We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Harrington

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Harrington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Harrington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Have stayed there for the past 4 years and they never cease to impress me with their simplicity and how easily accessible everything is. Very polite front desk staff that try to assist you in any way. Simple but functional rooms avoiding the "hotel" like atmosphere. Next to Gloucester Road tube and only walking distance from Kennsington. Excellent choice for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SANDYMER
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Sandymer, Thank you very much for the glowing review. It is important to us that our returning customers continue to be pleased with the high level of service that we offer all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to London. Kind regards, PatrickM

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

strange check in. very bizarre being asked for full names, email addresses, date of birth and ID for everyone in the party. including young children. why? we were there for one night on a family holiday to London. this never happens in hotels, so what is the difference in this apartment hotel? we think we're a fairly respectable looking family,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARblue66
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear ctid662016, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. It provides us with information that can help to make sure that we are continually enhancing our product offering to give guests the best possible stay. We apologise that the check-in process took longer than it should have on this occasion. We agree that...

den haag
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Not too excited. Tired looking furniture and dates interiors but decent place. Quite comfortable rooms and of course more space than average hotel room in London. There is no fitness center although indicated at booking.com which I found very disappointing as I booked it mainly for this reason. Good service from staff generally. Locally situated near metro station. Wifi not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith v
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Judith, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. One of the distinct advantages of staying in serviced residences like ours is that they do offer much more space than conventional hotel rooms with the flexibility of having fully fitted kitchens when you want to prepare meals for yourself. Thank you for raising...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night rooms x 2. Both clean, very warm (took a while to learn how to turn heating down). Good facilities cooker, microwave and all utensils. Also coffee, tea and milk provided which was good. Staff friendly and helpful. Only issue on booking I asked for a ground floor studio as disabled and struggle on stairs. When arrived was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WendyBajrami
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Unfortunately due to the limitations of the way the current building works we do not have any ground floor apartments. We are currently in the process of creating two new apartments on the ground floor. We have made sure going forward that our teams have been made aware...

Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2016

I got invited to London for a party, it was just for one night. I spent time looking at hotels and didn't want to spend too much as it was just me on this visit. I came across this place on a web site and the price was not to be missed so I booked. This was a perfect location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scott j
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Scott, Many thanks for such a wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, well apart from the early wake-up. If you would like to stay with us again please do visit our website as returning guests can take advantage of some great special offers. Kind regards, PatrickM

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 February 2016

+ Great location (grocery store, pub, tube), clean, low traffic noise, wifi, kitchen with all you need - thin walls, WC that doesn't flush completely, mattress smaller than bed frame, small elevator, "luxury" is simply untrue

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Swemar
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Swemar, Thank you for taking the time to write your balanced review. Please be aware that we have two classes of products at 1 Harrington Gardens; firstly we have the Classic class which is similar to a 3 star - 4 star hotel and second we have the Executive class which is similar to a luxury 5 star hotel....

England
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Having stayed in tiny rooms at twice the price in London, I was really impressed with this place. Large kitchen / dining / living space, free wi-fi, and separate double bedroom and shower room. Had a great night's sleep even with the window open as the suite I had was at the rear of the building. No noise from neighbouring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ILP-JP
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear ILP-JP, Thanks for the review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It really is a distinct advantage staying at serviced residences that they have much more space than most hotels in London and as you rightly said, you have the ability to prepare lovely home cooked meals in the comfort of your own apartment....

voyager
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Arriving in England on a cold (near freezing) January night and after a long flight and not so good bus journey to the centre of London,it was a real pleasure to find that the Harrington had up graded my studio booking to a 1 bedroom flat.During my 4 night stay there I really felt that I was more in a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank voyager091
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Three generations, which included our 19 month old grandson, spent a week at The Harrington over New Year. We had stayed in the area last year and loved the location. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 5th floor, which had two smallish bathrooms but we didn't mind their small size because you make it for it with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ChrisandDavid2016
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Chris and David, We are really pleased to hear that three generations of your family enjoyed their visit to London and stay with us. We are aware of the issue with the lift, which was already installed in the property when we purchased it. We hope that we may welcome you and your family to stay with us again...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment for two nights with another couple to celebrate our birthdays. We were able to check in earlier than the allocated time and check in was smooth and efficient. The staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment was spotlessly clean, tidy and modern There was a separate kitchen with complimentary tea, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam M

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#422 of 1,089 in London
514 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#621 of 1,089 in London
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,089 in London
498 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#415 of 1,089 in London
730 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in chic South Kensington, just two minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harrington

Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: $222 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Harrington staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Harrington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles SAhmed2014, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid basement rooms. They are a little older and more run down.”
 of 5 bubbles 823christians, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 294 has a flashing light outside which might annoy some light sleepers.”
 of 5 bubbles Trevor679, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles Gail99Cheshire, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms have nice street views”
 of 5 bubbles Frandis, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5