warm, the rooms were cleaned everyday and even with the huge school group staying the toilets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Rob, Thanks so much for such a great review. I will of course pass on your comments to all of my team who will be delighted, We also appreciate your comments about our cleanliness, in addition to the cleaning that happens during the day, our toilets and showers are refreshed throughout the day and night as you so rightly...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Awful place. The tiny room stank. The bed had a sharp metal spike sticking up, and the mattress cover was blood stained. Probably form the last victim on the sharp piece of metal. Add to the ants in the bed and the rodent traps in the corridor, it's no surprise that we had bad stomachs after eating the chicken in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wilko160
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Wilko, I have sent you an email and would appreciate if you would contact me on the email address I have sent you so I can carry out immediate investigation. Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Wonderful position with excellent transport options.Staff are competent and helpful. Plumbing is draconion,for example most toilets do not flush effectively with problems unresolved for years. A warning that water to a handbasin can be very hot with no capacity to add cold means that it could be impossible to wash ypur hands properly after using the toilet. Hand wash liquid...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christinegeo
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Christinego, We appreciate you taking the time to review us, Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. With reference to refurbishment, we have recently refurbished out restaurant and 8 of our shower units. Work is currently underway to continue with more showers. Some of our rooms have also been refurbished and this is an ongoing process. As...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The hostel didn't have the bedrooms the lovely pictures described. The room we stayed in had toilet paper stuck into the fire alarm! The beds were like lying on tomb stones. Furthermore the hostel had 2 showers broken and toilets . Considering their was probably 200 guests staying in the hostel this was pretty much awful. I certainly will not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Adam, Thanks for taking the time to review us, real shame you didnt mention any of this to us whilst you were staying here. We find most genuine complaints are reported at the time of stay and therefore giving us the opportunity to rectify especially something as serious as "paper in the fire alarm"!! You are correct about 2...

Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

it is central and easy to get to. also has very good public transport links. there is no kitchen so you have to use their cafe but the food is good value and the brakefast is very good value. they also have a bar. The rooms are typical yha but they do have some rooms with bath, shower and toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loch2lock
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Loch2loch, Thank you for your review. I will pass your kind comments to my team and they will appreciate your feedback. A lot of our guests mention the cathedral bells, some love it, some dont but really good tip about ear plugs and of course are available from reception if needed. Hope we will see you again in the...

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Eleven Person Dorm (25)
Viewed
Modern Five Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (12)
Viewed
Modern Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Quad Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
YHA London Thameside
#147 of 828 in London
262 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#63 of 828 in London
372 reviews
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 828 in London
1,103 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 828 in London
639 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City of London

Neighbourhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighbourhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Price Range: $44 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Newcastle-under-lyme
over a year ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Mpls, Mn
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift. Might be a struggle for the older traveller.”
 of 5 bubbles verony, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“view of St Pauls available from some rooms”
 of 5 bubbles nortonanna, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Again, it's London, to get any accomodation at this price is a blessing.”
 of 5 bubbles dafyddw2014, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“bring ear plugs and a second pillow. Alternatively bring a ligature to slowly strangle the life out of a snorer. ”
 of 5 bubbles grahaml275, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want peace and quiet go for a single room.”
 of 5 bubbles suemarilynlyle, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5