We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 361: English reviews
Start your review of Smart Russell Square Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Para una noche esto está bien, pero sólo por eso. Las camas no dan para más. Un enchufe por habitación (hablo de habitación con baño para dos personas). Parece muy malo que se ven obligados a sacar £ 20 de su propio cajero para asegurar el depósito. For a night this is fine, but just for that. The beds do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fernando L
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for booking with us and for your review, We will use your observations regarding the number plugs in the room to invest in future improvements to the hostels. To help clarify your concerns with deposit, all guests when checking must pay a £10 cash deposit each on check-in. This is used against damages/late check-outs and is returned when...

Lyon, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is not the best you can get in London. The rooms were quite small for the amount of people in them and with three small beds on top of each other, it was quite a challenge getting to bed. The location is great, the breakfast is really good and reception was helpful so if you are around in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florian B
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in different hostels over time so before booking I had very low expectations. The location and just the fact it is London and that hostel was quite cheap made it clear that you cant expect much. There were many things I found bad during my stay but due to already low expectations I was fine with all of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aidin2017
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night before we began our Contiki as it was the most affordable accommodation in the proximity of the Contiki basement. It was small and very busy. We were given our linens to make our beds ourselves - which is fine - but this proved to be difficult given that the bunks were 3 beds high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

This was my first time in a hostel so i do not have anything to compare it to however, I would have expected it to be much cleaner. The showers and bathroom stalls could have had a lot more attention. The plus side to here is the location. There are many things to do within walking distance whether it be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nick n
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. Our dedicated Housekeeper work very hard to keep the hostel clean and hygienic, it there are any issue in this regards our 24 hour reception is always there to help resolve any issues. We will review your comments on our facilities and look to make improvements where possible.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and book elsewhere. I have stayed in hostels that were MUCH cleaner, friendlier and more comfortable for the same price. There are a lot of stairs so be prepared to make a few trips up and down with your heavy luggage because the staff are disorganised and your bed probably won't be ready/locker key won't work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcc1996
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. it is unfortunate that you were let down by our service. We offer clean and competitive accommodation in the centre of London. We our proud of our dedicated staff, if there are any issues with please let our staff know and they will resolve the situation as soon as possible.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

What a find on Booking.com En suite bathroom. A tv in the room, breakfast included in the price. Just around the corner from the tube station and pub close by In the process of being painted, but everywhere was very clean and tidy. On the down side, there is no lift and we had 3 flight of stairs to climb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen_cook21
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and kind comment, we are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have noticed we have been performing some upgrades to improve our service. We hope you'll be able to visit again in the future.

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

There is literally no aeration in the room. The air feels heavy and dirty. It is quite cheap, yes, but is it worth it? Not at all. Too small. Too confined. There also is no ventilation in the shower. Me and my friend decided to leave, the air was near unbearable. The only positive aspect might be the common room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carine I
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are upset to hear that your experience was not as pleasant as we would have hoped. We offer clean and hygienic accommodation at a competitive rate. If there are any concerns, please report them to our reception so they act fast to correct any issue.

Reviewed 15 February 2017

I stayed in the top bed of a triple bunk bed. It was rather hot, probably because it was close to the lamp. The room is also small, there was barely space to rearrange my luggage. The shower room is like the one in the sport club, there was no place to keep the shampoo and soap during showering. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni Y
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comment, we are happy that you found our location so useful, being so central space is very limited, fortunately we have a wide range of room sizes to help guest pick the best option. Regrading you issue with the cleanliness of the hostel, we our proud of our dedicated housekeeping staff, if there are...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

The staff is super friendly. The hostel is kept clean and the dorms are spacious with little blinders on the beds to ensure privacy. Only stayed there for a night but would definitely recommend to those traveling on low budget.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Agnes W
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some comments on your stay, We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the privacy curtains useful. We are looking forward to your next visit.

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (77)
Viewed
8-Bed Dorm with Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Bunk Room with Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Bunk Room with Bathroom (Alternative) (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#62 of 837 in London
589 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#66 of 837 in London
1,975 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 837 in London
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RestUp London
#451 of 837 in London
497 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 837 in London
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This hostel is in the heart of London, a 10-minute walk from King's Cross Railway Station and the British Library. It provides budget accommodation with free WiFi access throughout. The Smart Hostel Russell Square offers beds in mixed-sex dorms. Linen is provided and security lockers are available in all rooms. Shared and en-suite facilities are available depending on room type. Reception is open 24 hours a day, and there are no curfews or lock-out times. Guests can receive tourist information and discount tickets for major attractions. The hostel's common room features a large TV, and some shared kitchen facilities are available. Self-service laundry facilities and an internet cafe are also offered on site. Russell Square Underground Station is 252 yrd away. The Foundling Museum, Islington Farmers Market and University College London are all within 10 minutes' walk. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in Theatre, Museums and Culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smart Russell Square Hostel

Address: 71-72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $22 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Russell Square Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smart Russell Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Russell Square Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smart Russell Square Hostel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Smart Russell Square Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps a bedroom with less beds would be more comfortable”
AmberB892, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with en suite”
helen_cook21, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't take the bed one at the top - there is the light right above your face.”
barborab988, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay in the rooms downstairs”
160marianad, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the basement rooms if you can, it's pretty bleak down there!”
EmmaS668, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5