We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington

Save
Share
19-21 Penywern Road, London SW5 9TT England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$116
TravelocityUS$116
Hotels.comUS$116
Trip.comUS$116
Agoda.comUS$116
Lol.travelUS$142
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (356)
Room & Suite (290)
Dining (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 05/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Updated 05/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#490 of 1,195 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Combining Victorian charm with Modern Luxury The 4* Best Western The Bolton's Kensington is a modern oasis of peace in the conservation area of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. Fully Refurbished in 2012 to incorporate modern simplicity and functionality with Victorian charm Best Western The Bolton's Hotel London Kensington with 56 fully Air conditioned en suite bedrooms, complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout, a welcoming Restaurant serving a decadent breakfast is the place for the discerning traveller looking for great value for money. Ideally located just around the corner from Earls Court underground station, within easy reach of some of London's most prestigious shopping areas such as High Street Kensington and Knightsbridge to the many attractions of London such as the Natural History and the Science museum just off our door step making the Best Western The Bolton's Hotel London Kensington the ideal location for your visit to London. Book directly with us and start your day with a great English breakfast on the house.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more
1464Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 478
  • 569
  • 257
  • 97
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alkesh C wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom72 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
At £260 a night this hotel should be ashamed of themselves for charging this kind of money. Firstly no forewarning that there were buildings works taking place at the hotel. The reception area was more akin to a construction site. The first room was meant to a king size bed so I expected a reasonably sized room instead what I got was a bathroom closer to the size of a aeroplane cabin. The distance between the shower and toilet was no more than 10 cm. The queen sized bed (not king) and desk barely filled the bedroom. The staff understandably moved me to a larger room the following day but despite being larger the condition of the bathroom was shocking. Best Western proudly brag about their high cleaning standards. You can decided for yourself from the pictures…
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Alkesh C, Thank you for your feedback, this is great tool for us to improve service and find what we can do better for the future guests. I'm sorry we did not live up to your expectations, unfortunately i'm unable to track down your booking so I can investigate what excactly happened with your booking. We are advertising on all the websites and agencies that hotel is under renovations and sending emails to all the guest arriving offering to cancel the booking if they are not happy to stay during building works. Once again as i dont have your booking details and nothing comes up under your user name I'm unable to see if you received email. if you would like to discuss this futher please let me know, once again appologies and thank you for your feedback. I hope to hear from you. best regards, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andreascap2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
Turin, Italy
The room could be more clean and it could be paid more attention to the details (TV with some issue, A/C too cold after the room "make up" and no bags in the bins after the first change): overall, despite some flaw with the room (but by my experience is always like this with single room in London), the staff has been very kind and available. In booking phase (on Lastminute.com) there wasn't written anywhere that I had to pre-emptively swipe my Credit Card for any eventual damage during my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear andreascap2022, Thank you for your lovely review, by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. thank you for complimenting staff they will be pleased to see they made a difference for your stay, If you could also let us know the room number you have stayed in so we can have a look into the issues mentioned? kind regards, Boltons hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve S wrote a review Aug 2022
Excellent check in, we were allocated a room straight away. Dan, who was on reception, then rang us after 15 minutes to see if everything was okay. Clean and tidy Room, totally perfect for our weekend away with tea and coffee facilities plus iron/board.. Literally 3 mins walk to Earls Court tube, M and S food Hall 2 mins walk away, with hotel situated in a very quite area. No faults whatsoever.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear StevesL1156YI, Thank you for your lovely review, by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I'm happy to see you found location to be ideal for your needs, rooms clean and tidy and with all what you need. Thank you for complimenting Dan, he will be so happy to see the review. We hope you will stay with us again when next in London. Best regards, Laura Pankaite
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phil C wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I was looking for a base for a weekend in London with my daughter, and this was ideal. 5 mins walk from Earls Court tube and easy connections for theatre land, the museums, London eye etc. all within a 15 minute tube journey. We received email confirmation immediately upon booking letting us know about the refurbishment work being carried out, but we were visiting at the weekend and this wasn’t an issue for us. Not having breakfast available at the hotel wasn’t an issue either, as there are lots of places within a couple of minutes walk. Reception staff were fabulous; friendly and welcoming and made a big difference to our visit by being flexible with looking after our cases whilst we went to the theatre. Room was good, comfy beds, good shower and air conditioning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear T7P, Thank you for your lovely review, by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I'm happy to see you found location to be ideal for your needs and refurbishment works did not put you off staying with us. Thank you for complimenting staff - they are so happy to see the reviews like this as it makes them proud of what they do. We hope you will stay with us again when next in London. Best regards, Laura Pankaite
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
donna j wrote a review Aug 2022
Gainsborough, United Kingdom5 contributions
We stayed in this hotel last minute on a train strike day. Knowing a few Best Western hotels I thought I'd pay a little more for a bit of luxury. What a disappointment. Firstly, we walked past twice as there is no signage. the building is completely obscured by scaffolding. The booking gave NO PRIOR NOTIFICATION that we were staying at a building site. There was also nothing saying it was only accessible by stairs which I struggled with as a disabled traveller. There was a max 3person lift inside. Boarded up doorways and walls greeted us everywhere . Our room was so small. It's completely inaccessible for anyone larger than a 36"waist. First its freezing (complaint made) we used an electric radiator from under the desk to warm the room on the entryway is the toilet and shower room on the right and a wardrobe on the left. To use the toilet I needed to enter the tiny corner shower to close the door to then sit on the toilet. Theres dust everywhere and the shower unit hs a broken lever. The wardrobe door hit the main door closer before it was halfway open. Main room. First I see the window. With scaffolding veiw. I closed the curtains. The pelmet top is loose. The desk is OK, but my thigh hit the drawer before I was sat comfortably at it. Tea/coffee station. There was no tea (complaint made) pack of 2 biscuits. Nescafe sugar and canderel sachet. The bed. It got points for comfort. It was flush against the wall so no bedside offering my side. There is a light switch. Said switch doesn't appear to operate anything. Above my head it the air con. Very noisily buzzing and whirring. Complaint made. The side with a bedside offering has a torn lamp shade. No plug or USB offering in reach. We made our complaint before we left for dinner. Upon return the receptionist said she had looked at the noise and it was the AC. She would move us rooms but they're full. She also changed the settings so the room wasn't so cold. She did all she could (except for the tea but that minor). Sleep was irrattic as I was woken by the ac buzz repeatedly. A shame as the bed was the only good part of the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Dear L9756ISdonnaj, Thank you for leaving feedback after your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I'm unable to locate your booking due having only your user name of TripAdvisor so can not check if you received communication from us regarding refurbishment, but I can assure that we are informing all our guest prior to arrival about these works and all the websites we are selling rooms over are aware and have message about this too. if you did not receive it please let me know so I will look into this further. We also offering all our guest free cancelation of they are not happy to stay with us due to refurbishment works and happy to assist to find alternative accommodation. We also do not advertise that we have step free access to the rooms or even hotel. if you could let me know the room number you have stayed in I would look at the issues mentioned, but without room number I'm unable to investigate further issues raised. kind regards, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
doughboyy wrote a review Jul 2022
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
We stayed in the hotel in late July and the staff were kind enough to let us check in early, which we appreciated due to the large amount of luggage we had. The location was right near the underground and tons of shops and restaurants nearby. The room was a decent size although the toilet was a bit cramped between the wall and the sink as well as the shower temperature would fluctuate even when it was at a colder setting. The only major complaint we had was that the air conditioning unit stopped working by the time we came from our day out from at least 10pm onwards. The staff said it was an issue that had to be sorted out the following morning so our sleep was quite poor as a result of this. We had to prop open the window due to it wanting to close. Would like to give the hotel another try in the future once renovations are completed
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Dear Doughboyy, Thank you for leaving feedback after your recent stay at our property. I'm happy to see that staff did all to make your stay as best as possible and once again please accept my apologies for AC issues, this as due to workers cutting the power supply to the AC units. I hope you will come back once renovations are completed and you will able to experience hotel fully running. Please get in touch and we will ensure you get best rate to stay with us. kind regards, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MAGDA F wrote a review Jul 2022
Warsaw, Poland2 contributions
A great place, centrally located, a 20 minute walk from the Kensington Garden. Clean and well kept, very efficient air-conditioning. 5 minute walk from the Underground that takes you directly to Heathrow as well as city center. Plenty of restaurants around. Quiet. Wonderful and helpful staff. I certainly recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Dear Magda F, Thank you for your fantastic review, I'm happy to see you had great experience and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcome you again. best regards Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Hotel is under going somewhat noisy renovations and is also not currently offering breakfast . The staff were helpful in resolving a AC problem … mich appreciated. I believe that the hotel management should have advised us of the issues in advance so we could have considered alternatives
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Dear Neilc790, Thank you for leaving feedback after your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I'm unable to locate your booking due having only your user name of tripadvisor so can not check if you received communication from us regarding refurbishment, but i can assure that we are informing all our guest prior to arrival about these works and all the websites we are selling rooms over are aware and have message about this too. if you did not receive it please let me know so i will look into this further. I hope that you will consider staying with us again once hotel is fully refurbished, so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. kind regards, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julie j wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom27 contributions2 helpful votes
Building work is taking place and the hotel was covered in scaffolding, which we were not aware of and which made the room dark. On the plus side once the work finished on Friday it was quiet as they don’t work at weekends., so it did not affect us. The room was clean with plenty of toiletries and tea and coffee. Although we had paid a b&b rate this was not available due to the building work, however arrangements had been made with a hotel across the road to have a continental breakfast there. The staff are lovely and helpful and the hotel is in a great location only 2 mins walk from the tube station. It would have been nice if notice was given of the works taking place rather than finding out on arrival.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Dear JuliejS6951AS, Thank you for your review and kind words. We work very hard to ensure all the guest have great stay and enjoy London visit as much as possible. We are very happy to read you had great experience in our hotel and enjoyed our service, we hope you will visit us again after we completed all refurbishment works, we also have automatic emails set up to be send out to all the guest who made a booking with us to ensure they are aware but sometimes they do get lost, we hope this did not affected your stay too much. Staff will be very pleased to see this comments. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future, if there is anything else please let us know. Laura Pankaite General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria D wrote a review Jul 2022
Falkirk2 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked in 2020 but due to covid could not visit until now. We were asked to pay an additional £80 to rebook for june 2022 making it £171 per night! We arrived to a temporary reception (to a lukewarm welcome) and found huge renovation worksl going on which we had not been informed of. This meant a lot of noise on the Thursday/Friday. We were told all guests had been told by email and given the option to cancel! We did not receive any email. The hotel had no restaurant available so the full English/continental breakfast we paid for was not available at our hotel. Instead we had to go across the road to another hotel where only continental was available. This was inconvenient but luckily the Mowbray Court was a lovely hotel with friendly staff, but we had paid for a full breakfast, not just continental. Our room was clean but small and in need of refurbishment. It was too hot and the aircon was poor. Our view from the window was a small garden containing 30 new toilets for the refurbishment. The staff at the hotel were not friendly or helpful. We asked to speak to the manager but were told they were off sick! When we went back to collect our cases after checking out we were not allowed to use the toilet. We paid £171 per night and feel that this was very expensive as we had no facilities and did not receive the breakfast we paid for. The room we had was far inferior to that on the website and the staff couldn't have cared less at our disappointment! We heard several other guests complaining too and nothing was done to help them either! We would never book this or any other Best Western hotel again as we feel deceived by the website and photos. We were asked to pay extra when we changed the date and in the end received far less than promised.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Pankaite, Other at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Dear Holidaygoers11, Thank you for feedback in regards to your stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you were not happy with stay and were unaware that we have begun works to refurbish the hotel. We have sent out an email to all guests due to arrive after the 6th of June. I will ask our IT partners to investigate as to why you have not received this email. Your reservation has been moved to this year even it was made as non refundable and we try our best to accommodate our all guest to our abilities at this point - yes we do not have restaurant but we arrange the alternative for people to have breakfast or we offer to had a refund for breakfast paid - unfortunately we are unable to offer full English breakfast and next door hotel doesn't serve them. if you were unhappy with the room and the offer we had why did you not wish to cancel the booking and we would gladly help you with alternative accommodation we do not force people to stay - I also have a note after your check in - that you are happy with the room given. once again please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations. kind regards, Laura
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$143 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western the boltons hotel london, best western london, london best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonEarls Court
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington?
Nearby attractions include Tardis Police Box (0.2 km), Earl's Court (0.2 km), and The Blackbird (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flora Indica, Over Under Earl's Court, and Orjowan.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, Portuguese, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (4.6 km), Houses of Parliament (4.8 km), and Westminster Abbey (4.6 km).